We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Cannot find a single fault! Beautiful old building, well maintained, modern bathrooms, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast. Brilliant all round. What makes it really stand out are the wonderful staff, they couldn't have been more helpful. Congrats on your excellent team and many thanks for a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meguro212
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and I will certainly pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked by my son for 2 nights for his wedding up the road at Russets Country House we stayed in The King Suite. Once you're over the quirky history of the place ( I live in a listed property) you soon realise it doesn't live up to its 5* status. 2010 it won its best hotel and I believe it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evie32013
UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night here. Room we had wasn't huge, but room enough for the two of us. A good bathroom with great shower. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice of cooked options as well fruit, cereals etc. Very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RicMH
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you very much for your very kind review and so pleased you had a great stay with us.

Thundersley, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

After reading the reviews I booked the Crown Inn for a stay last Saturday and how glad I was. My wife and I arrived at about 3.00pm and were shown to our lovely room (The Tudor Parlour) by Victor, the most helpful nice barman you could ask for. We then had a lovely ploughmans lunch with a couple of beers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewP321
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Such kind words, thank you so very much and I will certainly pass your comments on to the team.

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Stopped a night on a business trip, and instantly regret that I didn't arrive earlier that day. Like the role model for a querky, charming 1400-century building. Well maintained but with all the character left. Stunning place. Was not dissapointed over the menue or quality of food either. A good varied menue from fish & chips to more fine dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrik U
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review and such a kind one at that. We look forward to welcoming you back and your family.

Tadworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Had a very pleasant one night stay at the crown,the room was very clean and had a cosey feel to it. I had a room at the back of the hotel so was very quiet,woke sunday morning to the sound of the church bells which was very pleasant. Staff very obliging and the full english breakfast was spot on. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raybird69er
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review and a very kind one at that. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Reviewed 18 February 2017

We stayed here for our anniversary, and we weren't disappointed by either the accommodation or the quality of food in the dinning hall. The hotel wears its history on its sleeve, but manages to provide the luxury touches you want for a special occasion. Staff are welcoming without being obtrusive and service is quietly considerate. We would recommend the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and so pleased you had a wonderful experience with us on your anniversary.

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Had to book this last minute because the original hotel let us down. They were very helpful right from the start. If you love old interesting places to stay, this is great. Beds are comfortable, rooms good with all you need. Staff were helpful, it has a lovely atmosphere and the food was good too. Breakfast was included and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lou, Thank you very much for your kind review and so pleased we could help you out at the last minute.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

This is a fabulous old-school inn set in the heart of a most picturesque village. Good stopping off point for south coast or destination in its own right. Great range of beers, fine menu, decent wine list without being silly, warm ambience, used by passing trade as well as locals. Building of enormous character, antiques and fine linen in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missmadrigal
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fabulous review and we are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I booked this blind, having never stayed here before - sometimes this can work, sometimes not, this time it definitely worked. Lovely old building, nice large Bar area with a very welcoming roaring fire at this time of year. I was greeted at reception promptly, and shown straight to my room, which was of a good size, clean, very clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard785
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Hi Richard, We are so pleased you booked this blind and had a fabulous stay with us and hope you are back in the area soon. Thank you again.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
4.6 km away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,025 reviews
6.0 km away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
473 reviews
9.4 km away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
423 reviews
10.0 km away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
8.6 km away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An idyllic country Inn nestled in the corner of the picturesque Chiddingfold village green. Olde world charm sympathetically blended with sophisticated & contemporary decor to create 8 exquisite bedrooms. A cosy bar with inglenook fireplace and restaurant serving both à la carte and bar menus. Delicious food and a warm friendly atmosphere, the perfect place to totally relax. The Crown is an AA 5 Star Inn which has been recently awarded Highly Commended status. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Green, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Price Range: RM518 - RM958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Chiddingfold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tudor Palour room 14”
AndrewP321, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of hotel”
raybird69er, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book to avoid disappointment for dinner!”
MissHRaw, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for period room , and one not over bar or dinning area”
cclondon1988, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Tudor chamber is stunning”
Sashafox1969, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5