We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jollydays Luxury Camping

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scrayingham
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 241: English reviews
Start your review of Jollydays Luxury Camping
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a group of 27 people at Jollydays last weekend, we had 4 woodland tents and 1 woodcutter hut. All of our accommodation was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated and we had more than enough room. Check in was easy and the staff were very helpful. The group campfire area is amazing and we happened to have it all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I've read some mixed reviews on here but I'd say as a family with children aged 7 and 9 we had one of those holidays we will warmly remember for a long time. The woodland is amazing, tranquil, the dawn chorus is a good experience. It was great not to take any electronics with us and watch our children make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdH443
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Where do I begin.... For starters my family love camping, we own a trailor tent & love the outdoors & all things to do with it. We only decided on glamping & not camping because we have a baby. We shouldn't of bothered, our trailor tent is much more luxurious than this place!!! We also hate complaining & actually this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DanielTroughear2
JollydaysTeam, Owner at Jollydays Luxury Camping, responded to this review

We are very sorry for this, it was a dreadful mistake on our part. The agent you booked through has refunded you and we would like to offer you a free stay at either of our camps to make it up to your family. It was decided by camp staff that the tent allocated to you was not ready for...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in a woodcutter hut (number 3) for 2 nights late August. Weather was great so we were lucky but the place is still surprisingly muddy (wear wellies) It's a pain to get to, but it's nice that it's 'out in the sticks' We were greeted by Caroline - I think she owns it, she explained...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linc94
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Let's get one thing clear.....I dont do camping ⛺...... The wife booked a short break for us all to end the school holidays....and tbh I was unsure what to expect as people who know me know I like me electronic gadgets and there is no power in the cabins...... Gotta say I loved the place.....very quiet....sort of liberating not having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We only booked a few days before on a whim and I am delighted we did. This was our first taste of Glamping and we will be back for more. We were in W2, a woodcutter hut, and it was more than adequate for the four of us - my gorgeous wife, daughter 11, son 8 and me. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardWeddell
Hessle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I found it quite difficult to find, not well sign posted. Once found however we were greeted, and told which tent we would be staying in. It exceeded my expectations, very large, nicely knitted out, nice log burning stove. Each tent is pitched in its own woodland and they are not close together so you have total privacy. The children...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tanya R
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

After reading the last few reviews, we felt a bit dubious, after spending what we felt was quite a bit of money for a one night stay as a treat for my birthday. My advice is ignore them, Jollydays is great, something different and a world away from the hustle and bustle. I'm really glad that we chose to spend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kelly P
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I had wanted to visit jollydays for years. Finally I got round to booking and decided to upgrade from a woodcutters hut to a woodland tent, one of the advertised premium tents. This was a surprise for my best friends birthday We arrived and our tent was ready, we were given a little tin with matches and tea lights. So...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Amy L
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from our stay at the jolly days camping site. We paid for 2 nights but only stayed for one. On arrival we met by friendly helpful staff to show us where to go and give us tealights and a few camping essentials. We then made our way to our tent, when first entering the tent it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Misha H
JollydaysTeam, Manager at Jollydays Luxury Camping, responded to this review

Dear Misha Thanks for your comments. Sorry to hear your stay not enjoyable, we state on our website and in all our literature sent out before your stay that electricity on site is limited and therefore there are no lights in some of the tents and therefore sufficient candles are provided. If the camp staff had been made aware of...

222 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scrayingham
31.7 km away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
13.3 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
1,460 reviews
14.3 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
The Little Hide - Grown Up Glamping
42.4 km away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 4 in Hunmanby
69 reviews
5.1 km away
York Holiday & Cycle Stop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“Britain’s finest camping experience” Janey Lee Grace, Radio 2 DJ and Best Selling Author This multi award-winning camp was set up by design couple Carolyn and Christian Van Outersterp who had previously masterminded London’s stylish restaurant bar and discreet celebrity hang out CVO Firevault.Jollydays Luxury Camping is the culmination of the Van Outersterp’s 15-year dream to combine a love of camping and chic hotels – it’s an extension of their simplified lifestyle – beautiful surroundings, great food and socialising around a roaring log fire.For the kids it’s heaven on earth (even those addicted to their Playstations).“Fantastic, brilliant… I feel like the favourite son of a Bedouin prince – it’s amazing”. Alexander Armstrong, Comedian and TV Presenter.This is a unique British Camp with a lovely communal feel – a tea tent and campfire are at its heart and the camp appeals to families, couples and groups.The Deluxe Lodges are particularly superb, they have huge wood burners, 4 poster beds, fridges, roll top baths, loos, fully equipped kitchen and an outside dining area.Jollydays is ideally situated close to York (less than 2 hours from Kings Cross), close to the Yorkshire Wolds, an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and the Moors National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jollydays Luxury Camping

Address: Thoralby Hall, Scrayingham YO41 1JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scrayingham
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Jollydays Luxury Camping Hotel Scrayingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jollydays Luxury Camping staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Darlington, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Jollydays Luxury Camping staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother”
DanielTroughear2, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Would recommend the lodge tents.”
751tanyar, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in l12 which had a makeshift swing and plenty of "dens" for the kids.”
KellyP800, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Dirty, poor standard of furnishings, not fit for purpose, don't be fooled by website it's nothing like the photos advertise”
174amyl, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Tents D10 and D12 are fab for kids!”
Pidge_Pooh, 30 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5