We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Smugglers Cove Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Smugglers Cove Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 267: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a travel-weary urbanite seeking a quiet place to work in peace for a few weeks, I called Smugglers Cove Inn and was intrigued by Eva’s warm, business-like, and distinctly European voice. Her willing answers to my questions convinced me that I would indeed find the comfort and efficiency that I needed. What I didn’t expect was the overtly appealing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dr V S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

No parking. Should have been noted that there is no ramp to get into the building. Owner was curt and rude when asking for help or more towels. Would not bring them after 9 pm. Bed was alright. Won't be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank stitchesandbows
SmugglersCoveInn, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. We actually have our own parking lot and at the time of your stay in January there was plenty of parking on the street as well. We do not have a ramp, but we never advertised with that feature. The way how you are describing our hotel is not our standard operating procedure. We... More 

Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We recently stayed here for two nights and found it comfortable. The only concern would be for people that don't like stairs. You need to climb 5 stairs to get in, and then the elevator has steps right outside of it which I thought was odd. The rooms for comfortable and the location is great. The Internet is also quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We absolutely enjoyed our stay in Lunenburg. We stayed in a really nice room with a wonderful view to the town and the waterfront. We had a little balcony where we could watch the sunset. The room was really clean and the staff was very polite and helpful. We can recommend this hotel to everybody and will be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Mia B
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Another great trip. Eva was cordial as always. Great value, clean neat, and more than acceptable. I was also able to receive my hometown news station on the television. On-site restaurant needs some love however.

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We found this hotel to be centrally located, clean and comfortable, with a view of the harbour and main street, and within easy walking distance to many major attractions. Registration was courteous and efficient. Guests each receive $3.00 value coupons for breakfast in the attached restaurant but we didn't have time to use ours, so we can't comment on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jplusg
Finland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed two nights in this small hotel right in the middle of Lunenburg Old Town. Building apparently old too, but in good shape. Rooms cosy and functional. Pricing is very reasonable and it is no luxury, but functional and good value. Except the beds which were just excellent. Not basic hotel quality but really high quality. On our 7... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaatinen
Tagish, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Charming! Located in the center of town on a main drag. Very quiet, With plenty of restaurant choices , book stores & boutiques. Our room was huge, abit more than we needed, it had a full kitchen for longer stays. Our friend had a very small room as compared, but very clean and comfortable as well. The owner is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mitchyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This hotel was very charming, the room was amazing, loved the whiskey barrel key chain holders, the registration was fast and very courteous. I was worried about going to this hotel with my mom who has issues with stairs but they had an elevator to the third floor and from my bed I watched the sunrise over the neighbouring buildings,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Loved our time spent in this Inn. Instant feeling of comfort and in a perfect location to enjoy all Lunenburg has to offer. Only spent one night but definitely want to return for longer stay. Shopping, restaurants, waterfront right at your fingertips.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.3 km away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
202 reviews
0.2 km away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
291 reviews
1.0 km away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#5 of 6 in Lunenburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
0.1 km away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#6 of 25 in Lunenburg
226 reviews
1.3 km away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Price Range: RM367 - RM567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smugglers Cove Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Smugglers Cove Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for waterfront view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front room had a view of the harbour and main street”
 of 5 bubbles Jplusg, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“do not eat the breakfast next door, there are other places to go”
 of 5 bubbles alexmac131, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have views, others have balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles Ldepath, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Water view for an extra charge”
 of 5 bubbles vidtrans, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay