We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

the place is older but some rooms are remodeled. the rooms are clean clothes irons, hair dryers and extra towels are available on request. coffee and pastries are available at the front desk. Joe, the front desk guy, is personable and the location is very close to the gondola. the price is reasonable for the location most places try to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony Francis A
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Clean, comfy beds. Clean bathroom. Dirty carpet & outside hallway. Blinds would not close and big windows means people could see in. Old property, could use a remodel. You're really paying for the location and was happy they don't have a minimum stay requirement.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank singerchick516
Yreka, California
Reviewed 4 December 2015

This is starting from 3 stars. It is old. I barely see people staying there during Thanksgiving break. There is no hair dryer, no coffee pot, no closet and hangers. It just doesn't make sense that we cannot blow dry our hair and cannot have anything hot in our room in such freezing days and no where to hang our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jywu109
Lodi, California
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Again, I booked this location based on reviews from trip advisor. Wanted something within walking distance of Harvey's for concert. Searched on Trip Advisor map and found this as being the most reasonably priced. This is a small mom and pop place with no special frills or big lobby but if you can look past that we found our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2upride
Frankfurt
Reviewed 23 July 2015

To be honest this motel was mediocre - at most. The rooms were very small and the whole accommodation was very old. The beds were very uncomfortable but at least the rooms were some kind of clean. The owner was handsome but appeared some kind of confused. The stay was for one night alright but next time i would rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterHH013
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 2 October 2014

The hotel is going trough a major remodel but that didn't stop the staff from taking great care of us. Room was large and clean and had everything we needed. The location is convenient and close to lake and sights. We had a very nice stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindi C
Brentwood, California
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Room was totally outdated and not very clean. We left the first morning of our 2 night stay to find vomit and feces next to the back stairs where the parking is. When we returned hours later it was still there and again the following morning. I understand the there is young people partying in the area but it should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dani S
Carl D, Owner at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this incident to our attention. You are absolutely right, this is unacceptable. We are taking measures to make sure it doesn't recur. We apologize for your inconvenience, and hope you will let us show you better hospitality at some point in the future.

Rosemead, California
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our family just got back from staying here and was very satisfied. It was very comfortable and is located in a great location. This hotel is in walking distance to the Heavenly Village and all the Casinos. It is also walking distance to the beach. We felt secure with our car parked outside our window of our room. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The price and location of this place were fine, but everything else left much to be desired. The room was clean but bare bones...no place even to hang up clothes except for some pegs on the wall! We asked for an iron and got one, but they didn't have ironing boards. The TV was a flat screen but only played...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oswel
West Sacramento, California
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When we arrived, there was trash in the parking lot and there were trash bags sitting out in the hallways, probably from housekeeping. The television didn't work. The toilet seat was sliding off. There was no AC, just a portable fan. The bed sagged. We could smell cigarette smoke in the hall ways and there were cigarette butts at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chucktodd75
Carl D, Owner at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay! We were unaware that you required a room with air conditioning, and would have done our best to accommodate this, had we been aware. We did, however, buy you a brand new fan; it was two days old. Unfortunately, since you arrived directly after July 4th, due to the...

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (264)
Viewed
Budget Double (33)
Viewed
Ecomony King (34)
Viewed
Economy Queen (29)
Viewed
Economy Queen (with Desk) (40)
Viewed
Standard Double (33)
Viewed
Standard King (34)
Viewed
Standard Queen (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.6 km away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
189 reviews
0.5 km away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#46 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
40 reviews
0.4 km away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#47 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
199 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelers Inn & Suites
Travelers Inn & Suites
#54 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
23 reviews
0.1 km away
Mark Twain Lodge
Mark Twain Lodge
#30 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have an exceptional location. 3 blocks from the Heavenly Gondolas, less than a minute's drive from Harrah's Casino, and less that five minutes drive from Montbleu.But that's not all!Reserve your Standard Room ahead at Best Choice Inn, and have the ability to customize your room to your liking!Here at Best Choice Inn, we believe in value and customer service. Therefore, when you book any of our Standard Rooms, we'll give you the opportunity to select what kinds of amenities you want!Extra pillows? Coffee and danish for breakfast? A surge protector to charge up those extra electronic devices? An extra something because it's your birthday?Even just creating your dream romantic room and dedicating it to your sweetheart!Book at Best Choice Inn, and you'll have the ability to design your hotel room to your satisfaction. Just request a Standard Room to get started!*Note: customization only applies to Standard Rooms. All Budget and Economy rooms are not customizable. Every room is fitted with free wi-fi, a microwave and small refrigerator, and cable tv. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

Address: 954 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6935
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: RM275 - RM1,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choice Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
STOCKTON

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 519danis, 9 Aug 2014 | Read review
“just ask the staff...”
  • comfortable bed and nice linens...I slept very well every night.
  • nicely remodeled bathroom in room 226
  • Room 226
 of 5 bubbles skiErikski, 8 Apr 2014 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay