We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Oaksmere

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Eye
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Oaksmere
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Oaksmere
See the most recent reviews
Showing 400: English reviews
Rochford
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on 6th May. The hotel is splendid from the outside and just as splendid within. The staff were great and our room (room 3) was wonderful with a jacuzzi bath in the bedroom and large separate shower room and extremely comfortable bed. We had a meal in the restaurant and thought the food ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L M
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Lm Thank you for your feedback on your visit and I'm pleased you enjoyed it on the whole. Come back and see us again soon. Best Wishes Paul Murfitt Operations Director

Mark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

A late arrival, down a dramatic tree lined driveway, a superb helpful receptionist showed us to a wonderful room in the oldest part of the building! Nothing was too much trouble! The bedroom was of a very high standard and with good equipment! A very comfortable night, beds and duvets excellent, the breakfast was lovely, more very friendly staff, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSMitchell2014
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi JSMitchell Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and its great you enjoyed it so much- come back and see us again soon. Best Wishes Paul Murfitt Operations Director

Wingfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Three ladies dining out on a Saturday evening looking forward to a drink and a special meal. Food was okay but not to the standard I expected for the cost. The chicken was dry and the vegetables luke warm. The garlic butter was solid and cold out of the fridge. I ordered the chocolate tart for desert. For £8.50 I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BDade
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Bdade Thank you for the feedback on your meal. We will look and our pricing and portion sizes on an on-going basis to make sure we're still competitive. Best Wishes Paul Murfitt Operations Director

Stokesley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Julie's review is spot on. This poor girl did not know whether she was coming or going. She tried very hard, but there should have been a fall back plan when the other member of staff did not turn up. Otherwise a fair stay,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikehf2016
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Wonderful receptionist greeted our arrival and showed us personally to our room. Deluxe King room 6. It was fab! Family joined us for dinner in the hotel restaurant and that too was excellent. Retired for the night around 11.30 but unfortunately room 6 is above the bar and we were kept awake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Julie Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I'm pleased you enjoyed your room, food and service. On the Sunday we did indeed have someone not come in so the one team member did breakfast on her own, and as you acknowledge she did an excellent job despite being very busy. This is the first time this has...

London England
Reviewed 1 May 2016

A last min night away from London for a bit of R and R so we had nowhere particular in mind and The Oaksmere was one of the hotels that came up on a Google search and we are pleased we booked it. Our room (no.1) must be the biggest in the hotel - it was massive with all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Steve Thank you for your feedback on what is our biggest room, and indeed has amazing views above the topiary. We are indeed a young team with one notable exception (me) and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes Paul Murfitt Operations Director

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 30 April 2016

This is a beautiful old hotel set in lovely grounds that has been tastefully renovated and some rooms added externally to the main building. Work was just starting on the renovation of the walled kitchen garden when we stayed and if the work is to the same standard as that of the hotel it will be lovely and worth seeing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Annette Many thanks for your feedback on your visit and I'm pleased you really enjoyed it. Come and see us again soon. Best Wishes Paul Murfitt Operations Director

Lytham
Reviewed 27 April 2016

A great hotel with very friendly and welcoming staff upon arrival and interacting with the Reception. Rooms are of high quality , nice pub attached and food very good food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSL40
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi csl30 Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and I'm pleased you enjoyed our hospitality- come and see us again. best wishes Paul Murfitt Operations Director

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

I called The Oaksmere early today to book a table for my daughter's Birthday and ask if they would be so kind as to present her pudding with a candle in it if we bought one along. We arrived and I handed it secretly to a member of staff. As the desserts were served, no candle or mention of her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LYBLOGGER
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Lucyglee Apologies if we didn't put the candle in a dessert , I hope the food and service were good and that we tried to look after your table , and that the cake with a candle we supplied without charge went some way to make amends. best wishes Paul Murfitt Operations Director

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Really disappointed. We were looking forward to a lovely evening out. It started off well in the Cocktail Bar until we were over-run with kids on a Rugby Tour! We moved through to the restaurant where my starter was good but quite gritty and my main was so stodgy, I just couldn't finish it. All the time, at the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beckybarracl0ugh
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Becky We did indeed have a junior rugby team in that night celebrating, being under 18 and with their parents they didn't seem too raucous and were in our family play area outside most of the night. I apologise however if they affected your experience but its not a regular thing so rest assured they probably won't be in...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eye
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
32.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.1 km away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
887 reviews
35.2 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
30.8 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Food & drink at the hotel
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have ten distinctive boutique style bedrooms waiting to be discovered, luxuriated in and enjoyed. Our elegant rooms are individually designed and fabulously equipped. You'll find generous Hypnos beds, Nespresso coffee machines, large SkyHD televisions and even digital audio systems that will play your own music. Relax with a selection of Elemis cosmetics, super-soft bathrobes and fluffy towels. At The Oaksmere many of our boutique hotel rooms have impressive whirlpool baths, some sited in the bedrooms. You'll also be treated to large rain head showers with plenty of space to splash. It's somewhat unexpected for an old listed building, which is why we've gone to such lengths to make your stay with us a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oaksmere

Address: Rectory Road | Brome, Eye IP23 8AJ, England (Formerly Cornwallis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eye
Price Range: RM523 - RM1,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaksmere 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Oaksmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwallis Hotel Brome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oaksmere staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Oaksmere staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room are great, stayed in most”
 of 5 bubbles nicholase851, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great but room 3 I am told has a large jacuzzi bath by the window.”
 of 5 bubbles janecG9153DK, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a quiet room that is not above the bar, perhaps at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sls871, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 is the best in my opinion, however all the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles kiki327, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't rely on a sat-nav, take a map, then when the M25 is at a standstill you won't miss dinner”
 of 5 bubbles 143annemaries, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay