We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avalon Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Avalon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Avalon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Watsonville, California
Reviewed 29 September 2015

My wife and I went to Lake Tahoe to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we booked this hotel through a Travelzoo internet deal. We were very pleased with the hotel and the friendliness of the Staff. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel has bicycles available for it's Guests to take a ride through the town. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorgencio
Oroville, California
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Room was clean bed was comfortable. Flat pillows but lots of them. Very dark room, light bulbs burned out only one bedside lamp. Don't plan on reading, wifi wouldn't allow Netflix just stopped a lot. used my phone flashlight to read because my husband was reading also. only one bathrobe for spa...two of us. They gave us another next day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank juleespohn
CleHospitality, Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear juleespohn, We would like to start off by thanking you for choosing our location out of many for your travel destination. We take pride and providing a positive and great experience when visiting us here in Tahoe. I’m sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your or our expectations. Our staff is friendly and extremely responsive and...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We stayed at Avalon Lodge for 2 nights this summer. It was very quiet, and the staff were super friendly. They were there for whatever we needed, and more (lending books to read, and cutlery/plates for takeaways etc.) One of the staff (John Eldridge) introduced us to disc golf (which we don't really have in the UK) and even cycled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corinne B
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, Corinne B for sharing your experience. We appreciate the comments and I agree – The staff is awesome. We hope to welcome you back again soon and don’t forget – we offer a 5% discount for booking direct on ANY returning Guest Stay! Just ask at check-in.

Chico, CA
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This is a cute spot and we've been pleased with our stays. Its definitely an older hotel, but we've stayed here a few times and had good luck with the staff and rooms. Staff have always been friendly and helpful and the rooms have been nicely updated, well-maintained and clean. They offer some nice touches as well - fireplaces in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angm11
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do love pets and believe they are part of the family. I also know how great our team is – so thank you for shouting them out! It was a conscious choice to re-furb an older property – it is one of our core values and a “Green” tactic…...

Reviewed 15 September 2015

Don't stay in the end room on the ground (1st) floor, number 19 - the noise from above gave us 3 nights of interrupted sleep. Thin, wooden floors mean we heard every bang, footstep and even voices from the room above. We asked for help and the sympathetic hotel clerk promised to either move those above or move us to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom P
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed for 2 nights because we purchased a deal on Travel Zoo. For the most part we were happy with our stay HOWEVER, after the first night there we came back to a room that was never cleaned. Word was that cleaning staff was ill. In my opinion the owner or WHOMEVER needs to be called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie A
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and taking the time to highlight our prime location, complimentary bikes and other great amenities. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendation to others. I am not sure why there was no stayover service your first night with us, but this is certainly unacceptable. You are right – the owner does...

Winnemucca, Nevada
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We had reservations at the Avalon lodge for two nights. Upon arrival we pulled in after being in the car for hours, and were looking forward to freshening up and dinner. We walked into the lobby where there was no one at the front desk. The sign said to ring the bell for service, which I did three different times,...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank Brooke S
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Yes, we are busy and can fill up fast. We were already full when you booked, for days in advance. We did not give away your room. I am so sorry you got stuck, but this was entirely an EXPEDIA Issue. Darn third parties! I have to refer you back to them for any info. For the future, I can...

Folsom, California
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We read all the reviews, we discounted the lower ratings - but being a 4/5 rating on TripAdvisor must count - right? Unfortunately, Avalon Lodge fell short with us as well. The rooms are 'ok' - the bed is on the hard side, just a simple pillow-top could do wonders for the beds to be honest. The bathroom was recently...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Todd C
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Todd, Thank you for your feedback. As most of the items you mention are things we are proud of, we may not have been the best choice for you. Staying in Tahoe in peak periods, such as you did, we understand when you have to scramble for a room not suited to you. The breakfast is “Light and healthy”...

Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and quaint. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The downside....the Internet is basically non-existent. The very weak router is in an upstairs housekeeping closet....even sitting right outside that door the signal was not strong enough for me to get email. They should not advertise wifi with this type of connection....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kehlw00
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kehlw00, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had issues with Internet. Tahoe swells to capacity and at times, the bandwidth in our area can be like molasses. We do have Wi-Fi and it has always been nice and speedy… but with growing technology uses and in peak times, we have decided to invest in a more...

Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 24 July 2015

This hotel advertises itself as a boutique establishment. This is misleading and raises your expectations. The Avalon Lodge is a 1-2 star budget motel that charges $200/night in July. There is no airconditioning in the rooms and they heat up like an oven during the summer. At night everyone leaves all of their windows and doors propped wide open to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MtnBrd
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MtnBrd, I am so sorry you were not happy. We are unable to reach you because of the anonymity of this review, to better understand your circumstance. I do know you stayed in the busiest, peak season. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and are unaware of any stained sheets, and you did not bring any issue to our...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
2.2 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
778 reviews
0.3 km away
968 Park Hotel
968 Park Hotel
#17 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
738 reviews
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#16 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
729 reviews
0.1 km away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#19 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
1,046 reviews
0.2 km away
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
#24 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: RM364 - RM1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avalon Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
over a year ago
6 months ago
Arundel, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Avalon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet place, spacious, comfy rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 753melb, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles RonnSF, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT BOOK THIS MOTEL. There are many other places in the area, for a better price, and better conditions.”
 of 5 bubbles 267fatosm, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 646jackiea, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“if possible, stay away from Fri - Sunday. Tahoe in general is a zoo.”
 of 5 bubbles twogordons, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay