We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Richmond Motel & Holiday Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Richmond Motel & Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 74: English reviews
Start your review of Richmond Motel & Holiday Park
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The motel is where we stayed but they also have cabins and a camping area. The motel room was big and spacious, tidy and simply set out. We were given free wifi passwords which was quick and easily accessible. The shower was a great temperature and strong on pressure. The bathroom sink could have been a little bigger but was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicoleAtkinson2015
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Nicole Glad your stay went well. Sounds like your family all had a good time at the wedding. Sorry about the soap - all our units usually have soap dispensers - I will look into that. Appreciate you taking the time to comment and thanks for staying with us. All the best HELEN.

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night in mid-march in a two bedroom kitchen cabin. The cabin itself was absolutely spotless and had everything we needed including a very comfy couch. The toilet blocks were also spotlessly clean - probably the cleanest I've come across at a holiday park. Very, very impressed! After coming off a 4 day tramp it was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coralie C
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have just returned from the Abel Tasman walk which was amazing but were really looking forward to my hot shower at home. Hope we see you again. Kind regards. HELEN

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean with enclosed patio area which was surrounded by a pretty garden. The room had a very comfortable lounge suite and a lazy boy chair. 7 min walk to main shopping area with BYO Thai and Indian restaurants. One major downside was that our motel was situated next to a busy road and on the flight path to Nelson...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ragdoll5
Helen B, General Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi We are lucky with our selection of restaurants in Richmond. Glad you had an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the road noise we do have double glazing but it still doesn't block out the road noise. Cheers Helen

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sadly I can't give a minus the manager was shocking. When we pre booked we told him we had 3 chihuahuas, as some places dont like dogs and was told that wouldn't be a problem at all. On our first day there the manager came to our site and in a REALLY loud voice so everyone in the camp heard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
Helen B, Owner at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this review

What was said was " We have a problem. I have been getting complaints from other quests and I can hear them (dogs) from the office. If you can't keep them quiet you'll have to move on. the man replied ok i'll put them in the van. Said once. A refund would not have been a problem but guests just...

Ruakaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Three of us stayed in a Cabin with kitchen. Clean, beds comfortable and suprisingly quiet. We were right next to the toilet block so getting up in the night was not a problem! They were serviced every day. One daughter was sick for a day, they provided her with an extra warm fur blanket which she appreciated. You can walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your good comments. Glad you had an enjoyable stay. Pity you didn't get the usual warm Nelson weather while you were here - maybe next time.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed here in the early new year. We booked the 2 bedroom motel. It was spacious, super clean and the beds were really comfortable. My daughter made use of the swimming pool and there was a nice lay ground as well. Friendly service in the office as well. The only gripe was the liquid soap dispensers, would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your kind comments. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the soap. We used to have small soaps but moved to liquid soap a few years ago. I still have a box in our store room so on your next stay just ask the office. Kind regards. HELEN.

Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This was formerly a Top Ten Park and we had booked as that. Not quite what we expected, older style units were clean and roomy. There was a sports team of kids there who were quite noisy initially. Ideal for a one night stay but wouldn't want to spend a week there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brandy126
Helen B, Manager at Richmond Motel & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. Sorry it was sports week in Nelson and there were teams everywhere. Hopefully you get to visit us again as we are usually a very quiet park.

Reviewed 5 August 2016

Great location handy to Richmond Mall and shops. Motel staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Motel clean and warm. Due to work committments in Nelson, stayed for over 3 months. Free Wifi was a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda V
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights in one of their self contained cabins. It was very clean and well equipped and we were pleasantly surprised. The kitchenette had everything we needed including hotplate and electric fry pan as well as jug, toaster and microwave. The room itself had a table, a queen bed, bunks and a TV. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muppz
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

when we arrived my 2 year old son was excited to go play on the adventure playground, only to relise everything was way too high to climb on not suitable for young children only older. to then see a run down and broken swing set suitable for his age but it was warped, bent, unsafe and broken a horrible hazard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanna W

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.3 km away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
57 reviews
5.2 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
9.8 km away
Nelson City TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
42 reviews
3.1 km away
The Pear Orchard Lodge
The Pear Orchard Lodge
#1 of 5 in Richmond
124 reviews
7.7 km away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering free Wi-Fi, an outdoor pool and free on-site parking, Richmond Motel & Holiday Park is just 5 minutes' walk from shops and restaurants. It features apartments with a fully equipped kitchen and a private courtyard patio. The property is 15 minutes' drive south of Nelson. The Richmond Motel is 5 minutes drive from ASB Aquatic Centre and Saxton Field Sports Complex. It is 8 minutes' drive from the World of Wearable Art. Kaiteriteri Beach and Abel Tasman National Park are both within an hours' drive. Communal facilities include a shared kitchen, a guest lounge area and a laundry room. You can shared an outdoor meal in the BBQ area, while younger guests can enjoy the children's playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Motel & Holiday Park

Address: 29 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand (Formerly Richmond Motel & Top 10 Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Price Range: RM168 - RM318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Motel & Holiday Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Richmond Motel & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Motel & Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have a wide range of accomodation suitable for people with mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanC503, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Had a lot of different sized rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles brandy126, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early if you are looking to stay during summer.”
 of 5 bubbles geoffn671, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Unit 9 or equivilent in size”
 of 5 bubbles mealborozo, 30 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room set back from the road to avoid traffic noise. If you are a light sleeper, our unit was inexplicably noisy (Unit 3)”
 of 5 bubbles BelindaR877, 23 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5