We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed just one day. The staff is friendly and kind. Mixed room and bathroom are cleaned. There is a big TV room. I like it:) And This hostel is very close to bus stop! It was very comfortable:) thank you:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stella143v
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is the best place to meet new people, going with them to the beach, go surfing, playing a ping pong match or spending the evenings watching a movie in the TV lounge. The beach is just a 5 min walk away and here are really good surfing conditions. You can rent surfboards and bicycles for free. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeannette_hnsn
happynztraveller77, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Jeannette, Thanks so very much for th 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and all the hostel has to offer.... and that the waves were pumping for you and you made the most of the FREE boards and bikes. Over the Summer period there are HEAPS of jobs in all the local bars, cafes...

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a really comfortable stay, the staff is friendly, the bathrooms are really cleaned and the rooms are good. You have so many movies in the TV room for watching and the kitchen is good and cleaned for cooking. Furthermore, the people are all very cool, so you get new friendships very fast! Looking for a job is quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandrasokolow
happynztraveller77, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a great review! We think our guests are pretty cool too! We love having all sorts of people come throughour doors and sharing this beautiful part of NZ with them! Thank you for staying with us! Peace, love and Sandy feet. Matt

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After being in Tauranga and being completely disappointed, we found this hostel in last minute for a pursuit of an ideal place to stay since me and my mates are backpacking.Excellent facilities for the area and even more amazing staff and owner who are willing to guide you to the city and even better, help you finding a job especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaos86
happynztraveller77, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Nikolaos for the review, we are glad you thought all staff were AMAZING, our facilities EXCELLENT and were impressed with our ability to find you and your friends work. YAH! Happy backpacking around our beautiful country, Peace, Love and Sandy feet. Matt

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an ok stay in this hostel don't get me wrong but when I looked up trip adviser and other reviews this place is getting nearly full marks and don't understand why! We paid $100 for a double room with shared bathroom facilities which is very expensive for a basic hostel room. I believe they hike up their prices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikkilove9876
happynztraveller77, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Nikkilove, What a shame you felt you had to rate us only with a 2 star, even though you thought the backpackers was CLEAN, the kitchen SPACIOUS, thought having FREE surfboards and bikes BRILLIANT, the FREE WIFI worked well and you got FREE parking AND the hostel was in a GOOD location. The double room is $86 and $96...

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 December 2016

An amazing hostel located directly by the beach. I lived here for 3 months and it felt like home! Matt found work for me the first day that I got here and the hostel overall is very clean, with a nice big kitchen and has a nice atmosphere. Would recommend staying here always!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinaamburgo
happynztraveller77, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Marina! Thanks so very much for rating us 5 star! WE really try and make everyone feel comfortable here and work hard at creating a fun, friendly and chilled atmosphere for all to enjoy. Getting a job on the first day doesn;t happen to everyone - but if you come with the right attitude and get up early then...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The staff are friendly to those under about 30 or so, but if you look older than that they tend to treat you as a burden and are reluctant to help. Although, the lady who checked me in was friendly but still was more eager to help the younger guy. The dorm was clean, and had some ventilation, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianInAuckland
happynztraveller77, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Brian, wow what an essay critiquing every last detail in the backpackers down to the location of the power point! wifi depends upon your own device, we do have boosters in reception, have high speed fibre optic internet which is FREE and offer FREE computers in reception for guests to use at all hours. We also have FREE bikes...

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 December 2016

a really good hostel to stay in the mount! The people are really nice and friendly and the weekends are pretty good as well :) everything is cleaned and the showers are the best part of it. you have just a 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the city centre. I had a long stay, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaduis
happynztraveller77, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the 5 star review! Please come back to visit us! Peace, love and Sandy feet, Matt

Paris, France
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Hostel very clean. Staff clean 2 time per day all commun area. They are really kind and help backpackers for find job. Perfect for WHV. Just 5min from the beach and city center. With free private parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison E
happynztraveller77, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the 5 star review! So glad you found us kind and helpful - the KIWI way! Spread the word that we can assist guests finding work " ) Peace, love and Sandy feet. Matt

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Cracking hostel to stay in if your looking for work you've got everything on your door step bars, restaurants, beach and the Mount. The backpackers is clean the staff is a great bunch of people. I was here for a few months Matt an the guys had me a job within the first week of being there I'd definitely go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huytonhouse
happynztraveller77, Owner at Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review

HI, Thanks so much for your review! We are glad you managed to get a job and really enjoyed our stay with us! YAH! We have just won the BEST backpackers in NZ over in Australia and with these kind of reviews we know we are on track delivering the right experience to our wonderful guests! Please spread the word......

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (59)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.1 km away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
102 reviews
4.4 km away
Harbourside City Backpackers
1.6 km away
Mount Backpackers
Mount Backpackers
#17 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
ArtHouse Accommodation Boutique Backpackers
0.1 km away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
12 reviews
3.8 km away
Apple Tree Backpackers
Apple Tree Backpackers
#35 of 43 in Tauranga
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner of the 2014 TNT Golden Backpacker for 'Best Accommodation NZ' and finalists for 2105! No place you'd rather be - We've got it all: The beach, the surf, and the sun! Look no further! We offer FREE onsite car parking, FREE WIFI, FREE surfboards and FREE bikes! Welcome to Pacific Coast Lodge, your 4-star flashpackers, where everyone knows your name! We are owner operated and Matt will go out of his way to make your stay a memorable one. We are magnificently located within walking distance to the beautiful shores of Mount Maunganui Beach, offering affordable accommodation for one night stays or weekly boarders looking for work.Groups are our specialty - having successfully hosted birthday celebrations, stag/hens nights, entire schools, and sports tournaments. We go out of our way to customise your requirements and can organise breakfasts, day tours or team building activities so it's one less thing to worry about! The friendly team at Pacific Coast Lodge are able to give genuine advice and offer great deals on the range of activities and adventures, to help you make the most of your stay in Mount Maunganui, ensuring that you experience the best that the Bay of Plenty has to offer - anything from swimming with Dolphins, amazing walks & hot pools, to deep sea fishing, kayaking & surfing.We are the only hostel in Mount Maunganui that actively assists you in finding work! Anything from fruit picking and orchard work, to factory and labouring jobs - we have people calling us daily for workers!The hostel is well established and provides loads of the comforts you crave from a Backpackers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers

Address: 432 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Price Range: RM179 - RM275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It gets really hot inside of the rooms, maybe some more fans. :D”
 of 5 bubbles alexandrasokolow, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If the dorm I was in reflects the quality of the other rooms, then there is no "good room", only several "ok rooms"...”
 of 5 bubbles BrianInAuckland, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Back from the street”
 of 5 bubbles R9915EKgregb, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are doing things on the cheap and don't mind the smell and condition of the room and bathroom.......well, this is the place for you!”
 of 5 bubbles JillW21, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are so good”
 of 5 bubbles _rocio_rpb, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5