We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (3)


The Fincourt is a family run bar & guesthouse located in Oldcastle , less then one hour from Dublin airport . We have 5 ensuite bedrooms , and 4 self catering apts. and house. Oldcastle is the home of the Loughcrew Cairns dating from 5,000 BC, and the birthplace of St. Oliver Plunkett. Oldcastle boasts fantastic cycling , walking and horse trekking.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 13
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Whilst the room and its facilities, is fairly ordinary, the place is spotlessly clean, Staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Great Breakfast too, by a log fire. Although the pub and coffee shop was only open at weekends, it was still a great stay. Parking wasn't a
Read more
We stayed in the Fincourt as we were attending a wedding in Clonabreany House. Jackie and all the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Our room was exceptional as was our well welcomed breakfasts which was second to none. Would highly recommend the Fincourt.
Read more
I stayed in the fincourt hotel on 28th July. I was attending a wedding in Clonabreany house so it was ideal as only a ten minute drive away. The rooms were clean and spacious but the outstanding part of this experience were the staff. They were so friendly and welcoming. Nothing
Read more
Response from GarryONeill536, Owner at The Fincourt
Responded 31 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Stayed at the Fincourt a few days ago for a family wedding nearby. The owners were off on holiday for the week but the place was left in very capable hands (Thanks Lauren!!). We arrived and were shown to a lovely clean room and told about the local amenities. There is plenty
Read more
Response from GarryONeill536, Owner at The Fincourt
Responded 3 Jun 2018
Hi Bob, Delighted you had a wonderful stay and were looked after so well by Lauren. Thank you for your kind review it is much appreciated.
Read more
We stayed for 1 night at the Fincourt, and it was o.k., but not great. The room was clean and comfortable enough, though a bit cramped. A huge problem was that the internet didn't work in the room. Apparently the Fincourt has a number of routers throughout the property, and
Read more
Response from GarryONeill536, Owner at The Fincourt
Responded 31 May 2018
So sorry to hear you were unhappy with the service you received. Unfortunately our staff member had the wrong Wifi code. This is now clarified. With regard to your room rate. When you rang from Kells to book your room you were quoted €100 for your room for 2 people. This rate includes breakfast, as do all our rates. However 3 people stayed in the room. Our rate for this is €120. On speaking to my wife Jackie she agreed to leave it at €100, for Bed& Breakfast for 3 people, this I think you will have to agree was fair. I can assure you Jackie did not, and would not yell at you or any guest. I do accept we made a mistake by not clarifying the number of guest that were checking in. For this I do apologise. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your Irish trip and had a safe trip home. Kind regards Garry
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
"Try for a room upstairs, which seem to be further from the pub. Wood was good"
"Back rooms are quiet"
"The Ballymacad room, just off the courtyard, was recently redecorated and really lovely."
"All of them are good."
"to access all rooms, there are stairs (in case anyone is infirmed or have bad knees like me?. All rooms are ensuite."
US$102 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
IrelandProvince of LeinsterOldcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing