We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Anchorage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Anchorage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
East Sussex
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Due to an issue with another booking, I booked in here at the last minute with no research. The lovely couple who manage the building could not have been more helpful. I was quite stressed out and they made everything ok immediately, nothing was too much trouble. Checkout was totally flexible and the wifi excellent, perfect for a morning's work....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brindleweed
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I decided to cancel a previous booking (at another hotel) and book at the Anchorage after spotting some lovely photos on Booking.com. I choose the 2 bed apartment on the second floor as the photos displayed a modern apartment with views of the mount from the living room. I looked at the photos for each apartment being advertised (ground floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hellznicholson
Bustercrab1890, Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review.We recommend that if you are booking through a third party,such as the numerous discounted online booking sites.It is still worth calling the hotel/motel to discuss your exact requirements.Most,if not all,will offer you upgrades (often free) and can fulfill your other accommodation requirements,if they are available.Best advice we can give is call the hotel/motel before making your...

Auckland
Reviewed 8 October 2016

It proved somewhat of a challenge to find an apartment to sleep 4 in Mount Maunganui for anything under $250 a night. We didn't need fancy and we didn't need something on the main beach strip so after going through my usual booking apps, I went with a new one because they were the only ones who offered The Anchorage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Number9NZ
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at The Anchorage. Our room was just right for a family of four. The host was lovely and very approachable, making our stay even more comfortable. We were allowed to have visitors over up until 11pm, which was awesome because we were able to catch up with friends and family. The apartment was comfy featuring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahuapai
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We have stayed here many times. Yes, there are major renovations going on at the moment and I've read the other reviews here, but you shouldn't let that stop you from booking in. The manager, Deb, has always looked after us - put us in apartments as far away from the noise as possible. In the weekends it's beautifully quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigZed52
Bustercrab1890, Guest Relations Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review

Thankyou

Reviewed 23 April 2016

Straight after our reservation Deborah rang to reassure us that our apartment would not be affected by the renovations going on. We stayed during the week and indeed did not hear any construction work (which will be finished mid 2016). We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment on the first floor, which was a real bonus! Trevor was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Else B
Bustercrab1890, Guest Relations Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review our complex.We are looking forward to the completion of our redesigned building and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Major renovations at the apartments, refused the first apartment did not want to look at scaffold and shrinkwrap for 3 days, spas not in use, second room looked better was told there was no noise from road as apartment double glazed ok if the air con had not been disconnected, apartment needs updating especially the beds and bedding, shameful owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebbieLight
Bustercrab1890, Guest Relations Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review

The guest was advised,in detail, of the building renovations and that the apartment offered was the last available in the region for the holiday weekend.This was accepted by the guest at the time of the booking being made(phone conversations).The apartment overlooked the swimming pool and had views to the harbour.Their was protective wrapping on the building on the far side...

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Main points: - dated and terrible smell (smelly in both entry and room; mildew type smell). Not pleasant at all - no staff support - received 2 rolls of toilet paper for 4 people for a few days. Asked for additional roll at the end and were given a hard time by reception - disgusting - Internet is NOT free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
Bustercrab1890, Guest Relations Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review.Our apologies if the apartment complex did not meet your expectations.We are unserviced apartments,however our staff should have been more obliging when you requested additional supplies.Wifi is free,again our staff will be retrained in this matter and with offering additional services to our guests. All guests are contacted prior to their visit and are advised of the...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Have already highly recommended this accommodation to all my friends. Great communication from the staff before we even arrived to notify us of the construction work on building (which didn't affect us at all) and texting to advise where our key would be left if we arrived outside office hours. Alana our friendly Receptionist was awesome and couldn't have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 167KiwiTravellers
Stuart, Florida
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The Anchorage is located 100 meters from Pilot Bay Beach and the Port of Tauranga Cruise Port. Going the other direction, it is 100 meters from the Main Street, which is a four block long street of Botiques, Cafes and Restaurants . Across the street is Coronation Park. Quiet neighborhood. The apartments have recently been renovated, are modern and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John N

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
4.2 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
965 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
474 reviews
0.9 km away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
112 reviews
2.1 km away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 18 in Mount Maunganui
115 reviews
1.0 km away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: Cnr Salisbury Ave & Victoria Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Price Range: RM479 - RM700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Anchorage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Phone the hotel directly regarding allocated room. Interiors and views vary and do not always match what is being advertised.”
 of 5 bubbles hellznicholson, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“When the renovations have finished, you should ask for a room that overlooks the harbour or looks towards the Mount.”
 of 5 bubbles BigZed52, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The apartments on Salisbury Street offer a very nice view, but it is quite a busy road at times.”
 of 5 bubbles 50elseb, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with balconies facing Salisbury Ave. have the best views”
  • View from balcony
 of 5 bubbles JohnN744, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms away from the construction where possible”
 of 5 bubbles lstill1970, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay