We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copper Horse Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Copper Horse Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2016

My initial impression was that we were getting more than we had paid for: Hot tub, breakfast included, big room with two single beds. Turns out it was priced just about right. This was a summer visit for a bachelor party held in a nearby rental house, but a friend and I decided we needed a safe place to escape...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Requin411
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I was really disappointed during our recent stay at Copper Horse. The room had not been cleaned in some time, and there was no one on site to contact. They were running side by side lodges and were always at the property next door. It was a shame. It could have been lovely, but, there was so much dust in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jolee3363
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2016

This lodge is only a 15 minute drive from the town of Golden BC yet it is in another world. The air is clean and crisp, and once the morning clouds dissipate you are left with a stunning view of the rocky mountains. Accommodation was spacious and comfortable and included a continental style breakfast served in the lodge next door....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank can1getaway
calgary
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We reserved the deluxe suite---Yes it was a larger room, bathroom relatively modern, but overall---becoming tired. Hospitality was warm and friendly, but rarely available during our stay. Location was ideal--easy access to food and beverage , and situated close to the gondola lift. This Lodge felt the brunt of the ski/boarding crowd during the winter. Not as competitive with surrounding,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alan a
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Reviewed 11 August 2016

It was summer so a little slow to check in. The room was very large. The shower was very nice. Great view too. However there is a giant gap under the door. Luckily no one was in the hall to make noise, or listen to ours. Short walk to the lifts.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael T
Management response:

Hello, Thank you for your review and the comments you make. Feed back is important and we appreciate you taking time to highlight the points you have faced, good or bad. Thanks for staying with us and hope we see you again. Best regards, Dave Woodman.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Very early morning hours of Friday July 15, 2016. This is place is awful. I have never had an experience like this with a resort ever before. I have no idea how this place has the reviews they do have. We were driving home to Alberta from Vancouver Island and got caught in a heavy rainstorm through Kelowna. It didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank derekandkelsey
Management response:

Hi, I realize how frustrating this must have been for you and we are happy you were able to find accommodation. However, you have already written and condemned the Lodge for something they are not responsible for. While we accept criticism, good or bad when we are actually responsible for it, in this case we are not. Equally we are...

Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We were hoping for a luxury hotel and found that this missed the mark. Everything looked lovely at first glance: beautiful location, nice big room and bed, modern bathroom. We were however disappointed overall. The employee who checked us in was very helpful and accommodating, but that could not overcome the very uncomfortable bed, lack of pillows, and the problems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
Management response:

Hi, thank you for your review and the comments you have made where necessary are addressed. yes we are off the highway, being a ski lodge does put us 'up' the mountain and we do state we are at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, so apologies if you thought we were right in the town. Beds are normal hotel beds and...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The room was very large but basic, very thin towels and not many. We tried to call the front desk a couple of times but no one answered and we never did see any staff at all during our stay. When we booked our room it said a free breakfast was included in the price but there was no breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJA44
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for taking time to post a review, your comments are valuable and important to us. we are sorry that you found the room 'basic' and note your comment on the towels. We use hired linen and are trying to find a better quality of towel. Upon check in, you are given information regarding the lodge operation including...

Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

Felix made us feel welcomed, helpful all the time & friendly. The rooms are spacious, with fridge/kettle. Beautiful wooden building. Breakfast was a little disappointing but had enough to keep you going. Beautiful views around the building .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cazza H
Management response:

Hello, Thank you for your review and your comments are very much appreciated. Feedback is essential to ensure we are mindful of guests needs. Just to advise that Felix who was the previous owner has now moved on. Best regards, Dave Woodman.

British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We went with another couple and had a great time. It is a stunning ski lodge with a nice big fireplace, lots of wood decor, and comfy chairs to play board games. The rooms are lovely with soft beds, fresh linens, big bathrooms, and stunning views. Also, out back is a hot tub and downstairs is a nice little fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C W
Management response:

Hi, Finally is what you maybe thinking, apologies for the long delay in our response. Thank you for your review and kind comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, by the way, there is now plenty of snow! We look forward to seeing you again and may thanks for the review, it helps keep us on track. Best...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
4.7 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
4.9 km away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#6 of 19 in Golden
103 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#9 of 19 in Golden
128 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
0.9 km away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copper Horse Lodge, Kicking Horse Mountain Resort's only boutique hotel, offers an exceptional lodge experience including modern, spaciously appointed rooms and a delectable home-made breakfast for all guests. Located just steps away from the resort's gondola, the lodge is the ideal location for both winter and summer sports enthusiasts. Each of the 10 suites feature spa-like bathrooms, deluxe European-style featherbeds, plush down duvets and room essentials such as robes and hairdryers to make you feel at home. The lodge's deluxe suite is a perfect romantic retreat with a private Jacuzzi tub and over-sized living space. The main level of the lodge includes a guest lounge with wood burning fireplace, secure ski/boot room with boot warmers, access to private hot tub and ski memorabilia collected by lodge owner/operator, Olympic athlete and World Cup champion Felix Belczyk. Copper Horse Lodge also features an unparalleled mountain dining experience at the newly revamped Corks Restaurant. The carefully chosen, classically inspired menu is as refreshing and memorable as our stunning mountain backdrop. Copper Horse Lodge and Corks Restaurant is the perfect combination for intimate events including weddings, family gatherings and corporate retreats. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copper Horse Lodge

Address: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: RM594 - RM1,567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Horse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Copper Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Copper Horse Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“deluxe suite is their best offering.”
 of 5 bubbles alana301, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms face the mountain and others the valley, valley view would be better”
 of 5 bubbles JennB960, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The suite room with the hot tub is huge and romantic…a perfect honeymoon room. Many of the rooms have king sized bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Teri_McK, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Rear rooms you can open the drapes and see the slope conditions in your pjs”
 of 5 bubbles 733olgap, 19 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Room 9 is amazing with a large jet tub in the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Ramalamadingdong, 28 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay