We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Country Squire Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Country Squire Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Country Squire Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 517: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2014

This is perhaps the most difficult review I've done for TripAdvisor. This Best Western is in transition, with parts being original 1960's and part fully refurbished, so it's difficult to form a clear single impression. For travellers of my vintage, there is an air of nostalgia from a 60's/70's motel that reminds me warmly of travels with my family growing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger H
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have been doing renovation through out the hotel. Last year we renovated some of the bathrooms, and the front lobby. We hope that you will stay with us again, so that you can see the positive changes that we are trying to make to the hotel.

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2014

i stay in this hotel 2 nights very impressed room was very clean and upgraded.very quiet and clean aera well maintain 2 pools and staff was very friendly and breakfast was fantastic. our room back doors was facing to outdoor pool it was lovely view and there's indoor squash court and basket ball court omg. if someone in this area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnran r
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff is friendly. We hope that you get a chance to stay with us again.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2014

We stayed here as an over-night stop during a long trip from Georgia, it was our last stop before reaching home. During our trip we, as Best Western members, tried to stay at as many Best Westerns as possible, and believe me some of them were very nice. This poor excuse for a hotel should never be advertising under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val065
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do want to ensure you that we take every compaint seriously and try to fix the problem or resolve the issue. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again, so that we can...

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We booked one night on a travel journey so it was only an overnight stop. The doors are flimsy, and the windows did not seem safe in terms of security. The beds were hard and the bedding was thin. There were no extra pillows or blankets. It was cold. The positives were that the bathrooms have been renovated and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank abbynsg
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize for you having a disappointing stay with us. Be rest assured that we take all the comments that we get and try to do our best at solving all issues. We hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2014

The bed was excellent, the room was ok, breakfast was terrible. It is well located in Guananaque, Ontario, walking distance from downtown.There's other places with better service in general for a comparable budget. If you're looking for a complete experience this would not be the right place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia A
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am glade that you thought our beds are excellent and disappointed that you didn't like the breakfast or feel like it was the complete experience. I hope you will give us another chance to change your mind and stay with us again.

Reviewed 12 September 2014 via mobile

I had a delightful stay at the Best Western in Gananoque. The room was spacious, clean and inviting. The staff were courteous and friendly. The Breakfast was delicious, the sausages were to die for, and the waffels were warm and delicious, i would recommend this to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KanuckKyle
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. Our staff strives at giving excellent service to all our guest. I am glade that you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our room and breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Excellent staff in every area of the hotel, the Hotel itself is very tired and needs an update badly, and for what we paid it was quite expensive.. the room we had was very dark.. lights had to be on all the time, musty smell from the bathroom but it was clean, pool looked good, but the town of Gananogue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottishGrandmamo
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my apology. I know our property is a older property, but we are doing renovations in a lot of the areas in the hotel. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. I do hope that you will try to stay with us again so that we...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Me and my family went to this hotel it was an awesome experience it was an amazing trip. This trip will cherished in our memories. The service was awesome. The food was delicious. Everyone was very nice. You will get the nicest views from your windows. The pools are huge there is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanny K
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I am glade that you and your family had an amazing trip. I will pass on your positive comments to our staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We had booked our stay here back in Feb,2014 for arrival Aug 2,When we arrived at the hotel on Saturday evening, after facing a huge traffic problem in Toronto, we were given probably the worse room in the building. It was a second floor walk up over looking the scenic parking lot (we were booked to stay the entire week)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize for the way your vacation started at our hotel with the issues that you had with the room. I am glade that we were able WOW you with the room that faced the outdoor pool area. We hope that you come and visit us again!

Reviewed 4 September 2014

My family didn't like that motel, specially when we came back from Holiday Inn Express in Quebec and we found another Holiday Inn Express just next door. My suggestion......stay away from this motel and get in to the Holiday Inn Express next door. The price we paid for our room, we expected a much better room than that. It's pity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 402indranilb
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't enjoyable. As a Best Western Rewards Member you deserve to have a fantastic stay at our hotel and I do apologize that it wasn't what you expected.

489 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (338)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Cottage with Queen Bed (27)
Viewed
Honeymoon Suite (34)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (31)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (12)
Viewed
Regular Two Queen Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Two Double Exterior Room (21)
Viewed
Two Queen Room (Courtyard View) (29)
Viewed
Two Queen Room (Pool View) (29)
Viewed
Two Queen Room with Jet Tub (Pool View) (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.6 km away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
458 reviews
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
2.7 km away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
204 reviews
0.2 km away
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Price Range: RM301 - RM457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Country Squire Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Country Squire Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved our room that opened to the outdoor pool with porch and chairs”
  • extra pillows, cushy mattress, mini fridge, desk plus tables
  • love the garden paths to pool and breakfast room to the right
  • sliders open to porch and garden-like view
 of 5 bubbles stoway2, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't have the one opposite the swamp!”
 of 5 bubbles Margaret2466, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“choose cottage or a room that has a door to the outside near the outdoor pool or 2nd floor balcony is nice”
 of 5 bubbles 876aprilt, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stick to newer rooms”
 of 5 bubbles davidbQ5799VX, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like what you have, ask the staff. They will make it better.”
 of 5 bubbles June61992, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay