We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Walper Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Walper Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Walper Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 27: English reviews
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We stayed here for one night, only about 6 weeks after their re-opening. Lots of positives about this hotel. Friendly, efficient staff, beautiful large room. Bath products were lovely. Stopped at the bar for a glass of wine. Very nice bartender, with lots of interesting ideas for cocktails. Still could use a bit more art, perhaps, as some walls (including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne37
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Maryanne37, Thank you so much for your feedback & for choosing to stay at The Walper Hotel. Hearing feedback about our rooms + new mixologist is great, as we are so pleased to be able to offer the only boutique hotel experience in Waterloo Region. Great tips about the art! We're huge art lovers so a suggestion of other...

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was wonderful from start to end. When I arrived at the hotel I was an hour early and McKenzie at the front desk was very accommodating and she was super nice, she told me about some good restaurants in the area and took my coffee order for the morning. I got to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeaShellz16
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hello SeaShellz16, Wow - thanks for all your feedback! It's so great when we can learn what our guests think of their experiences in our hotel. Each piece of feedback helps us grow and it is also wonderful when we get to hear how we are able to help make a guest stay truly exceptional! We hope you will continue...

Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Stayed for one night. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Check-in staff were fast and professional. Hotel seemed pretty quiet for a Tuesday night ;) Not sure why they didn't have coffee in the room ... just had to call front desk and it was right up. Would agree with others that it was a little pricey. Parking was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geekydaddy
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I stayed at the newly renovated Walper a few days before it's grand opening. The stay I had was so terrible that the hotel comped me a room. It was honestly one of the worst hotel stays that I had ever had. The other people staying on our floor were very loud, and were hanging out in the hall in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sp_lawrence88
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi sp_lawrence88, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We value all our guests' feedback, positive or negative, as it helps us grow and be more accommodating & welcoming. We would love to speak to you directly in order to address certain issues you had with your stay, so if you are interested in providing more in-depth feedback,...

Stratford, Canada
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We were married at the walper and return yearly for our anniversary.we were excited last year as the hotel was about to undergo renovations to the tune of $3M. we returned and we were absolutely horrified. They took a beautiful old hotel and turned it into an IKEA showroom. its lost all its turn of the century charm, and im...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thanks for your feedback. We're so pleased that you were married here at The Walper and that you have been returning yearly ever since. As you know, we underwent a massive $10 million renovation and many assets in the hotel were changed. Fortunately, we were able to upgrade all of the old HVAC systems while preserving some historic...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 4 November 2016

hotel is newly renovated, staff were very good, friendly and accommodating, the room was clean, modern but small, only 1 mirror in room making it a bit of a task for 2 getting ready for a night out. We were there for a wedding and it was in a unique room, very enjoyable The location is the best park of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank golfngord
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi golfngord, Thanks so much for your feedback. We're pleased you found our staff friendly and accommodating - we value them greatly and they take great strides in making sure our guests are welcomed with warmth. We're so sorry about the construction on nearby roads, the ION Light Rail Transit System is a work in progress that effects us all....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

10/10 would recommend. You would pay double for this sort of experience downtown Toronto. We tried to get into 2 other boutique hotels for our wedding anniversary before we heard of this one. The Walper is gorgeously renovated with great big, very modern rooms and a king size bed. The building is gorgeous and the staff very helpful. We appreciated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 416expat
Windsor-Essex-Pelee Island Region, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Walper reminded me of a "theme park hotel" - eg mid-century - nothing quality. Paper thin walls, no box spring on the bed, just a very average mattress. I looked out the window and the frames on the exterior are shabby and peeling. They have not even been painted or clad with aluminum -- very budget reno both interior and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S4722EK
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Trying to be optimistic, but the reality is I felt that the price was high for the amenities/services rendered. This is a recently renovated, centrally located hotel (more on that later) near downtown Kitchener. Lots of people on bikes and walking the sidewalks. The location is close to several restaurants in walking distance. Although recently renovated, the building is most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ryan P, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your stay in our hotel, we value it greatly. It sounds like some of our design picks weren't up your alley and we definitely respect that. In terms of the wrinkles we had not yet ironed out at the time of your stay, we are truly...

Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight in this newly renovated hotel recently. The decor is fantastic even though there are a few finishing touches that still need to be completed. The room and common areas were very clean and well maintained. Front desk service was excellent. I would definitely recommend The Walper!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bvanbeezy

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitchener
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
244 reviews
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in the historic charm of The Walper Hotel, an iconic 1893 landmark set along the quaint streets of one of Kitchener, Ontario's oldest neighbourhoods. You'll be captivated by this building's amazing past, and charmed by its contemporary flare. From Eleanor Roosevelt's preferred breakfast location on the interior terrace to Lennox Lewis' boxing match in the Crystal Ballroom, to the tales of Al Capone's liquor smuggling operation in the cavernous basement restaurant, every nook and cranny in this Waterloo hotel has a story to tell. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Walper Hotel

Address: 20 Queen St S, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1V6, Canada (Formerly Walper Terrace Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Price Range: RM521 - RM747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Walper Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Walper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walper Terrace Kitchener
The Walper Hotel Kitchener, Region Of Waterloo, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Walper Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Interior rooms are dark but quiet”
  • Windows are not sound proof
  • Room 502
  • Room 502
  • Very nice shower
 of 5 bubbles ChrisfromTO, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 501 a 2 room suite”
 of 5 bubbles 19AndyG, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher the better!”
 of 5 bubbles Maryanne37, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get city view.”
 of 5 bubbles Geekydaddy, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not accessibly friendly for people with disabilities”
 of 5 bubbles sp_lawrence88, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay