We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Sherwood Park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

If you like "Black Mold" this dump is for you! Absolutely filthy, tub did not drain, black mold everywhere, advised management, who said " how could this happen?" Floor was dirty, the bare minimum of house cleaning. One of the beds looked like it had been slept in, with the covers just pulled up. Mattress was so old, that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 4classic
Comox
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

I enjoy giving great Verviers where possible. This is not one of those times. The pictures on the site do not show what the rooms are like. The place is really run down. We stayed there one night and if all the places in town where not all ready booked we would have left. Sheets and b d looked like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane B

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Unless you absolutely have to, don't stay here! We should have clued in when we called in and the staff on duty was rude and unhelpful and then hung up on me. The room was okay on first appearance, but actually not maintained at all and quite gross. Worst shower I've ever had in a hotel.!! Beds creaked and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kinley88
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The name Econolodge implies affordable but we paid $160 to stay in a dump! Room was poorly lit to hide how dirty it was. Didn't have to look hard to find places that had never been cleaned. Beds had duvets with no covers (flat sheets laid over and under). Walls were paper thin. Hairdryer was broken. Toilet seat lid broke... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Beds were not cleaned! Reddish and brownish stains all over bed and pillows. Little hairs all over bed and tub. Room stunk and very loud. Didn't Get any sleep! Place is falling apart. Filthy. I would never come back and regret booking here. Bad customer service. Hostels are better quality than this place. No updates. Bed made me itchy.

Helpful?
Thank JY1981
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a very poor condition , it is an old run down hotel Rooms look very old also furniture is very old Pillows very bad quality so as mattress Free breakfast is very bad just waffles bread and butter No lift in this hotel which is just 1 floors Pls avoid this hotel at any cost owner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnson W
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Within walking distance of everything in Golden. Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Staff all very friendly and recommended places to eat in the area and provided us a map of the area. Hotel is opposite shops if you need to pick up any food or alcohol, good place to stay with clean and comfortable rooms.

Helpful?
Thank LisaCarson1988
Econo L, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are very pleased to know that you were satisfied with your stay at the hotel. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel. More 

Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

It wasn't overly noisy. Coffee pot hadn't been cleaned and there was still some nasty coffee in it and the little coffee bag thing too. Batteries were dead in the tv remote. Other than that the room wasn't terrible but was mediocre at best. Free breakfast was cold waffles that needed to be toasted and some cereal with some couple... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy_HD
Econo L, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to know that you were not satisfied with our service and stay at the hotel. I would like to assure you that your feedback has been passed to the relevant department and the action plan has been put in place to address the issues you have raised. Best wishes. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Great location in a great town. Staff were friendly, rates were cheap, room was clean. Very very basic rooms. No fridge or microwave so keep that in mind. Good enough for Golden since you shouldn't really be spending time indoors around there anyway. Enjoy the mountains!

Helpful?
Thank Luke S
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night here with a tour and one night was more than enough. The rooms were of a decent size and the air conditioning worked well, though very loudly. The shower did not look clean and our toilet was broken (kept constantly flushing so you couldn't actually flush it properly) although this was promptly fixed. The key cards often... More 

Helpful?
Thank VanessaN17
Econo L, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience occurred. We investigating on the issues you have mentioned and will be fixing it soon. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us. More 

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.7 km away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
1.7 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
423 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.7 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
326 reviews
5.3 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 915 10th Ave N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Golden Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: RM263 - RM482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Canada, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Golden Hotel Golden
Golden Travel Lodge
Golden Travelodge
Travel Lodge Golden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would think there are no good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles stone47, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here. It is filthy regardless of the sweet people running the front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles 49Patti, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms maybe in better shape”
 of 5 bubbles DONNAD878, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A room in another hotel would be your best bet”
 of 5 bubbles B4168FCchrisv, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the building have views of the mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles KatieDev92, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay