We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Durham Ox

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Durham Ox
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 272: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where do I start? We arrived to a blazing fire, great if our table, (which had been extended to accommodate our family party of 6 adults and three children) had been at the opposite side of the restaurant. We were literally two feet away. We asked if something could be done as we were all too hot having only been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
thedurhamox, Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this review

Dear Dawn L We were thoroughly disappointed to receive your review this morning. We strive to provide impeccable service and delicious food and it seems during your visit we fell short on both and for this we can only apologise. We too are saddened that you did not mention anything on the day, as we would have done our up...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the blue cottage over night as we were there for our nephews birthday celebrations in the barn, what an amazing venue. The buffet food was out standing. All the staff are so relaxed and friendly, but professional at the same time, nothing is too much trouble they really care about making your stay a memorable one. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myself54
thedurhamox, Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this review

Dear Myself54 What a lovely review to read and we are so thrilled you enjoyed the party and your stay at The Durham Ox. We hope you don't leave it too long to visit us again, we always have fantastic offers on our accommodation so look out for them on our website for those special occasions. Many thanks again for...

St peter port
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was good, comfortable and behind the pub. The waitresses and young bar man were all really good, excellent staff. The food ranged from good to very poor. An example of poor was the pretty disgusting chicken kiev, and breakfast was probably the best meal, with fantasic granola and nice fresh orange juice, although the cooked food was only ok....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eifion b
thedurhamox, Manager at The Durham Ox, responded to this review

Dear Eifion b Many thanks for taking the time to review us, we take Customer feedback incredibly seriously and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your cottage, Sunday lunch and the service our staff provided. However, we were thoroughly disappointed to read you’re more negative comments and what you described as “lazy cooking”. This is not what we do, what...

Chipping Campden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning views of the Howardian Hills from the car park on a sunny Sunday. Although the hotel was packed, our delicious lunch was served quickly, We chose three different roasts and could not manage a dessert! Will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petal1912
Yarm
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had previously visited the Durham Ox in Spring and loved it that much that we booked again for our Christmas present to each other. We were very excited as we have a new baby therefore a night away is a real treat. We arrived late afternoon and had a nice sandwich and a couple of glasses...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pinwins
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Field, a wonderfully cosy first floor room, with one of the comfiest beds we've ever slept in, a fantastic power shower and large (and very fast filling) bath, complimentary l'Occitane toiletries and a ten second walk to the bar. What more do you need...?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalesboy
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food, the staff, the accommodation were all excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Extremely good value. Lovely village within easy access to York, Castle Howard & the North Yorkshire Moors. Delicious breakfast with Bucks Fizz available on the buffet table. They even went the extra mile & put Christmas decorations in the bedrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBandAF
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We stayed for dinner, bed and breakfast and every aspect of our stay was perfect. The room was very clean, quirky and comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient whilst maintaining a relaxed atmosphere. The food ingredients were of top quality and perfectly cooked. All in all,our stay was very good all around and the attention to detail that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joodles24
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

What a great place, top quality, very clean and very helpful staff. Wonderful rooms and food is wonderful . New shower room and great attention to detail. Free coffee and a yourkie, these people know how to go the extra mile to make your stay great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 49andrewa
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The rooms are luxurious. Food is always excellent with a menu giving a fair choice. Wines tend to be on the higher side but always quality. This might not be the cheapest place to stay but lovely for a short break, but watch the bill as there always seem to be some error

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cagreen53

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crayke
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
28.7 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,296 reviews
19.6 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#15 of 46 in York
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,336 reviews
14.3 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
11.8 km away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Durham Ox

Address: Westway, Crayke, Easingwold YO61 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Crayke
Price Range: RM428 - RM986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Durham Ox 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Durham Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Durham Ox Hotel Crayke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Durham Ox staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Ripon, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Ripon, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Durham Ox staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All ground floor rooms have an amazing view over stunning country side”
 of 5 bubbles myself54, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Field - small but wonderfully cosy. And opt for the Sun to Thurs £150 per couple DB&B option - amazing value!”
 of 5 bubbles dalesboy, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All very good. The studio suite being the biggest”
 of 5 bubbles RBandAF, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a deal - they do three nights for the price of two from time to time”
 of 5 bubbles U2643IGmikew, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor are most convenient (no lift)”
 of 5 bubbles aitchb, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay