We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
04/02/2018 05/02/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Mbotyi River Lodge

    Pondoland, Mbotyi 4820, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    04/02/2018 05/02/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in MbotyiSee available hotels in Mbotyi
    Traveller (72)
    Pool & Beach (21)
    Room & Suite (21)
    Overview
    • Excellent41%
    • Very good34%
    • Average18%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “wild coast” (17 reviews)
    “games room” (8 reviews)
    “dirt road” (7 reviews)
    Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Spa
    Laundry Service
    Babysitting
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (116)
    There are newer reviews for Mbotyi River Lodge
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 99 reviews

    Reviewed 6 February 2017

    Our first visit to this gem... definitely would be back and would make sure to use all the attractions available. Love the setting. Enjoyed the food and great hospitality. Beautiful surroundings. Lots to see in the area.

    1  Thank paul2607199
    Reviewed 17 January 2017

    This was our first time to Mbotyi and as long as your expectations are in line you will have a fabulous, relaxing experience. If you are looking for luxury then this is not the place for you. If you want a chilled resort, with good...More

    1  Thank andrewrice
    Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

    We had a wonderful three nights in this hotel. The grounds are well kept, the pool refreshing and the beach beautiful. We braved the 28km hike to waterfall bluff which was tough but worth it. Unfortunately there was some confusion around the cost, the reception...More

    Thank TravelerNix
    Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

    Lovely campsite with clean ablutions. Far from the beach (no seaview). The people at Mbotyi River Lodge were very unhelpful and NOT accomodating towards the campers at all. We were not allowed to use any of the lodge's facilities (not even the use of the...More

    Thank BiancaBartman
    Response from Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River LodgeResponded 26 December 2016

    Hi Bianca My apologies that you did not enjoy yourself. The campsite is actually a community based project in total and we assist them only with their bookings as a service to the community for no charge. During season our lodge guests pay prime and...More

    Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

    We stayed for one night during our SA tour and truely enjoyed our time at Mbotyi River Lodge! We were greeted by the owner upon arrival (it is some 24km of dirt road but doable by car) and showed around the premises. Our room was...More

    Thank BobbyJane021
    Response from Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River LodgeResponded 5 December 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It is truly appreciate and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    • Beachfront
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Room Service
    • Spa
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Breakfast included
    • Room Service
    • Laundry Service
    • Babysitting
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    Details
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 48
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Eastern Cape >
    • Mbotyi
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (72)
    Pool & Beach (21)
    Room & Suite (21)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (48)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all Mbotyi Hotels
    Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
    1,046 reviews
    35.06 km away
    Wild Coast Sun Hotel
    265 reviews
    62.76 km away
    Splendid Inn Port Edward
    99 reviews
    64.45 km away
    Port Edward Holiday Resort
    33 reviews
    66.11 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Delicious Monster
    88 reviews
    29.17 km away
    Beaver Creek Coffee
    113 reviews
    63.47 km away
    Dolphin Pub & Grill
    22 reviews
    70.84 km away
    Casa Toscana
    195 reviews
    76.14 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Silaka Nature Reserve
    33 reviews
    29.35 km away
    Beaver Creek Coffee Farm
    154 reviews
    63.98 km away
    Selsdon Park Estate Beach Horse Rides
    8 reviews
    77.18 km away
    Camelot Spa
    31 reviews
    79.03 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Jennie L
    29 December 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Juan S | Property representative |
    Hi Jennie. I personally travel from Ifafa to Mbotyi regularly and have not had any problems on the way. The route that most of our guests have taken is Port Edward, Bizana (Bypass), Magusheni (Yaka Garage), Flagstaff... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room further away from the common areas. The newer log cabins are..."
    Read review
    "Try to stay in one of the front rooms for the best views out over the beach to sea."
    Read review
    "Choose a room with a sea view or lagoon view"
    Read review
    "Request a sea facing unit"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing