We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at Waimanu Lodge. Judy took us up to the room and I could barely take in what she was saying as my attention was totally distracted by the view!!! I heard enough to be aware the pool, BBQ and spa were totally at our disposal, and because we were not part of a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzie B
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou Suzzie & Nigel for your positive review. Maybe I should shorten my intro in the future to give guests time to take in the view :). We appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful night at Waimanu and we were totally amazed! If you are looking for moments of true joy, peace and relaxation Waimanu is the place that tick all the boxes! The views are sensational and everything is offered on a high standard of quality. We highly recommend a glass of wine watching the sunset...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grasielli
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to place your positive review. We appreciate it. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay..... please come and stay again :)

Auckland
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We chose to stay at Waimanu based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed, it is just as everyone writes. Judy and Shaun had thought of everything down to sunscreen and insect repellent...good dvds, novels and recent quality magazines. The accommodation was excellent and the hosts very friendly. I have been recommending this venue ever since and have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan S
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review. It is good to hear that you are using Trip Advisor to help you decide on where to stay. It works because people like you make the effort to write reviews :) Thanks for returning the book....lots of our guests come with e-readers these days :)

Russell, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My wife and myself just spent two days at Waimanu and could not fault it. Not that we were looking for fault, but the whole experience was perfect. This truly is a luxury bed & breakfast and is everything that it says it is. The room was outstanding, with excellent fittings & fixtures. The decor is so welcoming and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KiwiCouple21
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We will come and visit you sometime when we are on our launch in the Bay of Islands. Sounds like you live in a very special place :)

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A slice of paradise. Fantastic place to stay, wonderful views, excellent hosts. Told our grown up children it was the only place to go for a special treat. Wow. The Lodge is situated high up on the side of hillside, the area is well planted in native fauna and we were able to observe pheasants and native birds from the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tamati1
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased at how well our native plantings are growing....we sourced most of the plants locally so that has helped them establish well.

Pago Pago, American Samoa
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We visited Waimanu Lodge last week and didn't want to leave. It was luxurious and spacious, and we felt like we were on our honeymoon again. The views were breathtaking, and there was so much to do in the area. The accommodation could not have been better. Judy communicated with us and answered all of our questions before we came....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 242HelenM
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou ever so much for your review. We love it that you enjoyed staying with us. We gain a lot of pleasure from having the privileged ability to be able to share our beautiful location with other people around the world.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed for 7 nights towards end of March & had the most relaxing holiday ever (helped along with my husband's broken ankle in plaster). But what a great place to be ... everything imaginable - deck area with chairs & loungers, swimming pool, spa, BBQ, Sky TV, DVDs, books, mags, games, fluffy bathrobes, free wifi and more importantly lovely clean...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank simo-jax
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write your great review. It is very pleasing to know that our guests enjoy our property and area as much as we do :)

Gerrards Cross
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights up to March1st. It was a wonderful relaxation - we used the pool, the hot tub, the BBQ. The room was spacious, the hosts were charming, leaving breakfast in the fridge overnight including homemade yoghurt. They also provided homemade biscuits during the day, chocolates , and marshmallows! We walked up to St Paul's Rock...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gxtraveller
flatcalm, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write this positive review. We appreciate it.

southampton
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at many places during our travels throughout New Zealand but this accommodation wins hands down. Shaun & Judy have thought of everything to make their guests as comfortable as possible; bathrobes, books, magazines, DVDs, local information, maps, binoculars and even marshmallows! Free wifi, guest laundry and late check out time were also welcome considerations. Breakfast (left in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Loobyloo-Southampton
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to place your review. Very much appreciated.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in September, after a couple of nights at Kauri Cliffs - and regretted the time spent at Kauri Cliffs. This place is only 20 minutes away from Kauri Cliffs - so an easy drive if you plan to play golf there. Very hard to beat the price difference ($150 vs $1,900 per night at KC)...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RnR_Report
flatcalm, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review

Thankyou for the great review......wow, we haven't been put up against Kauri Cliffs before :)

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangaroa
0.2 km away
Sunseeker Lodge
Sunseeker Lodge
#1 of 1 in Whangaroa
26 reviews
10.4 km away
Cavalli Beach House Retreat
14.5 km away
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
#1 of 1 in Matauri Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Waiwurrie Coastal Farm Lodge
26.4 km away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
20.4 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waimanu Lodge, luxury self-contained boutique holiday accommodation in Whangaroa Harbour, Northland NZ. We are located halfway between the Bay of Islands and Cape Reinga, in a very special spot (just below St Paul's Rock Scenic Reserve) high above the Whangaroa Harbour with magnificent views. A private and peaceful retreat in which to unwind and relax away from it all. Our Northland holiday accommodation is purpose built and comprises two modern self contained studio suites opening directly out onto a lounging deck, private spa and swimming pool, all with expansive harbour views. Although we are listed under BnB/Inns in Trip Advisor, we do not provide breakfast.(Limited categories to choose from). Waimanu Lodge is located in Whangaroa Harbour Northland New Zealand. We are 30km north of Kerikeri, between the Bay of Islands (Paihia, Kerikeri, Waitangi) and Doubtless Bay (Mangonui, Coopers Beach, Cable Bay, Karikari Peninsula) in Northland NZ. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland

Address: 76a Old Hospital Road | Whangaroa Harbour, Whangaroa 0478, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangaroa
Price Range: RM522 - RM531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are wonderful - the view is just simply beautiful!”
646maryannec, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only 2 rooms available and both are excellent and beside each other so ideal for 2 couples or big families travelling together”
lynnstewart2014, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The second suite will only be let to members of your party”
Wenfen, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose the harbour view room that has no entrance from the main house. It's more private and brighter even though it has the same standard of furnishing etc.”
Kiwirah, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Just stay there!”
Elsdal_12, 2 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5