We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Haga Haga Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Haga Haga Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Haga Haga Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Growing up in East London, I wanted to have my man experience the traditional Transkei hotel - and this place is perfect. It's got that old-world charm that reminds you of an Agatha Christie novel, but has enough modern touches to remind you that you are, after all, in the 21st century. The service was excellent and everyone (including local...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma L
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Emma. Thank you soooooo much for the review. Sounds like you had a great break and so happy your had a wonderful anniversary. Our road is not the best at the moment, an onward struggle all the locals have with the great Kei Municipality. See you in summer!

Haga Haga
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Right on the rocky coastline just above East London stands a lovely country hotel at Haga Haga. Friends had recommended it to us, and after entering the very spacious and comfortable upstairs bedroom with its balcony overlooking the most beautiful sea and shore views, I knew I was going to enjoy my time there. Down to the beach we went...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A2608KXwendyt
Candice C, Guest Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Wendy. Wow....you have such a way with words. I've never seen such a well written review. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! So much detail. Anyone reading that can really feel what its like at Haga. A very special place indeed. See you back soon, hopefully longer next time. Best Wishes.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Whatever you do, don't even think of going to this awful place. On our arrival, we complained right away that the Cabanas looked like staff quarters that had been converted to guest accommodation for a quick buck. It was dreadful and even though we we went to management and ask to wait to speak to the owner/manager Neil Chemaly he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trumpethead
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review

Please don't lie and put things up on Trip Advisor regarding your stay which are not true. We have passed over your comments to our lawyer who will be in touch with you as this is slander. Firstly you were refunded when you left early. You were also asked if you wanted to move and you never came back to...

Haga Haga
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Great Location and Excellent value for money. Friendly staff and access to breach is ideal for young kids. Whether in self catering or hotel room, the hotel caters well for both choices. This was our first time to Haga Haga and we will definitely be back for some R & R ;-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quintin S
Haga Haga
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Haga Haga Hotel is situated right on the rocks where the waves break. The facilities and service match the location. It is a family-owner run hotel, and the atmosphere is sympathetic and warm. The facilities are in excellent condition.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N4877WAbenb
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful in the sense that you can literally walk into the sea from your room..it is that close! Lynn and the rest of the folks at the hotel were wonderful and friendly and accommodating. The supper (included in the price) is a three course meal -more than substantial and very tasty. Breakfast is a great variety. Pity...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E-Nobody
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 11 July 2016

After 14 years we were fortunate to return to The Haga Haga Hotel. It remains a great, family friendly destination. Efficient staff and good old fashion service. In short, it is still one of the best kept secrets on the coast!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iane437
Kei Mouth, South Africa
Reviewed 10 July 2016

This hotel has been managed/owned by the current owners since 1974 and one can see they know the area well. The staff seem to be pretty happy which is always good to see.The view from our room and, as far as I know most rooms, was absolutely great and being a keen birder the birds were also great around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denis G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Ive been coming to this hotel since birth with my folks on a regular basis. I left EL 15 years ago for the big city. Now I'm an adult and came back here for one night and it was amazing to have memories flash backs from my child hood and what fun it was to stay here. I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre84_13
Haga Haga
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We ( 4 adults) stayed in the newly renovated Luxury unit for 3 nights. Great view,lovely room. Staff very friendly and rooms,amenities of high standard and clean.Bar/Restaurant-quality of food and service very good. Overall good value for money- will definitely return to this Hotel at next opportunity. Thanks to the owners and staff for a memorable visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joachimt649

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haga Haga
29.2 km away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
363 reviews
10.6 km away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
400 reviews
14.3 km away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 km away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
14.2 km away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
305 reviews
15.3 km away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Haga Haga is a small village on the Eastern Cape wild coast of South Africa; safe, secure and crime free. Miles of endless beaches, great views and good food are all hallmarks of this enchanting resort. We offer hotel, bed & breakfast and self-catering accommodation all at very affordable rates. We offer excellent amenities for adults and children alike, including a pool & tennis court on the beach to compliment the sea-facing rooms. We offer a full English breakfast, a la carte or carvery in the evenings and don't miss out on our famous seafood extravaganza on Saturday evenings. If you want to escape, then Haga Haga is the perfect place for you and your family. Come and enjoy one of the best views along the Wild Coast...and you don't even need to get out of your bed to see the dolphins swimming past. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haga Haga Hotel

Address: 155 Mariners Way, Haga Haga 5272, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Haga Haga
Price Range: RM443 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haga Haga Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Haga Haga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haga Haga Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Haga Haga Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The terrace is a good venue to enjoy a cold beer”
 of 5 bubbles 40carlh, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All Rooms are Sea Facing.”
 of 5 bubbles johnrT9209XJ, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request a ground floor room facing the sea”
 of 5 bubbles farralvalo, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you like luxury ask for their newer cabanas or rooms on top level H or G.”
 of 5 bubbles clairedebruin2, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite - so much room for activities!”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5