We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Hotels.comUS$112*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$138*
US$112*
US$138*
US$112*
US$138*
US$111*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stay at the Barclay several times a year as we frequent Sproat Lake in the summer and have business in Tofino. We sometimes plan our stays on short notice and, on all but one occasion over the last few years, they have been able to accommodate us. Every aspect of our stay, from check-in to check-out is a pleasure...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil B: Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor review. It is always nice to hear these comments from a repeat customer to let us know we are still on the right track while we continue improving our service and product levels. With our guest room renovation recently completed we have been getting a lot...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed 2 nights at the top end of the Temporary Street Drag Race track and it was AWESOME ... Great view of the action for "Thunder in the Valley" Great Beds , Clean Rooms ... No Breakfast ( 20% off in the Restaurant )

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aswankster
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aswankster: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the races, we have an amazing location for this event as the racing is just down the street from the hotel and you can see the finish line...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Arguably the best hotel in Port Alberni. Great for a few days stay. Modern amenities, super pleasant staff, and super comfortable beds. Nice restaurant with great breakfast. Didn't use the pool so can't comment on that. Highly recommend staying here

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian554
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear brian554: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the beds comfortable, and had an opportunity to enjoy breakfast in Stamps Café. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back...

Brussel
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Port Alberni is not a place you should see, but if tofino is fully booked its a good place to start. This best Western is very nice, clean, good rooms, friendly staff, parking place with more then enough space. Wifi could and should be better. The inpanded restaurant is great, a plus!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan W
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johan W: Thank you for taking the time to write this Tripadvisor review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you found the rooms nice and clean and our staff friendly. We are also happy to hear that you had a chance to enjoy Stamps Café, which is a favourite among guests and locals alike....

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Clean, relatively quiet (could hear showers running, etc. in other rooms), and they seemed to have lots of little extras to make sure the stay was comfortable. Seemed to be close to the center of town, loads of parking and staff were very friendly. Cost was rather high, but would consider staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandy B: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean and comfortable, and the staff very friendly. All of our team thoink of themselves as ambassadors for the hotel and tourism in the...

Reviewed 12 July 2016

The air conditioner in our unit did not work. Maintenance was sent up and said "I cannot do anything I am just the janitor". I asked for a credit off of our bill due to a bad night's sleep. The manager who didn't even bother coming to see me offered me $25 - very disappointing experience given that everything else...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DGB_TTT
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DGB_TTT: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this Tripadvisor review. We checked the air conditioning units after you had left in the morning and found they were both working fine. The only thing I can think of is that when the outside temperature drops to 60 degrees Fahrenheit, the air conditioner which has a...

Reviewed 9 July 2016

Every member of the staff at the Barclay was amazing! We couldn't thank the office staff, the restaurant staff, and the cleaning staff enough. We've never been treated with such kindness and concern at any hotel in the past. My 91 year old dad and 86 year old mom were so well taken care of by everyone that I don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky E
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky E: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to enjoy Stamps Café while you were here. Stamps Café has become a favourite among our guests and locals alike. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Best overall service I've experienced in a hotel. Everyone from front desk, to bar staff, restaurant staff, and housekeeper. Made us feel welcome in a genuine way, a friendly way, not just from some customer service training handbook. Rooms were immaculately clean, with solid ammenities. Food in bar and restaurants were good portions, hot, and delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie C: Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor review. We are all happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and the entire team was very proud to read your comment that this was the best overall service you have experienced in a hotel. We always try to provide the best service and product...

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here the weekend of Canada day the hotel was beautiful even the room so were happy to have a good night sleep after a busy weekend. It wasn't until we went to bed that we had the hardest time sleeping because the mattress was so firm and hard that we couldn't get comfortable so got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rae l
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rae l: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this Tripadvisor review. We are sorry to hear you found your bed uncomfortable, we generally get great responses in this area. I will review our room standards with our Housekeeping Team as it is standard to have coffee packages in all of the rooms, and I...

Crofton, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Central to everywhere, lots of parking, quiet. There are lots of gentle hiking trails nearby and lots of hard climbing trails. We could see the water from 5th floor. The quay has a new aquarium with touch ponds that are filled with local ocean life, collected from the local waters, Definitely must see for $5.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tawny M
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tawny M: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. Their are many things to enjoy in the Alberni Valley and you definitely had the opportunity to enjoy some of the beauty of the surrounding area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
1.4 km away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
298 reviews
64.0 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,308 reviews
1.2 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
80.8 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.3 km away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
102 reviews
2.7 km away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Address: 4277 Stamp Avenue, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Price Range: RM482 - RM616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hayward, California
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room on the second floor was quiet and close to the ice machine”
102funfamily2014, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“book early especially in the summer. Port Alberni is in a high tourist area in the summer”
wsvandrlik, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Quiet floor facing the pool & parking lot”
toyshan, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“we had rooms on the 4th and 5th floors. Liked the king room on the 5th floor the best”
650SherryB, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The suite is worth a few extra dollars with a family.”
HockeyDad86, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$112* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$112
BestWestern.comUS$111
HotelQuicklyUS$138
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates