We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel Golden

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Hotel Golden
 Click to rate
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We rate hotel poor to average. Renovation done, but cheaply. If you want to compete in today's field , you will have to do better. Had the water run 10 minutes before water temperature was warm enough for shower. Floor is very cold, beds are strange, sheet of plywood under mattress?

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 963marilynw
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Its not plywood. Thanks for your feedback.

Manitoba Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

NANAIMO
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This is an older model motel currently undergoing renovation. It was clean and the beds comfortable. There is a small pool which is welcome after a long trip to soak and relax. However because of renovations no breakfast was offered. The room had a Window aircon heater which is old school, but because it, like most other hotels in Golden,...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACHIM B
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are working hard to finish all the upgrades and open the restaurant. I am constantly trying to improve all quality areas of our property and value all feedback from our guests. I hope to see you again soon. Thanks Pavi

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

My dad, my sister, and I stayed for one night here. The rooms decor was modern and the beds soft but otherwise the hotel wasn't that nice. It was a overpriced, the heater took forever to start, and the door to the balcony was broken. Honestly if it was twenty dollars cheaper I would have given it 4 stars but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fire-princess666
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are currently in a property wide re-model. We are trying to have all our changes completed and corrected by April 1st. I am value your feedback and hope to have all the issues you mentioned corrected and welcome you back once again. Thanks Pavi Khunkhun

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Me and kids loved the place I will definitely come back again for the price under 100$ a night and you are on 10-15 drive to the Kicking horse resort . Swimming pool and hot tub is excellent after a long day of skiing, if they only have CD player in the room so kids can watch movie but other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Igor V
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your Feedback. A CD/DVD is not a bad suggestion. I will look into this this and hope to have it in the rooms asap. Thanks Pavi Khunkhun

Reviewed 13 February 2017

Average hotel. Nothing spectacular but for the price we were happy. Beds & pillows were comfy, and the rooms were relatively clean. (One room had cigarettes and beer on the balcony from the previous tenant and room service neglected to clean this so that was kinda gross). Otherwise, easy check in, and was suitable for our quick weekend away when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle C
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. I do apologize for housekeeping missing the clean up on the balcony, this is not acceptable and I will have this issue addressed. We are still in the process of having our renovation completed and hope to have everything ready for March 2017. We hope to see you again. Thanks Pavi Khunkhun

Canmore
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Fantastic value. Well appointed rooms. Not the greatest location but offset by the price. The only ice machine on the property needs to be fixed. On two separate visits to the hotel it never worked (December 2016 & January 2017).

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KickingHorseSkiers
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry about the ice machine, because we are renovating part of the property is shut down and it happens to be in the area our ice machine is in. We are installing all new bathroom showers and tub as well as new toilets, sinks and all new fixtures. We hope to have all the...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

This place lives as a testament to what the end result is if you do everything as cheaply as possible. Towels like sandpaper, lukewarm water for bathing, a toilet which was all sweaty under the lid and stained yellow in the bowl, a coffeemaker in the bathroom, mattresses directly on homemade plywood platforms,drapes that are too small for the windows,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunny D
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. I am sorry there was nothing that satisfied you during your stay. We will again fix everything and spend more money. We will buy newer towels, increase the boiling capacity of the water for bathing, we will correct the problem of the sweaty lid and yellow bowl. We will move the coffeemaker. FYI the mattress...

Eckville
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We did not book at the Howard Johnston..we were booked at another hotel that was closed when we arrived at 11pm We were transferred to the Howard Johnson which was 86 $ more a night and the guy wouldn't give me an ama discount or let me use my Windham rewards card....I didn't have it with me but the other...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprilk670
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a negative experince at our property. At the time of your check in we only had specific units available. These units included the jacuzzi and family suites which are higher in rates. Other guest were charged the same rates, therefore it would not be fair to provide you with a lower rate because of a...

Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Upon arrival our room which was reserved was very cold. No heat running. It took over two hours for the room to be warm enough to take off our jackets and hats. Also no restaurant on breakfast available. Otherwise the room and stay was ok for the price

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottski80
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Sorry for the issues you faced during your stay. Staff did have a miscommunication and should have had your room heated prior to your arrival. I apologize for this mistake. The new tenants of the restaurant will be moving in soon and we will be launching an amazing new dining experience for our guests. I hope you please keep us...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
439 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
335 reviews
2.0 km away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
1.7 km away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Golden

Address: 1439 Lafontaine Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H3, Canada (Formerly Golden Village Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: RM274 - RM626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Village Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Golden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms in the back of the hotel office which are not facing the highway and are quieter and have a good view.”
stephengibson2016, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony so you don't have to sit on stairs to get fresh air”
GarynHeather, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“best views reasonable price”
officialkuljitgrewal, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“best views, clean room, friendly staff, very accomodating”
jillp699, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Great Views”
sharir10, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5