Bunga Raya Island Resort

Bunga Raya Island Resort

Traveller (1065)
Panorama at the Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
360
Panoramas (10)
infinity pool at Bungaraya Island Resort
Pool & Beach (281)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 resorts in Pulau Gaya
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
As sensual and exotic as the hibiscus flower that bears its name, Bunga Raya Island Resort is a luxurious jewel set on a coral reef island just off the coast of Borneo. A secluded island hideaway of 47 timbered villas, the resort is framed by white sand beach and virgin jungle. Hillside villas reflect the simplicity of the Borneo architectural style. A hilltop spa blends the finest Traditional Asian and Western treatments using restorative powers of indigenous plants and oils.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Billiards
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Malay
697Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 399
  • 186
  • 63
  • 33
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
whiteknight wrote a review Jan 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beach resort off the coast of Borneo reached by a 10 minute private speedboat transfer. check in is done at the hotel’s efficient reception desk at the pier in Kota Kinabalu.
This is a secluded hideaway with a stretch of white sand on one side & jungle on the other.
Villas are set into the hillside, spacious & nicely furnished combining modern luxuries with rustic charm & a private balcony with views over the bay. Whilst there are a few beach bungalows close to all amenities, the hillside villas generally require a golf cart to get you around the resort.
The resort in early October was very quiet which meant the beach & pool areas were quiet & there were plenty of sun beds to choose from. The main restaurant served a buffet breakfast with a selection of breakfast meals cooked to order. A couple of restaurant options for the evening, prices here were a little on the expensive side depending on what you ordered.
Beautiful lagoon to swim in and an offshore coral reef to snorkel over when the tide is high.
There was an on-site spa but didn’t have chance to use it.
Staff were very friendly & efficient.
This was perfect place to rest & relax after 7 days exploring the Borneo rainforests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMHotelsResorts, Directeur général at Bunga Raya Island Resort
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Dear Whiteknight, Greetings from all of us at Echoresorts, Thank you for having detailed in such a long and exhaustive review your experience during your last stay in Bungaraya Island resort. We are glad that yoh fully relaxed during your stay and we hope that you will keep good memories from Borneo biodiversity. Looking forward to welcoming you again and again! Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joelaing7 wrote a review Jul 2022
Miri, Malaysia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 6 days at Bungaraya. Was it too long? Is there enough to do? For us, the time was just right. A week is perfect. There’s lots to do: water sports, and the seawater is clean with excellent visibility, allowing you to swim with stingrays, turtles and reef fish. Gaya island has hiking trails through the thick primary jungle, including a canopy walk using cable bridges.
Or you can sit on your patio and observe the shifting colors of the sea. The ‘plunge-pool villas’ 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10 and 12 are on the beach and have the best views, but the villas higher on the hill, in the jungle, are equally charming.

From the moment we arrived, we found the staff friendly and helpful. The food was good and the bar staff can make all the classic cocktails. A few dishes were memorable: banana leaf grilled sea bass and the grouper. If you like spicy hot - order the beef rendang. The breakfast deserves five stars. The most perfect omelette I’ve ever eaten.

It is a monumental effort to maintain a five star resort in such a remote location. Most everything, including water, is shipped to Bungaraya by boat. Garbage is shipped out. Typhoons, salty air and the jungle all conspire to take down the wooden villas. The resort was closed for several years during Covid, and few of the villas high up on the hill above the Spa are under renovation. Consequently, the resort is at lower capacity, which means there are fewer guests, so it’s quieter.

Resort Manager Laurent has done a commendable job managing the diverse staff, and spends time getting feedback from every guest. We enjoyed chatting with him.

We booked the jungle trek with front desk, one-way up and over the steep backbone of Gaya island, through old primary rainforest. Return was by boat. But the night before the trek, the tour desk called us and cancelled, due to weather. The next morning it was clear, so we did the trek on our own, without the boat return. After an hour, we had difficulty following the trail, which had many downed trees and vines, so we turned back. That’s when the squall hit. We were lucky to have exited the jungle just before the high winds, with limbs falling. Listen to your trekking guide!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laurent Driole, Directeur général at Bunga Raya Island Resort
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Dear Joelaing7, Greeting from all of us at Echoresorts, Thank you so much for such a long and laudatory comment. It seems you took enough time to walk and appreciate the resort premises in details!... Indeed it was nice chatting with you both and I hope to welcome you back before your 16th anniversary for another island discovery stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amanda k yyee wrote a review Dec 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sincere compliments to all the dedicated staff of BungaRaya Island Resort in maintaining the resort, the bay area, the beach in tip top condition. It's a warm welcome upon arrival.
All the staff are diligent, helpful, courteous and simply professional.
The variety of food offered by the Resort is simply delicious by the creative experience chefs of the resort. We love the complimentary breakfast. Pastries, pastas, asian fusion simply great. There is a wine cellar with variety of fine wine to choose from as well.
The rooms are clean, lovely, beautiful and comfortable. Complimentary toiletry sets are made of fine organic ingredients.
The environment at this resort is so close to nature, gives one a zen feel, in perfect harmony with nature at the same time one can enjoy some complimentary activities offered by the Resort.
In summary, it was a memorable awesome worthy of money 3 nites stay at BungaRaya Island Resort from 18Dec to 21 Dec. We definitely will come back.
*Kudos to the dedicated staff of BungaRaya Island Resort*.
Thank you once again for making our stay here so memorable.
BungaRaya Island Resort equals to Rejuvenate recharge reenergise.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laurent Driole, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Greetings from all of us at Bungaraya! Thank you for your very kind and lovely review after your stay at the resort. We are both pleased and honored to read that you truly enjoyed the "zen atmosphere in perfect harmony with Nature", the professionalism of the whole team "diligent and courteous" and that overall, you rejuvenated and fully reenergized, a good way to perfectly start the festive season!.... We wish you a warm, friendly, and joyous Christmas and we hope to welcome you back in 2023 the latest!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Howard G wrote a review Apr 2023
Jersey, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a six night stay at the end of our amazing holiday in Borneo to relax after visiting and staying at the excellent Borneo Rain forest Lodge and Sukau Rainforest lodge. After lots of early starts to see wildlife we were looking forward to having some lazy days by the pool.
After a very rough small ferry ride to the resort taking well over the fifty minutes mostly in the dark we were not off to a good start. No walk way to get on the boat, we had to jump across from the quay with a large sea swell( we were told later this was the roughest it has been) We we’re keen to awake into Paradise.
Idyllic on my photos but sadly the resort is very run down with none of the services advertised currently open apart from the gym. The spa is under redevelopment, a temporary curtained area by the pool currently Only one restaurant is open and trying to get any drinks etc by the pool, difficult as there was no one around. The resort has so much potential but the manager doesn’t seem to care enough to put the many staff who arrive and leave the resort daily to work. The food at breakfast and dinner was good with lots of choice and the staff are very friendly.
Sadly the floating plastic washed up daily from the nearby floating village around the bay unfortunately spoils the beauty of this Island., The resort is small some 300 meters and the individual villas are spacious. The management response was this is out of our control. What is in their control is how you deal with it! When you are operating a resort that is advertised as luxury you are expecting a certain standard. After we complained through the reservations department that we were dissatisfied, the next day there was an attempt to do a general tidy, something that didn’t take long but the manager seemed to have little insight into how run down the place has become. The canopy walk is also closed and part of the walk way to the helipad collapsed, we were told during the monsoon season. (Certainly not of a standard to accommodate guests arriving by helicopter.
There are two sad looking buffalo kept on the resort tied up (we were told they have a bigger area to exercise around the back of the resort) They are used to pull a rake to turn the sand to minimise the sand fly eggs. I had a few bites as did my husband, but other guests had lots of bites. One lady had her whole back covered in angry itchy bites after she spent the day on the beach on one of the hotel sun beds..
After asking to speak to the manager Karl for two days we had to wait at reception in order for him to address our complaints. We decided to cut our stay short and transferred to kota Kinabalu for the final three days. Echo resorts have refunded our money for the three days after a few more emails to the reservation department.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl Sims, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort
Responded 5 May 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are really sad to read that we didn't manage to reach your expectations of a relaxed few days around our lovely pool to end your trip in Borneo! During the months of October to November (as stated in the 'Note to guest' section of our app, which we send to all our guest prior to their arrival) we inform about the monsoon season challenges we face, being rater a wind monsoon. During that time, we do get seaweed and domestic rubbish washing up onto our shores and mangroves after a heavy storm. We do have in place measures to deal with it, like several daily schedules from our team to clean the beach and, as you mention, 3 lovely water buffaloes that help us too. Our SPA treatments are always available all year round at the pool pavilion for any guest that wishes, same as in room therapies upon request. Only the Jungle SPA area remained under renovation during your visit. In regards to our outlets, breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at our Pantai restaurant. Whilst some areas of Longhouse restaurant may of been upgraded, we offer daily pool side lunch and both our Ocean Pavilion and winecellar dinner outlets. Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience and hope that, if you ever come back to beautiful Borneo, you will visit us to see and enjoy the beauty of our Paradise!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peter wrote a review Feb 2020
United States
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the prettiest places I have ever stayed in my life. The rooms were beautiful, the staff was super friendly, and very personable. They call you by name, and the general manager checked on us every morning at breakfast. They have learned to take customer service to the next level.
The pool looks like something out of a movie or travel book. It is massive, and very clean. We spent a lot of time admiring it.
As far as activities, we spent day 1 and 2 on the beach and pool. We then did a couples spa day (amazing) and did the half day jungle hike and snorkel with lunch. Very cool, and scenic. Our hiking guide was fun and informative.
This resort is more scenic and secluded than the other two on the island because it is 1 bay further away, and looks out to ocean. The other two resorts partially face the city of KK, and we liked staring into jungle and ocean, and not towards a city.

Only small critique to resort: have staff sweep the beach a few more times per day, because a lot of rubbish/plastic/waste washes up on shore. This is certainly not the resorts fault, but sad that some locals treat the environment that way.

Regardless, this place is something out of a dream. I would recommend to anyone, and hope to get back someday. You will be sad when you leave because it is such a memorable time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pioneer22533566724, Directeur général at Bunga Raya Island Resort
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear PetercP3906BV, Greetings from all of us at Echoresorts. Thank you very much for this such enthusiastic review you took time to post on Tripadvisor. We are extremely please to read that your stay went up to your expectation. I will share with the team your very kind words regarding the service and the team. We spend a lot of time in trainings over the year, and the whole team works hard to please all our guests, cutomizing the service as much as possible. In this way your nice comments are very good motivation tools and I am very thankful to you. We hope to welcome you back in Pulau Gaya very soon for new jungle activities! Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wouter W wrote a review Jun 2023
The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stunning island resort with great service. We stayed for 3 nights / 4 days.

The white-sand beach and clear blue sea is absolutely stunning. You can go snorkeling or kayaking among the coral and tropical fish. The guys at the recreation center are very friendly and happy to help with whatever you need.

We also did the Canopy walk. They used to have 4 bridges, but two of them were broken during the last raining season. As a result, you can only use 2 of them, which do not have a very great view. We were not informed about this beforehand. At the same time, we also did the Zip Lining. Which is quite short (3 zip lines) but still a fun experience with a nice view over the jungle and sea.

The overall service in the resort is amazing and the villas are great as well. We highly recommend asking for Villa number 23 or 24, as these are the only two that have a clear view to the sea/beach. All other villas have jungle view.

The only down-side of the resort we think was the food. The food quality is OK but (compared to Kota Kinabalu prices) very expensive. You are not allowed to take outside food. Of course, it can be expected that the food prices on an island and in a resort are higher compared to in the city, but it was unfortunate to find out that the quality of the food is actually not as good/tasty compared to much cheaper options in Kota Kinabalu. In the city, we can eat together (2 people) for 40mr and have great food whereas on the resort you easily pay 150mr and the taste is not necessarily nice. In fact, me and my partner both shared the same thought that we were not excited at all to have lunch/dinner in their restaurants during the day. Which is quite sad as it lowers the overall experience quite a bit.

Besides the food, it's still an amazing resort and certainly worth visiting for 2 to 4 days if you're looking for a relaxing beach destination with great service. There also is some interesting wild life to see in and around the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go snorkeling in the afternoon (low-tide), you will see much more!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve H wrote a review Mar 2020
Fleet, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived absolutely shattered after climbing Mount Kinabalu. Bunga Raya was the perfect place to relax afterwards.
The staff were so welcoming and helpful. We spent the whole of the next day in and around our beautiful tree house Villa.
The food was excellent. Edwardo looked after us so well for the special birthday we were celebrating. All the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Laurent the General Manager made a point of speaking to everyone at breakfast which was a nice touch.
The villas were well positioned and private in stunning grounds. The infinity pool was great being a good size.
Thankyou everyone !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pioneer22533566724, Directeur général at Bunga Raya Island Resort
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Steve H, Greetings from all of us at Echoresorts, Thank you very much for sharing such a nice review on Tripadvisor. We were sad to see you down on your first day to celebrate your birthday. Hopefully you recovered fast in the privacy of your villa and then you could fully enjoy the resort. We hope the return back to civilization and cold was not too difficult. Otherwise you may come back and the team would be happy to take special care of you in your second home. Kind and sunny regards from Borneo!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire H wrote a review Aug 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow what an amazing resort. After a week of humidity and trekking the sites around Sandakan this is exactly what we needed. We stayed 5 nights in a beautiful jungle villa which had a glimpse of the sea. The rooms were very big, great aircon and large comfy beds. We are a family of 4 with children of 12 and 10. Everything was better than expected. The sea was so clear and we snorkelled every day. We saw rays, a reef shark, turtles and many many fish. We loved that you could take out paddle boards or kayaks whenever you wanted and for as long as you wanted.

A bit of paradise but with all the fun of the jungle with monkeys, snakes, monitors, butterflies, Hornbills, wild pig and lizards. The zip wire was fun and another great way to see the jungle. We did not spend much time on the beach because of the sandflies but that is not a problem as the pool and the sea had plenty to entertain us.

The staff were so friendly and helpful and the golf buggy lift up to the villa was always appreciated when we couldn't be bothered to walk.
The food was delicious but as so many reviews say was a little pricey at London prices but we were prepared for this. Some of the service was slow but they are working hard to improve this but we were never in a hurry to get anywhere so it did not matter.

I would highly recommend this resort for a relaxing break. Such a beautiful resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elias Alinde K wrote a review Sept 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Even though the resort is not far from Kota Kinabalu and it's easily accessible, you feel like you were very far away from civilisation since the resort is located in a bit more isolated bay than the other resorts on the same island. The best thing is that the resort is very quiet and you have the beach for yourself directly in front of the villas so it's like a dream! The staff is so friendly and always try to make everything possible for you! We have never had such a good service in our lives, they are so attentive! They made us feel very special. It's nice that everyone has a villa and so it's more private feeling. In other resorts, the rooms or villas are much closer together. The food is quite expensive, the cheapest dish that you can find is 10$ and the portions are really small. But the food quality is really high! The breakfast is à la carte: you can order one hot dish, unlimited coffee and juice, unlimited yoghurt, salad, cereals and bread so it's enough food, but no buffet! The snorkelling, SUP and kayak equipment rental is for free, but the space in which you can use it, is limited, probably due to safety reasons. The beach is really great and the water quality really nice, but the pool could be better. Overall, we had a great stay, but of course it has its price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring you own snacks because the food in the resort is really expensive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ffion G wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The stand out thing at this resort are the staff. Attentive, thoughtful and accommodating without being obsequious. Fazlina at The Longhouse Restaurant stands out, as do Laurent and Nancy as resort managers.

The food was excellent. Based on previous reviews our expectations weren’t high but the quality was consistently very high. I thoroughly recommend the wasabi fish (a truly great dish) and the satay sticks which are accompanied by the best satay sauce I’ve had along with little cubes of pressed rice and if cucumber.

Richie was a great dive leader and we were lucky to have him to ourselves over the three days of diving we did. The dive centre is actually at the sister resort but arrangements are easy to make either in advance or whilst there.

I had an amazing signature massage - worth doing.

You can buy a WiFi dongle to use in your room and once you know you can call the front desk to re-set your limit, is very reliable.

Some bits of the resort do look a little tired but overall it’s charming. It sits on the boundary of the jungle and the beach so won’t ever be one of those pristine resorts you find in the Maldives. Some of the planks in the numerous wooden paths and walkways are spongy or loose which can be alarming. And bugs are an issue but repellent is provided and replenished gratis.

Laurent and team are very responsive and helpful on any issue.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Transfers are easy. Get a cab from Kota Kinabalu airport to Jesselton ferry terminal (RM 30) and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laurent Driole, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort
Responded 23 Sept 2022
Greetings from all of us at Echoresorts! Thank you very much for this very nice review and for having taken some of your precious time to get into details listing what you enjoyed the most from the food quality to your diving experience with Richie. Indeed, even if the Padi diving center is located at our sister Gayana Marine Resort, each time we have a request we organize the dive accordingly. And usually licensed guests are picked up at the end of the jetty with all necessary equipment and from there they go to the diving spot. We actually have several excellent diving spots just in front the resort and even if the big 5 are well known to be seen at Sipadang, dives in Tunku Abdul Marine National Park are also of high quality and you may spot out the small 5 (nemo, octopus, lion fish, puff fish, sea horse) together with sea turtle and baby sharks. My apologies I was not there to bid you farewell since you left very early in the morning... We hope your trip back home went perfectly well and that you are fully reloaded of energy! Thanks again for staying with us and see you soon in Borneo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kerrie m asked a question Mar 2024
Atherstone, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Are towels provided to use at the beach and pool please?
Answer from Ffion G
London, United Kingdom35 contributions15 helpful votes
Yes, life vests are provided for the boat transfer and are available from the boat shed
Answer from Laurenttas
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France1 contribution
We offer complimentary transfer by Ferry at 12:30pm, 4:30pm and 10pm. The transfer by ferry takes around 45min. Otherwise, you may also book a speed boat at any time. It takes 20 min to reach the resort and the price of a speed boat transfer is rm 350 for one way. The speed boat capacity is only limit to 12 passengers, and shall you share the cost with other guests you are welcome to do so.
pete Worthy wrote a tip 18 Jun
Farnham, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy it for what it is - Malaysian luxury resort in the rainforest on sea!"
Read full review
Mohammed Bahwal wrote a tip 15 Jun
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make it to the Canopy Walk and see Kampung Gaya."
Read full review
Carrie B wrote a tip 2 Jun
Surrey, United Kingdom32 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check where your room is going to be beforehand. The Buggy transport can take 10 mins to arrive ….then you’ve got 40 odd steps ! "
Read full review
PudZ_1 wrote a tip May 2024
Rotorua, New Zealand66 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take strong insect repellent."
Read full review
bexy66uk wrote a tip May 2024
Lymm, United Kingdom85 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware of sandflies Try the Tigomos cocktails!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pulau Gaya area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 1,004 - RM 1,357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bunga raya island hotel kota kinabalu, bunga raya island resort and spa
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahWest Coast DivisionKota Kinabalu DistrictPulau Gaya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUNGA RAYA ISLAND RESORT (R̶M̶ ̶2̶,̶5̶3̶0̶) RM 1,046: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,450 Photos (Pulau Gaya) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bunga Raya Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Bunga Raya Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include Suria Sabah (7.9 km), Manukan Island (6.0 km), and Night Market (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bunga Raya Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bunga Raya Island Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bunga Raya Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bunga Raya Island Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bunga Raya Island Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mother India Restaurant, Ferdinand's, and El Centro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bunga Raya Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bunga Raya Island Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Bunga Raya Island Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bunga Raya Island Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bunga Raya Island Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Chinese, and Malay.
Does Bunga Raya Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Pulau Gaya HotelsPulau Gaya Hotel DealsHotels near Bunga Raya Island Resort
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire