We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Emerald Bay Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Emerald Bay Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Moss Beach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We wanted to stay off the beaten path (away from the "main drag" of Main Street), but close enough to activities and restaurants. We did not book the room online, but just drove in. Emerald Bay Lodge was a good choice for us, especially as we tire of the "cookie-cutter" hotels, which all look alike after awhile. We enjoyed the... More 

Helpful?
Thank DebWong51
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2016

this is gud and clean hotel room is gud . and location is also gud free wifi this is near lake . around hotel is gud nature view i recomended thanks iwill again stay there i would like stay there. gud service

Helpful?
Thank Bhaskar C
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We booked our rooms in advance to a trip we were taking. We also booked our rooms for our return visit. Most of the rooms had been remodeled but looked like some of the details needed to be finished. They were very nice with amenities like some had kitchenettes and all the rooms I saw had refrigerators in them and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BanGinc
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I get to this place and I was told that my room was not available because of a family who refused to leave. The owner thankfully transferred my reservation to another place which was better but there was still issues because we were not in the system yet at the new place. We got set up in the new place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan F

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016

It advertises a "complete renovation" which is not true. When we were there 2 days ago, breakfast was not offered, the swimming pool was closed, the bathroom was inadequate (shower difficult with terrible mat on floor; it took 5 minutes to get hot water; no hair dryer; no counter space), no coffee maker in room, no maid service the second... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MangoLinda
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Well, this is the worst "hotel" ever. After our arrival, we were told that the lovely room we booked through Hotels.com was not available because of water damage. We understand things happen, but the room we ended up in was awful: the floors were filthy, the lamp broken, electrical outlets were uncovered, floor boards were coming up, a moldy old... More 

Helpful?
Thank butlerzone
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016

I don’t usually write reviews, but here I am trying to give other travelers feedback not to spoil your time off in Beautiful Lake Tahoe. If you stay at Emerald Bay Lodge you might experience NO SERVICE, ATTITUDE OF UNREASONABLE PROPERTY MANAGER; UNPREDICTABLE BEHAVIOR OF PERSON (Manager, who apologies for her “crappy personality” giving you hard time as soon as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DisplayABC
Kathy T, General Manager at Emerald Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Ana for sharing your experience with other guests who are looking for accommodations when in the Tahoe area. I am sorry that I was not able to refund you as you requested, but as I explained to you several times, here in the Sierra's it's not unheard of for pilot lights blow out when it's stormy out. The... More 

South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2015

My 2 boys and I needed a place to stay till we find a new house unfortunately my landlord sold the house I was renting over the summer. A month prior I was paying 240 for a week for one bed no kitchen and it was in an area that's no place for my children so when I called emerald... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kylay530
Kathy T, General Manager at Emerald Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. I can not speak for how things may have been handled or taken care of prior to me taking over management of the property but I can tell you, that guest service is my number one priority. As with any property that transitions from one manager to another, there usually are... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

At the last minute I needed to find a place for the night and after looking on TripAdvisor I decided to stay here - they have a new owner and so they changed their name to Emerald Bay Hotel. Initially I thought it was acceptable - they are in the process of remodeling but...... My room was not only unfinished... More 

Helpful?
Thank viajegal
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2015

we stayed here in February 2015 after deciding we wanted "one more night" at the lake and calling/driving around for a bit. Pine Cone Acre had one room left and was pup-friendly, so we snagged it. The grounds seem to have a mini-golf (not sure if that is actually functional in the summer?), a pool, a kids area with swingset... More 

Helpful?
Thank crystarella

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
5.0 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
775 reviews
6.6 km away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#46 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
40 reviews
1.3 km away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#29 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#39 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
130 reviews
1.4 km away
Tahoe Valley Lodge
Tahoe Valley Lodge
#40 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
21 reviews
1.6 km away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#50 of 73 in South Lake Tahoe
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our recently renovated rooms were designed with you in mind. We offer all the amenities needed to feel right at home. Located just a short drive from beautiful Emerald Bay, one of the most photographed spots in the world. Maybe you have come to take advantage of our hiking trails, bike paths, ski slopes, beaches, night life, Lake Tahoe has it all. If you prefer a much slower pace what better place, surrounded by pine trees you can rest, relax and rejuvenate here at Emerald Bay Lodge.  The absolute best Personal Care Amenities  Flat panel TVs  Free Wi-Fi access  Microwave and fridge  Kitchenette units available  Daily housekeeping service  Complimentary bike use (summer season)  Breakfast basket, filled with yummy treats  Pet friendly Upscale amenities, quiet location and personalized service make Emerald Bay Lodge the place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Bay Lodge

Address: 735 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6500 (Formerly Pine Cone Acre Motel)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: RM228 - RM1,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Bay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cone Acre Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerald Bay Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Emerald Bay Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't expect a cookie-cutter hotel; this one is interesting, and has most of what you need for a night's stay.”
 of 5 bubbles DebWong51, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Call before reserving -- make sure pool is usable (if that's impt to you)”
 of 5 bubbles MangoLinda, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There newly remodeled”
 of 5 bubbles kylay530, 29 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Be sure to look at the room before you book it.”
 of 5 bubbles 551sheilaj, 13 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Ask for air conditioning if it's a warm summer.”
 of 5 bubbles travelingWise, 13 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay