We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Orbitz.comUS$32*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$43*
US$32*
US$33*
US$43*
US$32*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Showing 156: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I organized a workshop in this hotel last month with 25 participants for a week. You can imagine how much benefit I bring to this hotel. However they seemed don't consider it is important to serve us well. At first, I was quite happy with the great price they offered. However, now I regret of my decision of going cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomi H
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Normally I for errors but the facts in this review are incorrect.The break was delivered slightly late, one break in all of the catering delivered to this group. My manager talked to the group leader at check-out and there was no complaint at all about this break or anything else, so I simply don't understand this terrible review. Reviews should...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Our entire family loved it here. Let's start with the family room- 2 huge rooms one with a King bed, massive of space and a bathroom with the biggest jacuzzi bath ever and shower etc; a children's room with 2 single beds and their own shower room/toilet. Everything was nicely decorated and the main room had a cane sofa, chair...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marina G
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great that your entire family enjoyed the stay. Reviews like this help us to feel that the efforts we make are having some positive results. Thank you again.

Nongbualumphu
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We don't understand some reviews for this lovely resort-we loved it from the minute that we drove into the beautiful grounds.We tend to be budget travellers so we were surprised at the resort that we got for our buck.The resort is out of town but it is below the mountains and in a huge area of land with trees, gardens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and wrote about it. We hope to see you back at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai.

Walnut, California
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful, but it all ends the minute you walk into the room. We have just arrived and we are already sorely disappointed. The room is sorely lacking. The bed is hard, there are only 2 pillows, and the bathroom is from the 70's (the sink doesn't drain and the toilet has been running for the past 5...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank phaniethegreat
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I apologise for your poor start to your stay and I certainly hope it got better. Problems with the bed linen are unacceptable. I wish you had indicated the problems so that we had a chance to improve your stay. Views on things like bathrooms differ, I have had people express preferences for the more 'Thai style' bathrooms rather than...

Hong Kong
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Indeed, guess you get what you pay for, room rates are not expensive so that is a plus. However it is disappointing that this hotel is named Centara Boutique, because it puts your expectations on a higher level and it was not... - at arrival, 5.30pm, our room was not ready. we just had to wait, no free drink, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank expatinhongkong007
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am very sorry that your stay was not as you had hoped. We did have some issues around New Year but we have reviewed everything to try to cure them. Delayed check-in happens if there is a large checkout as it gives us very little time to get every room ready but I do apologise that you were impacted.Our...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and i stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our honeymoon trip to Thailand. The resort provided everything we required to completely relax and enjoy the good weather. The room (over looking the lake), was always clean and made us feel like we were in a home from home. The staff were exceptional, nothing was too...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Strongy7
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the excursions that we discussed whilst you were here. Thank you for choosing our resort and writing the review.

Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. To be honest the best thing was the low price but now we know why. Our expectations have not been high but we have been disappointed though. The rooms are big but not clean. From day to day we were missing towels. Bedclothes have not been changed daily. Our dishes which we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thailand T
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that our standards had slipped in the areas that you mentioned. This was not our normal standard.Had I known whilst you were here I could have dealt with most issues except for the pool temperature, like most pools in thailand that depends upon the weather.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We chose this hotel because it is affiliated to Centara which is a very respected brand in Thailand and because it is a member of their Boutique Collection. In spite of that, the room rate was very attractive at around 50 US$ per night which means the rooms are good value. The setting is very nice with guestrooms scattered around...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TequilaPepita
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

We have to hold our hands up, on Monday 21st our restaurant really suffered due to a combination of staff sickness and (for us) a huge amount of guests seeking to eat at the same time. It is the nightmare of boutique establishments and I can only apologise for the service that you received. It is an experience that we...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We booked this hotel on our 3daytrip to Chiang Mai. Unfortunately it is really outside of Chiang Mai. You have to have a car or go by taxi. Taxi ride from town to hotel is 600 bath. The rooms are more or less clean but not in a very good standard. The bathroom smells akward. Our room was not cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah D
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I apologise for you unsatisfactory stay. I cannot understand why the room was not cleaned on one day, this is unacceptable.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This hotel is located in Mae Rim, isolated from the busy town. It wouldn't be convenient for those who don't have their own car to travel. Travelling alone, I managed to get to the hotel with the help of Chiangmai people and the Song-Taew driver. Booked last minute with great price totally 2 nights; 1 in Deluxe Sutie Garden room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wenyuan X
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you had problems with the room and drains that smelled. I admit that this room type is not the greatest of designs in the bathroom but the smell is unacceptable and I will research as to the problem. We recently undertook a review of guest satisfaction with breakfast and it had positive reviews but we are in...

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
4.2 km away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 19 in Mae Rim
24 reviews
0.5 km away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
86 reviews
0.3 km away
Mae Rim Lagoon
Mae Rim Lagoon
#9 of 19 in Mae Rim
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
#16 of 19 in Mae Rim
18 reviews
11.3 km away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
1.5 km away
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ruen Ariya Resort
#17 of 19 in Mae Rim
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a relaxing, boutique, garden resort situated in the beautiful and tranquil Maerim Valley, a 30 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and in the centre of the wide range of Chiang Mai's attractions. Offering a full range of recreational activities the facilities include two swimming pools, a beautiful Thai spa, a fitness centre, a sauna, and a lakeside relaxation sala with library These facilities are surrounded by the finest relaxation environment and nature. The resort features 47 understated rooms & villas in huge sub-tropical surroundings with approximately 1,000 trees, an impressive lake, 3 fishponds and many garden areas with relaxing garden salas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 43/1 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Road | Maeram Subdistrict, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Price Range: RM137 - RM261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province/Mae Rim
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are stand alone villas and very quiet”
24Maubeuge, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The room on the lake is the best:)”
Elena_Starchenko, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Villas are great”
apinadell, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“....Delux Suite Lakeside!!....They are heavenly!”
meritengstrom, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“New rooms have quiet air-condition. AC in old rooms are noisy, though location of old rooms are more beautiful.”
Vibhoda, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$32* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$33
Hotwire.comUS$32
HotelQuicklyUS$43
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates