We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gallivant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gallivant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,166: English reviews
Start your review of The Gallivant
 Click to rate
Lavenham
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I should pay attention to my instinct and not believe hype in future - the cake and tea on arrival involved a big pot of tea already brewed and a cake that was nice but no choice; the garden to each room is not private as it is open at rear with the rest of the garden shared between all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank getawaynick
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We ate twice in the restaurant, once on Easter Saturday and again the following Tuesday. The same number of waiting staff worked on Tuesday as did Saturday, which probably explains why our meal took forever on Saturday, when it was full and Tuesday when it was at best two thirds full. The quality of the food was really very good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamd0dd
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This lovely little hotel restaurant has a cracking location, right next to Camber Sands beach. Friendly welcome, comfy rooms, afternoon tea - all good, but just a couple of things troubled me. The restaurant is very popular. Even a Monday night - full to capacity - even beyond. Dinner took a lot longer than it should have. My main course...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark G
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a night at this hotel as part of a family members birthday. The rooms are lovely! Very unique in their own ways. Customer service was a huge let down. tea and cakes were just so so basic, the cake was dry and there was only one cake to choose from anyways. At dinner we had a table booked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Olivia E
Gallivantcamber, General Manager at The Gallivant, responded to this review

Dear Olivia E Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you and your party had to wait longer than expected the night you were dining with us. Yes we were very busy that evening but this is no excuse and we apologise. We have made a small amendment to the way we take bookings on busy nights...

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for one whilst olaying golf at the wonderul Rye Golf Club. Sadly I did not eat at the hotel but got every sense that the meal would have been super. Why, because all the staff were fantastic, helpful and freindly. The room and the dining rooms were spotlessly clean and I will make a point of staying there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
london
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

to understand why this hotel gets such good reviews. Our experience of was one of the worst we've had. 1. It is completely over priced. The hallways are shabby and unkempt. The rooms are fine but our sink was leaking for the duration of the stay. 2. The staff are unfriendly. When midnight came, the staff just wanted us out...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank helenaquinn
Gallivantcamber, General Manager at The Gallivant, responded to this review

Dear Helena, Thank you for your review and sharing your experience at the Gallivant. Our rooms are priced from £95 in winter and from £115 during the summer. I’ve noted your feedback and can confirm that the issue with your sink was fixed by our handyman as soon as we discovered the problem. I can confirm that we also have...

Nottingham, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a small, simple, beach rustic kind of place. It's modern and fairly bright and I can sort of see why people would warm to this place initially. It's a few minutes walk across the main road up a sand hill to the main beach which looks lovely. I would say that the hotel is more suited to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ElvaBanfer
Gallivantcamber, Owner at The Gallivant, responded to this review

Dear ElvaBanfer Thank you for your review and honesty. We spend a lot of time and energy sourcing wines, beers, spirits, food (and other products) from local producers. We do this because not only do we genuinely want to support our local community of passionate suppliers but also because we think their products are significantly better than the products supplied...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was so excited about going to The Gallivant and it didn't disappoint. It was our first holiday with our baby so naturally we were a bit apprehensive, but the hotel and staff were so accommodating, from providing a travel cot to recommending babysitters. Our room was really nice, clean and bright (with a bath and amazing toiletries, hooray!), really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ClareForster84
Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent chef - delicious food cooked with care and passion Excellent staff - calm and friendly helping all guests to relax Excellent beds and bed linen - best two nights sleep ever Excellent for couples

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christineS1822QQ
Bexley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this restaurant/hotel a couple of times now, and the style and decor, the location opposite the dunes, and the shrubs and trees screening the hotel, remind me of several small hotels on the coast north of Auckland. Delicious food is served here; there is an extensive wine list, and the staff are excellent; attentive and friendly,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert K

271 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camber
4.1 km away
The George in Rye
4.2 km away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
4.2 km away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
720 reviews
4.3 km away
River Haven Hotel
9.0 km away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our coastal restaurant with rooms, across the road from the dunes of Camber Sands and beautiful sandy beach beyond. Inspired by the coastal motels you might find in California, we're a calm and relaxing hideaway from the stresses and strains of modern life. We have 20 amazing bedrooms all decorated with an eye to the Hamptons and serve great food using almost exclusively locally sourced fresh ingredients. In 2016 we were included in The Times 'Coolest Beach Hotels - No. 4', The Mirror's 'Top 10 Seaside Hotels in the UK' and Squaremeal's 'UK's Best 100 Restaurants'. The private coastal garden incorporates mini secluded decks behind all the Garden and Luxury Garden rooms and is also home to The Beach Hut, where guests can enjoy relaxing massages and lovely facials after a day on the beach using ethical and natural health and beauty products that are exclusively blended in the UK. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gallivant

Address: New Lydd Road | Rye, Camber, Rye TN31 7RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Camber
Price Range: RM614 - RM1,037 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallivant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gallivant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place At Beach
Place At The Beach Rye
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gallivant staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Gallivant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room, they do have them”
Tekels, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the luxury garden rooms are the biggest and extremely pretty”
mirandam103, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“deck rooms are not enormous but good outside space”
SusieC944, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All very comfortable”
michaelgglavin, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a garden room, quiet and beautiful”
251barbara, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5