We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sword Motor Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sword Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
Start your review of Sword Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

I know this town very well, as I grew up here, Moving away many years ago. There are not many options to choose for accommodations and this property has been there as long as I can remember..I booked a couple days in advance, staying in April 2016. I arrived after a long drive around 8pm. Bancroft is a beautiful 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your welcoming feed back. We have been under renovations for 2 years on up dating our premises inside and outside. We have installed new P-Tec units in all rooms for heating and cooling, beds and TV's. All rooms come with a new fridge, microwave, coffee maker, Iron and ironing board, and hair dryer. We have a whole...

Omemee, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Sword inn and were very pleased with how we were treated, and the accommodations. The room was small but very clean, well appointed. The bed was very comfy. The tv had lots of channels as well as a mini fridge and microwave. We made use of the hot tub and pool. Both were clean and looked after....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chuckles_100
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feed back. We are pleased to see all was to your liking. We are thrilled you made use of everything we had to offer and it was a great experience for you. The fresh hot waffles are fabulous I have to agree. :) All our rooms come with all amenities which is an...

Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I were up in Bancroft to visit our new puppy. We figured why not turn that into a nice weekend away from the city. This place is fine for what we needed and like everythi g if I looked hard enough I could find little issues. We try not doing that and this place didn't offer up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hapla
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back and staying with us. We are sorry to hear the heater was a bit noisy. We have just replaced them all in the fall with new P-Tec units that are energy efficient and to be more quite. We are happy to hear your view was enjoyable. I do hope you tried the fresh hot...

Ennismore, Canada
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

We have been here a couple times now. Rooms were always very clean and staff very friendly and eager to help with alll our needs. Great place for snowmobiling as the trails are right next to motel.Pool was good also very clean well kept. We also enjoyed the sauna. We will be back again very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don R
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your super kind words. We appreciate your feedback and loyalty to our location. We are glad you have enjoyed your stays here each time. Thank you for standing by us! Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here, I feel the need to pull the harp out. Its amazing how pitiful and 'uppity' some of you are. Your moaning because you had a spider or wee cobweb in your room. GET OVER IT!! I bet you have worse crawling through your house!!! You are expecting perfection. Be glad you live...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah H
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your super kind words. We appreciate your feedback and loyalty to our location. We are glad you have enjoyed your stays here each time and its great to see you come with your dog. Thank you for standing by us! Hope to see you and your dog again soon!

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Worst place ever!!! Went to check In And girl at front desk complained about everything than told us that if we hear a snow pole to get up and move our car?? Really??? Than we get to our room and there is 1 double bed? Again really? The room was aweful we had to fix the toilet several times for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon V
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. I am sorry you did not find the rooms satisfactory. Toilet issues are a common problem in any hotel and we do our best look after them. If the toliet is not working properly and we are told at the time we fix it or move to another room. I am...

North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Very clean, but dated. Bathroom is very small. Friendly staff. Pool and hot tub need to be cleaned. Our key would not work, had to switch rooms, key was hit and miss in 2 nd room. Many trips back and forth to front desk as we were locked out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sally44442016
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your door locks, even with having to move to another room. Unfortunately technology does that some times. Pool and hot tub have both been completely cleaned this weekend. Again thank you and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a fireplace jacuzzi room. Arrived to find tub covered with hairs along with hair in shower...another type of hair on top of toilet (guess)..huge spider web on light.. A fireplace that was not even on (manual pilot off) and dirty and incredibly disgusting.inside and out.glass was beyond filthy...went to office..said would clean room while we were out..didn't...owner called...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank courtice_travellors
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay with us was not to your standards, and for any inconvenience you were caused. I will pass on the information in regards to the cleaning of the room to the housekeeper manager so she can look into it. Thank You for you posting and your feed back will be taken and addressed accordingly.

Newcastle
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Customer service lovely, very friendly. Room is cramped and very small. Smells like it was formerly a smoking room. Bathtub is sized for a toddler. You literally turn around in one space to use facilities. Windows are circa 1970 and for air conditioning it is a small window unit. Bed is comfortable!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SBishop18
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful words about our staff, I will pass that on to them. I am sorry you found the rooms to be small and cramped. The windows are actually fairly new and the A/C units are new in the past two years. Sorry if they were not satisfactory. Hope to see you in the area again. Thank...

Midland
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I have just spent three days on Bancroft and staying at the Sword Motor Inn. Check in was scrambled with to front desk reps trying to process three guests in the lobby at the same time. We had booked a suite with another guest who had not yet arrived. We paid for our portion of the room and was promptly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry that your experience here was not fully satisfactory. We have updated our buildings and try to accommodate everyone the best we can. Sorry for your frustrations that the parking lot close to your room was full. As you said we were completely booked for the weekend and the parking is first come...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bancroft
2.5 km away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
61 reviews
8.0 km away
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Bancroft
6 reviews
22.4 km away
Benaaron Guest House
Benaaron Guest House
#1 of 10 in Bancroft
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 10 in Bancroft
12 reviews
19.7 km away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
33 reviews
26.0 km away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located just on the north side of Bancroft near the end of Hasting St. We accommodate Sledders, ATV's, Pets, Rock Hounds and just the passer buyer. We have a heated in door pool, Hot tub and dry sauna along with a games room. All our guest receive a complimentary continental breakfast in our lovely breakfast area with there stay. This includes Hot waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, choice of different breads and pastries, coffee, tea, juice and much more! We are with in walking distance to almost everything in town and have a park right beside us that the York river runs through and right behind our location as well. So if you are a canoeist this is the spot to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sword Motor Inn

Address: 146 Hastings St, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bancroft
Price Range: RM529 - RM587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sword Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sword Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bancroft
Bancroft Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sword Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Toronto
over a year ago
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sword Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms in central and back from highway very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles joanh515, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the room they gave us was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles jaxson, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check the room, especially the bathroom, before you commit yourself.”
 of 5 bubbles rafraj60, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one attached to the kitchenette/pool, so if it rains, you'll be Ok.”
 of 5 bubbles 997christianm, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't go to this motel!”
 of 5 bubbles yellowtweety1980, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5