We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,315: English reviews
Start your review of Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
 Click to rate
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had paid for two suites but the oceanfront suite was not available due to some guest overstaying. No effort was made to accommodate us as we were sent to a suite far from the ocean then moved the next day - except that they forgot to bring our bags to the new suite. Staff was less than sympathetic and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikcro77
Melbourne
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here recently with a couple of friends and had a good time. We had a ocean view trail suite and it was great. Views were as great and I liked how the room was separate to the main area. Room and bathroom are really lovely. Housekeeping was a bit poor though - eg. Putting new towels in room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thecookstravel
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Thecookstravel, thank you very much for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed the comfort and lay-out of your room. We offer a daily refresher in all our suites, but we only replenish the towels left in the tub, in order to conserve our precious water as much as...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went there on a Social Shopper coupon. At times you are treated like a second class of customer because you aren't paying full freight. Unfortunately our last trip which was #4 at this location may be our last as the experience in terms of check-in, noise, room service was not what you would expect from a facility that holds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Len M
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Len M, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. During our shoulder season, we are glad to offer different packages and discounts to our guests, including Social Shopper, our Stay for 3 pay for 2 deal on our one-bedroom suites, and so much more. We treat all our...

Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location and service are first rate. The views from our ocean front room were fantastic. The room was large, comfortable and clean. And how can you beat the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks and the evening sunsets. Also, location on the Pacific Trail is the perfect place for a morning run or walk. Finally, the food service,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edmond910
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Edmond910, thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments. We are thrilled your enjoyed your stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service in Fetch Restaurant, Chef David is an exceptional Chef and is very attentive to our guests. We hope to have the pleasure to be your hosts again soon,...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We first discovered Black Rock right after it opened and have been back at least once a year since. The staff are always friendly, the rooms are spacious and it doesn't get much better than the views from the resort. This time the resort was very busy as it was Spring Break but everything during our stay went smoothly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindz01
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lindz01, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and beautiful pictures from your stay. We are delighted that you selected Black Rock Oceanfront Resort again for your Ucluelet getaway. We cannot wait to have the pleasure to be your hosts again. Best Regards,

Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is very nice. We were there recently Feb 25 - 28th and enjoyed our stay. We booked through their website on what we thought was a book a suite for 3 nights and pay for 2, but found out when checking out that you actually have to call the hotel to make those arrangements. When I pointed out that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fifi2u2
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear fifi2u2, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed our resort. I would like to follow up with you directly regarding the billing issue upon your departure. I am available to your convenience. Sincerely,

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a couple of days. We stayed in one of the ocean veiw trail suites. I like that we can make meals in the suite. We had a great view. Went for dinner at the Fectch restaurant. We both had a excellent meal. Great sevice. Walked the Wild Pacific Trail one day, the next day we took a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Novassx
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Novassx, thank you very much for sharing your feedback and your wonderful pictures. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. Awaiting the pleasure to be your hosts again, Best Regards,

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Super nice! Stayed 3 nights in July and absolutely loved it. Great staff with very helpful and friendly approach to our queries. We had booked ahead via agent and voucher check in went without a glitch. Traveling as a family of 5 we got two adjoining rooms. Very spacious and quiet on the back side, sob unfortunately no view from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andersen-71
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Andersen-71, thank you so much for your lovely comments; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. Surrounded by the Wild Pacific Trail and the rugged rocky coast of West Vancouver Island, Ucluelet is the ideal destination for beginner and expert hikers. We hope to have the pleasure to be your hosts again soon, Regards,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I made a decision to host our West Coast wedding at the Black Rock after we had a poor experience with other properties in the area and we couldn't have been more pleased. From the initial point of contact right up to the final call at the reception, all of our needs were well taken care of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystin S
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Krystin S, thank you for selecting Black Rock Oceanfront Resort for your wedding destination! We are delighted your special event was a success. The breathtaking natural beauty and chic luxury of Black Rock Oceanfront Resort creates an extraordinary destination for your dream wedding on Vancouver Island’s breathtaking West Coast. We have passed along your lovely comments to Jenna, Sales...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always a great place to stay. Pets are welcome but should have designated areas for them. Our room smelled like a dog and I'm sure it had slept on the bed covers. Picked up a few dog hairs as well from couch and carpet. Can't blame staff. Even the most thorough cleaning can't get rid of it. So maybe no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nell A
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nell A, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. We are delighted to be your favorite peaceful gateway. Half of our units are allergies free, and the other half are pet friendly. We will be sure to put you in a pet free room upon your next stay,...

891 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (886)
Viewed
View from Room (135)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (196)
Viewed
Bathroom (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (268)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
32.5 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
33.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
29.8 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
998 reviews
29.7 km away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
1.1 km away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Fetch Restaurant
Fetch Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Price Range: RM615 - RM1,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Travelocity so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Rock Oceanfront Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Black Rock Oceanfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“anything oceanfront if you can get it”
 of 5 bubbles mikcro77, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the upper floor as noisy clients can be heard above. Trust me!”
 of 5 bubbles 919lenm, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a pet free room.”
 of 5 bubbles 202nella, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“in the off season you should be able to get an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles shortyk57, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front one bedroom suites have amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles Ruveens_Reservations, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5