We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Satis House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Satis House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 688: English reviews
Start your review of Satis House Hotel
 Click to rate
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Groupon was good value for money and we were very kindly upgraded at no extra cost. We had the best rooms in the house which were spacious, characteristic and comfortable. The food and service in the restaurant was lovely. The reason for my average rating was that the premises was badly in need of some TLC. The balcony had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank upminstersmiler2017
Campsea Ashe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

You only have to read the reviews below, never call you back and rude on the phone it was suppose to be a birthday gift! No longer offer afternoon tea I am glad really from the reviews below STAY AWAY! Buy a gift even admitted when I called them you are rude and that's why they no longer work with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Laura0609b
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

Satis House is no longer running Buyagift Afternoon Teas as we have entered our peak season. Buyagift is aware and has on our request removed the offer from their website as all third party offers are subject to availability and we do not have any further space to accommodate. I simply do not believe Buyagift would make disparaging comments about...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked the Four poster room in December last year for our 8th Wedding anniversary in March. We were married at Satis House and thought that it would be special to return here and to the room where we spent our wedding night. In fairness...we arrived a little early as we were in the area. The girl who was on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Possum18
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

The manner in which this customer entered my hotel and spoke to my staff did not put this customers stay on a very good footing. I have seen less dramatic entrances from celebrities arriving at the Beverley Hills Hotel (which is a favourite hotel of mine). The customer called that morning to confirm check in times but still arrived 3...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I didn't stay here but had a business meeting. The service was attentive, the staff tried to make sure we had everything we needed. The venue is very period country house and was very comfortable. The grounds were very picturesque. I'm pleased I was here with work as I now have a recommendation for this part of the world for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Waugh
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are glad your business meeting was a success and hope your company will use our facilities again.

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked our break away way at Satis House back in January which was listed on Buy a gift at a discounted DBB deal & we subsequently took out a sparkling cream tea offer again with Buy a gift for our arrival, which we were looking forward to as it is rare for us to have a childfree break. This...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nick K
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

Buyagift deals are subject to availability and I am afraid this review is completely misleading and currently contains lots of misinformation. It was the conduct of the customer that prevented us from being able to find a reasonable resolution and from the behaviour I witnessed over the telephone it was clear to me that these potential customers would not be...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked afternoon tea and had looked forward to it. Although it is a lovely looking boutique hotel for afternoon tea it was very disappointing. It was not packed when we were there but we were told where to sit rather than choose a table overlooking the lovely garden. Sandwiches were ok. but we were served a scone to...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank travelbear082
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

All our afternoon teas are standard and homemade. We have however decided to reshape our afternoon tea offer which will no longer include third party voucher arrangements. What this space.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here last year and my original review appears to have disappeared, so here's another! Room clean, large and airy. Decor "boutique", which I found a bit "naff" Large bathroom. The traffic noise from the nearby A road was irritating, but in no way the fault of the hotel. Breakfast was fine, but dinner was not. There was an overtly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tessie1
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

This is an old review and I have no idea whether this stay was during my ownership of the hotel or prior. The style of the hotel is a mix of contemporary and traditional which in my view is part of its charm. We have new management in place and are putting our own stamp on the hotel which the...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure where to begin! My wife and I booked in for two nights. We were shown to our room which was a garden room “Blythburgh”. All looked well on first sight. As we started to unpack my wife went into the bathroom to wash her hands and discovered that there was no hot water. We contacted reception and a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MIG1117
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. It is right to say that there was a problem with your sink - this had not been previously reported. A plumber came out and advised us that we needed to replacement part which had to be ordered. An alternative room was immediately offered and reasons given so it is simply...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyable evening, staff friendly and helpful although they seemed a little pressured. Head chef serving at tables, he informed us he had designed the menu. Menu small but all freshly cooked using local ingredients. My main, crab with chilli and lime linguine was delicious. The trout well cooked and flavoursome.Belly pork dish was ok.Plates could be hotter to retain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ctbjtl85
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review was balanced and positive overall. We will take note of your feedback and hope to see you again.

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this break with a Groupon voucher a while back and given that it was billed as a "Bistro Hotel" were very much looking forward to our stay. We were greeted by the chef who checked us in and showed us to our room.The room was very dusty but a nice touch was coffee via a cafetiere and real...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank GeriGooner
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased to say the drive has been repaired. I am sorry if there was some dust present. We have a very old building. Our Exec chef is also our manager. He does many of our check ins. It is correct to say that bookings have a set breakfast menu as the bed and breakfast deal offered is at...

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Garden Room (46)
Viewed
Luxury Four Poster Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yoxford
14.3 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
963 reviews
13.6 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,398 reviews
4.2 km away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.5 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
629 reviews
13.2 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh.The Restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Satis House Hotel

Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Yoxford
Price Range: RM536 - RM975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Satis House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Satis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Satis House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
essex
Sussex
over a year ago
Royston, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Satis House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not Peasenhall”
lyndaweavers, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay”
Tabather1965, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Orangery and Walberswick character to Orangery and Walberswick full of character. Think these were both superior rooms with plenty of spce”
J7590EYcaroles, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Website not overly helpful - ring them to discuss as all different”
catman1212, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not a room tip, arrive by helicopter if you value your car's suspension”
fizzioKen, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5