We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gaya Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gaya Island Resort
Gaya Island Resort
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,010 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gaya Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 871: English reviews
Amman, Irbid, Jordan
Reviewed 18 January 2017

It is really amazing place to visit I would like to highly appreciate the hotel General manager’s behavior and all management stuff, their good understanding and cooperation with guests in resolving all claims, their passionate attitude made us feel like we are their valuable guests like we are in their own house and members of their family, how they did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed K
Management response:

Dear Mohammed K , Thank you very much for sharing such glowing feedback with Tripadvisor community. Our all entire Team and myself are delighted to hear that you and your family had “amazing stay” here at Gaya Island Resort. Our service promise is to give each guest a memorable story to take home with them and strive for heartfelt Borneo...

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The service is just excellent; foods are delicious and the resort is just beautiful. We love especially the views at night with lighting. The cleanness of the villa still can be improved. Wish we could have stayed longer. Strongly recommended!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tewkk
Management response:

Dear tewkk , We are pleased to hear that you had “almost a perfect stay “at Gaya Island Resort and thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. The Borneo is a unique destination for a holiday and here at Gaya Island Resort, we pride ourselves on being a wild nature-friendly resort with the aim to ensure that...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We stayed two nights in Gaya Island Resorts in Feb 2014 and really enjoyed it. In overall the resort is very modern and high quality, best of all surrounded by really beautiful rainforest. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Food is quite ok, although expensive (according to the menu) but our package has all meals included so not an issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HockSong
Management response:

Dear HockSong , We are pleased to hear that you rated Gaya Island Resort as “Excellent Island Resort “ and thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. The Borneo is a unique destination for a holiday and here at Gaya Island Resort, we pride ourselves on being a wild nature-friendly resort with the aim to ensure that...

Nagoya, Japan
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I stayed in Kinabalu villa for two nights. The room was spacious and I enjoyed beautiful view of Mt Kinabalu. There is their office at Jesselton point and you can check in there. The shuttle boat leaves every two hours. ( you can ask private boat with extra charge) There are three restaurants and one of them is buffet restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MackaGonzales
Management response:

Dear MackaGonzales , We are pleased to hear that you had “Good Stay “here at Gaya Island Resort and thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. The Borneo is a unique destination for a holiday and here at Gaya Island Resort, we pride ourselves on being a wild nature-friendly resort with the aim to ensure that guests...

Tokyo
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I'd rate this as a 4+. Given the smallish number of villas it's a nice large property and even at full occupancy over the year end it never felt over crowded. The main downside was that we couldn't sleep well - aircon was a necessity with the heat but when on at the "Low" setting the room became frigid. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saikou
Management response:

Dear saikou, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us and sharing it with the TripAdvisor community. The voices of our guests are valuable to us. We do pride ourselves on our high levels of service, as well as the Gaya Island culture of heartfelt Borneo hospitality, so I am disappointed to hear that we did not...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Gaya Island Resort located on the Gaya Island near Kota Kinabalu Sabah. Flying from KLIA will take around 2 hours and 45 minutes. You need to get a taxi that will take another 20 to 30 minutes from the KK Airport to Jeselton Point. Once arrived at Jeselton Point, walk around 100 meters then you see small check in office...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TSI_DSG
Management response:

Dear TSI_DSG , Thank you for your feedback. The voices of our guests are valuable to us and serve as a tool for improvement to enhance our guest experiences. Allow me to apologize for the shortfalls in service during your stay with us; this is certainly not how we hope for you to remember your time here. I have personally...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed with several children and grandparents for 4 nights. Good points: Excellent rooms Excellent service Good food Cheap cocktails by the pool Excellent clean beach Excellent pool Bad: Aggressive monkeys Long climbing walk back to room TV never worked Very little restaurant variety esp with kids. But the buffet was good. Room service menu very limited and expensive. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Allow me to thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. The voices of our guest are valuable to us. We do pride ourselves on our high levels of service, as well as the Gaya Island culture of heartfelt hospitality, so I am disappointed to hear that we did not measure up to your...

Reviewed 10 January 2017

We returned to Borneo after a 10 year gap for a luxurious rest with our 3 children aged 8, 12 and 13. After much soul-searching about the cost and effort of exploring the river lodges, we eventually decided that with only 10 days away we would be better staying in one location, and picked Gaya Island due its variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Management response:

Dear Michael H , Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear that you had “luxurious rest “with family here with us at the Gaya Island Resort.We thank you for choosing Gaya Island Resort for your family holiday destination which is short 15-minute boat ride away from KK. The Borneo is a unique...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We were looking for a place to relax after climbing Mt Kinabalu, the resort its self is lovly with a real feel of nature about it, you can see bearded pigs, Iguanas and monkeys going about their daily routine. The room we stayed in was spacious and very clean, the shower was large and there was also a huge bath...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrHoeson
Management response:

Dear MrHoeson , We are pleased to hear that you had "nice place to relax" at Gaya Island Resort and thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. The Borneo is a unique destination for a holiday and here at Gaya Island Resort, we pride ourselves on being a wild nature-friendly resort with the aim to ensure that...

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two days, a really beautiful place, nice staff and good food. Good swimming poor with sea view. Comfortable room. The only thing is air condition is not very stable and no hot water unless take some action to tune aircondition to 20c. No good for this.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronado C
Management response:

Dear Ronado C, It’s wonderful to receive such a glowing review with the title “"A 5star restaurant, good stay with quiet, relaxing”. Each individual team member is passionate about every guest leaving with memorable story to share with family and friends, so our team strives daily to go above and beyond guests’ expectations ensuring many memorable experiences to recall so...

1,889 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1418)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (234)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (266)
Viewed
View from Room (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (162)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (544)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (431)
Viewed
Amenities (111)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (101)
Viewed
The Hotel (91)
Viewed
Villa Bayu (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
0.7 km away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
431 reviews
18.8 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.9 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,980 reviews
12.4 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,264 reviews
4.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Gaya Island Resort

Address: | Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Price Range: RM795 - RM1,661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaya Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Gaya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Island Resort Pulau Gaya, Sabah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gaya Island Resort staff and other travellers.
61 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (61)

Questions? Get answers from Gaya Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Villa with a view of the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles JRo09, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“take smart clothes for the fishermans restaurant, also long clothes for evenings as there are lots of insects, there are lots of steps”
 of 5 bubbles Erringtong, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book with hotel for free boat transfer and a free 50 minute massage”
 of 5 bubbles JACKKLAD, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High up if you can manage the steps”
 of 5 bubbles P2310KNsarahk, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose high and a good view or lower and less of a climb”
 of 5 bubbles jtjdv, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5