We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 434: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
 Click to rate
Powell River, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

While there was no shower curtain when we arrived, we found the hotel to be well maintained, providing all amenities! The complementary breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh tasty choice. Perhaps some blueberry muffins or bigger muffins might be considered!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StayCalmTripOn
Calgary, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We toured quadra island and were really ready to relax when we got to the hotel. The room was large with a king bed, desk, wifi, etc. It more than met our expectations. After our rest, we visited relatives for an early thanksgiving dinner and returned to the hotel about 10pm. The next morning we enjoyed a fabulous free breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bemeyer
About Hotel's Favourite Review
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Best Western Austrian Chalet, it sounds like your weekend in Campbell River was pleasant with your tour of Quadra Island and a delicious Thanksgiving feast! We are glad we could add to your vacation with a comfortable stay! We are so glad that you enjoyed your breakfast, we have an amazing selection which...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

even in the winter, this place is gorgeous. amazing breakfast that included an omelette bar :) stay here! the staff are friendly, rooms are really nice, more of a home feel than straight hotel room, mini golf!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikemE9127AJ
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 out of 5 review! We have to agree that this location is spectacular year round with the ocean view! I am so happy to hear that you loved the made to order omelette which is a new edition to our complimentary breakfast! Thank you again for your review, we look forward to your next stay...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 6 days in January 2017. This has got to be the worst best western I have ever stayed in...and me and my husband have stayed in some pretty bad hotels prior to having kids. It is not a hotel in my opinion, but set up more like a motel as you access your room from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaRN
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Let me start by apologising for not exceeding your expectations with your overall stay. We will be discussing areas that needed to be improved with the service you experienced with housekeeping and retraining in some areas to ensure this does not happen again. During the cold snap that we had gone through we did look into heating issues that were...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 13 February 2017

After a workplace accident i had to drive from Nanaimo to CR to have a surgery.[ due to no surgeons working on the weekend thanks medical system]Any ways this hotel was very friendly and clean.When i awoke i was sooo hungry but could not drive so it was nice to be next to a pub for food.This place also has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 40Dean
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay here was for unfortunate circumstances but we are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review. Hopefully everything went well with your surgery! We are happy that your family enjoyed some of our amenities such as the pool while you received the rest you needed. It is great to hear that...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The staff was okay. They were pleasant but not all that friendly with the welcome home feel. Needed a room for six and the price was good. Pool was a bit outdated but they try to keep it clean. Bacon, egg and waffle for breakfast in a larger room. Standard fare.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GuyIn6A
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review about your stay with us at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We are happy you found the room to be suitable for your party of 6, we do offer a variety of room types that can accommodate 1 to 10 guests. We have recently moved our breakfast room over...

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2017

My wife and I rented a loft suite for one night while in town on business. We chose a loft suite because the Best Western overlooks Discovery Passage and Quadra Island. There was a full moon that night so we were not disappointed in our choice. The room was small and dated with a narrow staircase to two beds in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. I recall the full moon as well that evening and it was a stunning site from the hotel, the loft view would have been even better. We are glad you had a chance to enjoy the amenities such as pool and hot tub and are even happier to hear that our hot...

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed staying here. I appreciated the early morning continental breakfast, and the clean quiet rooms. Parking was a little scarce, but the staff was willing to accommodate any size vehicle that showed up. The in room wifi was a little slow, but it was there if I needed it. I would definitely recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank islandsweety76
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast offered and that even though parking was difficult the night of your stay, our staff was able to help you find an adequate spot. For guests that have...

Qualicum Beach, Canada
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Older property but appears to have been updated recently with modern furniture. Very comfortable bed and a great breakfast selection! We had a small suite which was convenient as I had to be out for meetings before my wife was ready to get up, so my getting dressed and ready did not disturb her. A pool is onsite but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William C
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you have more time on your next visit to use the pool and hot tub which are great amenities we have at the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and yes, for walking distance to restaurants it is just the pub located adjacent to...

Port McNeill, Canada
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Lovely hotel. Ocean views. Well laid out with great extra guest spaces in the grounds. Pub next door has awesome food . Easy parking close to room. Breakfast had everything you could want..loved he waffle maker with all the extras to put on it😀

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmt53
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much as well as Freddie's Pub located beside us. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the hot fresh waffle is one of our favourites as well. Thank you again for your review and please let us know if we can help...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
243 reviews
3.1 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
291 reviews
0.0 km away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#6 of 16 in Campbell River
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
173 reviews
11.9 km away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
45 reviews
6.9 km away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Price Range: RM310 - RM523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Victoria, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try the free breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 40Dean, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The view of the water from the loft suites is well worth the extra charge.”
 of 5 bubbles tomwL1271GR, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor facing the ocean and despite the highway being there, it did not disturb us.”
 of 5 bubbles 176williamc, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we had a great view, very quite, A/C was not noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Ginas220, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles theworkingpoor, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5