We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Big Horn Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grande Cache
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Big Horn Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Stony Plain, Alberta
Reviewed 8 July 2016

This is an old place so don't expect The Ritz. The rooms are very clean and they keep them well but they show their age. The shower is good and the bed comfortable, great place for a nights sleep. The staff are friendly and courteous. We stay here once or twice a year.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen R
Edson, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Rooms were cheap and service was great, had no problems. Much better then when I stayed 5 years ago, rooms and restaurant and bar have been completely renovated. Wasn't expecting much for a small town but for the price you can't go wrong. Restaurant and bar both within a 20 second walk which was awesome cause of the cold!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edson12
bighorninn, switchboard at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

thanks for the review, for new customers wanting to book a room please call us at #780-827-3744

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. We were provided with a nonsmoking room, but clearly for the smell in the room, and for what remained on our clothing when we left the room, it was not. The gentleman who checked us in was not friendly and it almost seemed like it was an convenience for us to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Runner1984
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Many racers came early on Wednesday and Thursday and were happy to use the extra nights not used for training free of charge and we even offered guests an extended stay for the prepaid death race training package. We had no complaints at the time about the non-smoking issue or else we could have transferred to another available room. Thank-you...

Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

The owner(s) of the motel were very friendly. We checked in around 8:15pm and the lady at the front desk was very nice! We traveled with a group of 5 people and one of the group members happened to leave her purse in the last town that we had stopped at. We were scrambling around trying to locate her purse....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica2016
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Im sorry the restaurant does not offer a cheap continental breakfast included. We have a restaurant on site which offers large muffins from Costco and they do offer fruit bowls and cold cereal. The rooms have been updated and are maintained. Thank-you.

Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed here for work and there was stains on my sheets, which I removed and a hole in the bathroom door that had some gross stuff around it. The bathroom also smelt mouldy. Service was friendly, and location couldn't be better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pipefitter420
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

We inspect all the rooms yearly and fix them. Sorry not from Tripadvisor. Thank-you.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2012

It was just good luck coming from bad luck that we ended up at the Big Horn Inn during the Death Race weekend. This is an old hotel that is being updated. The best update was the family who now owns and runs it. They were so friendly and you can tell family and customers are everything to them. Every...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Debbie S
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Death Race reservations begin February, its good to book early but the hotels always have cancellations during crunch time. Hope to see you again Debbie and family, and future racers. Go Death Racer!

Reviewed 18 June 2012

After reading reviews we decided to stay here but were very disappointed. The rooms were clean but poorly maintained and not updated. The shower stall was broken and the caulking around the tub was nearly black and peeling. The beds, blankets and pillows were old. There was a nice modern coffee maker and microwave and the fridge worked though the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paintedmom
bighorninn, Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Front desk may have accidentally given you a smoking room currently reserved for industry workers and under repair. We have king suites in our second non-smoking building. We do have queen rooms however, for the travelling public which may have been full, and after reading your review, will prompt us to install new queen beds and coverings. New fridge and...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The rate was very inexpensive at 80.00...but the rooms are extremely dated. The wireless internet didn't extend to my room. No Kleenex in room either which I noticed as I had a cold. Having said that the room was clean and quiet, and as a place to sleep on a trip it fit the bill. There is no pool or...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bman67
bighorninn, Front Office Manager at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

Our rooms have standard amenities, such as fridges, microwaves, coffee makers, telephones, and yes kleenex too. All for the same price. I am on site at the front office and could have brought the kleenex to your room and help you connect with the internet. No problems there. Our rooms have new beds and new carpets. The bathrooms however do...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Grande Cache is a nice stop for in between trips to northern BC and Alaska. I tried the other indoor type hotels before and wasnt too happy. This one made me happy because I could park in front of the room and keep an eye on my vehicle and valuables. The rooms were well maintained. The owners were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank trippedout321
bighorninn, switchboard at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

thanks for the review, for new customers wanting to book a room please call us at #780-827-3744

Rigmaster
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I checked the accommodation directory for alberta and this motel was approved,reasonable price and had a restaurant and lounge with free wireless, i had a lap top for work and the free wireless actually worked at this motel.

 Report
Helpful?
18Thank Rigmaster
bighorninn, switchboard at Big Horn Inn, responded to this review

thanks for the review, For new customers wanting to book a room please call us at #780-827-3744.

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grande Cache hotels
1.5 km away
Misty Mountain Apartments and Suites
1.1 km away
Days Hotel & Suites Grande Cache
1.1 km away
Grande Mountain Lodge
Grande Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grande Cache
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Acorn Motel
Acorn Motel
#3 of 6 in Grande Cache
14 reviews
1.1 km away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#5 of 6 in Grande Cache
16 reviews
1.6 km away
HD View Bed & Breakfast
HD View Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Grande Cache
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
30 Upgraded ground floor suites. 7 Second floor with mountain view. King/Queen beds. Family Restaurant and Sports Lounge on site. Kitchenettes available. High speed internet. 32 Inch flat screens tv's. Area 780 pref 827 code 3744. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Big Horn Inn

Address: 100 | 10019, Grande Cache, Alberta T0E0Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Grande Cache
Price Range: RM335 - RM369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Big Horn Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?