We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Noir

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Noir
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

962 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 950: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Awful ..the room was tiny couldn't swing a cat ..the pillow cases were marked ..shower could have done with a good clean also the coffee machine was dirty ..stayed 1 night room only would not recommend it at all ..dirty room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaily642015
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Gj, as I have said to you in response to the review you left on our Facebook page, I'm really sorry if the room was dirty when you checked in, and I wished you had said something while you were here, rather than staying in a dirty room, so we could have made it right for you. When the...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just stayed for 2 nights great hotel rooms looking a bit tired but apart from that very clean free mini bar restocked daily .also has parking real bonus great breakfast. About 10 to 15 min walk into York centre second time I have stayed here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iankaz49
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a small(ish) hotel but with a lot of nice touches for the modern traveller. On arrival we upgraded to four poster room which was reasonably spacious. We couldn't get into the small car park but we easily parked in the quiet sidestreet next door. The staff were welcoming and attentive throughout our stay. The decor gives a fresh,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KGB1966
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here a while ago with the misses, bed was very comfortable and the room was a genuinely nice place to be. The chef micheal was fantastic as was his food. very pleasant and accommodating though out our stay. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay near York city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel Noir is very comfortable and clean, the staff are all very pleasant and willing to help if there is a problem. The breakfast and evening meals were well worth the money as they were delicious. The distance from the centre of York is only a 15 minute walk, so it is easy to walk even for couples in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angeladevlin
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for a one night stay for me and Mrs so we could go to the Xmas market and have a drink. The hotel was easy to get to and plenty of street parking, the hotel car park is not for larger cars...hotel staff very friendly and booked in within a few minutes. The room was lovely with a view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

cumbria
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed here the first weekend of the Christmas Markets. We arrived around 5pm on Friday and got a spot in the car park. Received a friendly welcome, room was nice and warm when we went in. There were nice warm dressing gowns in wardrobe, some drinks, chocolate & fresh milk in the fridge, nice sized room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaisieMooD
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Maisie, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! You are correct about the price - York can be an expensive destination on premium nights due to the huge demand, but there are bargains to be had if you can be flexible with your days. I hope we can welcome...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 4 nights in a room at the front with a four poster bed. While there was quite a lot of road noise(as we like to have the window open), this didn't bother us after the first night. The room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel, with complimentary toiletries ,a tassimo machine and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C B
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear C B, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

booked hotel noir for short 2 stay break. offered upgrade on arrival, which we declined due to level of our stay. basic double room was very spacious, clean and tidy. did not book breakfast or any meals but did see lots of people eating in restaurant and did not hear any complaints. no complaints whatsoever about hotel noir. well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cwills_250097
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear CWills, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

Heywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night on business. Comfortable room with free mini bar and a real coffee machine. Food and drink reasonably priced and amazing quality. Butternut squash and chilli soup my favourite. Short walk to the bridge over the river and pathway to the town centre. Situated in a pleasant area. Car park a little tight if you are in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuart205
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Stuart, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Classic Room (22)
Viewed
Compact Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
844 reviews
1.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.8 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#13 of 46 in York
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,633 reviews
1.8 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 46 in York
1,705 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Price Range: RM236 - RM1,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Noir staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Noir staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This was our 3rd stay at the hotel but the first time we had a room at the front, if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles angeladevlin, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Clean, Good room and 15 minute walk to centre”
 of 5 bubbles F8439WRpauls, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms can be noisy from the road if the window is opened”
 of 5 bubbles F9637OYrichardl, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a front facing room”
 of 5 bubbles lindac00, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You decide how big a room you want, compact great if you just use the hotel for sleeping.”
 of 5 bubbles westham1948, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay