We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA York

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 244: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stopped here for one night. 4 of us had a large room which was huge. It was like a small apartment!! Facilities were clean and well signed. The bar had the essentials and the barman was friendly. Breakfast was £5 for a hot buffet and some cold options. Did the trick and filled a whole. Good mix of guests from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thefitnesswanderers
YHAYorkManager, General Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Thank you thefitnesswanderers for your review of YHA York. Great to read that you found the facilities to be accommodating and our team friendly and helpful during your stay. We feel we are an excellent budget accommodation provider for trips to the city of York. Richard Robinson General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was clean and well looked after, breakfast was reasonably priced, pleasant location next to the River Ouse. Service was punctual. Overall, good value for money for the price paid and I would consider staying there again if I were heading back to York on a budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
YHAYorkManager, General Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Thanks AlexJSmith90 for your review of YHA York. Great to hear you found us to hit the mark on cleanliness, service and price. Please do consider us again we'd love to welcome you back. Richard Robinson General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

In general the hostel is nice. It's clean, the staff are friendly, and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast was great and there was a vegan option! However, we were in a room directly above the kitchen so it got uncomfortably hot in there. Staff kindly brought in a fan for the second night which cooled the room down whilst on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ani386
YHAYorkManager, General Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Thank you ani386 for your review of YHA York. its great to read that you found our facility clean and comfortable and our staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry to hear about the issues with the room, I suspect the room you stayed in was H04 we have had comments recently about heat in this room even despite...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted warmly on arrival for our one night stay. Had a private room with en suite, was surprised at the amount of space, had expected it to be smaller (fantastic shower, better than that of a recent stay in a 4* hotel!!) Nice clean communal kitchen, couldn't get the hobs to work on the cooker by the window,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0anner99
YHAYorkManager, General Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Thank you j0anner99 for your review of YHA York. Its greatly positive to read your 5 star review of YHA York. It has of course been shared with our hard working team here. YHA offers a wonderful product and its great to read that you found us in some areas to be on par with accommodation in a higher price...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have stayed at many hostels either together or on our own (before we met). These would be hostels from all over the world. But nothing came close to our experience at the YHA York. Simply put it was fantastic. I get up very early in the morning and would let my wife sleep in, I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett K
YHAYorkManager, Jo Deputy Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Than you Brett for 5* rating. So pleased you you both enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you with your family in the future

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hostel, and friendly staff. It was cold and very wet outside, and it was just the place to have a hot meal and an early night. Good, hearty , and a comfy bunk - just what I needed. Will come back for a longer visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
YHAYorkManager, Jo Deputy Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star rating of YHA York. We look forward to seeing you soon

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i was given a warm welcome by the staff, but the people staying there were a different story, technology has killed people talking to each other, every night was the same people staring into a mobile phone etc. i have some very fond memories of the yha but this new generation is terrible. i was supposed to be there 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
YHAYorkManager, Jo Deputy Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of YHA York. Unfortunately technology seems to rule lives these days. However we look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It's a wonderful hostel with excellent service, however, they gave me a female room with 8 ladies although I booked one with 6. Unfortunately, there was two girls came back to the room after midnight and made a lot of noise, which woke us up. Anyway, its location and cleanliness are excellent, I strongly recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marina_cxd
YHAYorkManager, General Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Thank you marina_cxd for your review of YHA York, dorm beds can be assigned to any size of room I'm afraid and we often use our largest 8 bed rooms first before using smaller configurations. Please accept our apologies on behalf of your fellow guests for not acknowledging the common courtesy of dorm room guests. Great to read the quality...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

stayed at York YHA for a night and used the conference room to run a training session. The building itself is very nice - a little far from the city but pleasant walk along the river. Dinner was fairly simple but filling and breakfast had some decent options. The training room was spacious and had all the equipment we needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amberics
YHAYorkManager, General Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Thank you amberics for your review of YHA York, great to hear our rooms, meals and meeting space was to your liking, we strive on our quieter suburban location. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Richard Robinson General Manager

Reviewed 1 November 2016

We visited this hostel last year as part of our sixth form trip to York. Rooms were basic but clean and presentable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. All communal areas were modern and very clean. Wi-Fi also works well in rooms and communal areas. All in all very good hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
YHAYorkManager, General Manager at YHA York, responded to this review

Thank you Lauren C for your review of YHA York, its great to hear that we were the perfect base for your sixth form trip round our historical city. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Richard Robinson General Manager

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.4 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.2 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
York is soaked in history and packed with fantastic attractions. The Romans, Anglo-Saxons, Vikings and Normans have all left their mark. Our newly refurbished YHA provides superb modern accommodation within walking distance of the city centre, making it the ideal base for exploring this very special City. YHA York at a glance: Free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA York! £2 million renovation Walking distance of the city centre New cafe bar 32 rooms with en suites State-of-the-art seminar/education facilities As part of our refurbishment, YHA York now boasts a large number of new en-suite bedrooms, a cafe bar with garden views and meeting/activity rooms. So, whether you're looking for a cheap weekend break, a bed for a night or a family getaway, YHA York has everything you need! This hostel provides disabled access and rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA York

Address: 42 Water End, Clifton, York YO30 6LP, England (Formerly York International Youth Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Price Range: RM102 - RM548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA York 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your YHA York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York International Youth Hotel Clifton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA York staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
over a year ago
liverpool
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“leave the phone alone and talk to each other !”
 of 5 bubbles O996HTpaulb, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had bunk rooms for family children they are great and we also had Ensuite .”
 of 5 bubbles andall1943, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If two, three or four of you, consider an en-suite room. Great value, more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles chestervoyager, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get one with an en-suite if available”
  • Common room
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get en suite if possible”
 of 5 bubbles teessidecouple, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay