We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Booking.comUS$204*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,326: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was here for a wedding, and the wedding was simply elegant. The hotel seemed to provide everything that was needed, and the day went off without a snag. I only booked one night at the hotel, and couldn't actually check in until the ceremony had passed. I was able to leave my things and get ready with the bride,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank abarford
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear abarford, thank you very much for sharing your feedback from your stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed the wedding and our beautiful location. Check-in is guarantee for 4pm, but we do our very best to accommodate our guests who wishes to arrive earlier. We hope to have the lovely pleasure to be your hosts...

Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had paid for two suites but the oceanfront suite was not available due to some guest overstaying. No effort was made to accommodate us as we were sent to a suite far from the ocean then moved the next day - except that they forgot to bring our bags to the new suite. Staff was less than sympathetic and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mikcro77
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear mikcro77, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. I invite you to contact me directly in order to address these issues. We welcome hundreds of guests daily, and be assured that we thrive on offering our guests with a memorable experience. We hope to have the pleasure to...

Melbourne
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here recently with a couple of friends and had a good time. We had a ocean view trail suite and it was great. Views were as great and I liked how the room was separate to the main area. Room and bathroom are really lovely. Housekeeping was a bit poor though - eg. Putting new towels in room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thecookstravel
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Thecookstravel, thank you very much for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed the comfort and lay-out of your room. We offer a daily refresher in all our suites, but we only replenish the towels left in the tub, in order to conserve our precious water as much as...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We went there on a Social Shopper coupon. At times you are treated like a second class of customer because you aren't paying full freight. Unfortunately our last trip which was #4 at this location may be our last as the experience in terms of check-in, noise, room service was not what you would expect from a facility that holds...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Len M
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Len M, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. During our shoulder season, we are glad to offer different packages and discounts to our guests, including Social Shopper, our Stay for 3 pay for 2 deal on our one-bedroom suites, and so much more. We treat all our...

Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Location and service are first rate. The views from our ocean front room were fantastic. The room was large, comfortable and clean. And how can you beat the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks and the evening sunsets. Also, location on the Pacific Trail is the perfect place for a morning run or walk. Finally, the food service,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edmond910
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Edmond910, thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments. We are thrilled your enjoyed your stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service in Fetch Restaurant, Chef David is an exceptional Chef and is very attentive to our guests. We hope to have the pleasure to be your hosts again soon,...

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We first discovered Black Rock right after it opened and have been back at least once a year since. The staff are always friendly, the rooms are spacious and it doesn't get much better than the views from the resort. This time the resort was very busy as it was Spring Break but everything during our stay went smoothly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindz01
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lindz01, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and beautiful pictures from your stay. We are delighted that you selected Black Rock Oceanfront Resort again for your Ucluelet getaway. We cannot wait to have the pleasure to be your hosts again. Best Regards,

Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Hotel is very nice. We were there recently Feb 25 - 28th and enjoyed our stay. We booked through their website on what we thought was a book a suite for 3 nights and pay for 2, but found out when checking out that you actually have to call the hotel to make those arrangements. When I pointed out that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fifi2u2
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear fifi2u2, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed our resort. I would like to follow up with you directly regarding the billing issue upon your departure. I am available to your convenience. Sincerely,

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We went for a couple of days. We stayed in one of the ocean veiw trail suites. I like that we can make meals in the suite. We had a great view. Went for dinner at the Fectch restaurant. We both had a excellent meal. Great sevice. Walked the Wild Pacific Trail one day, the next day we took a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Novassx
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Novassx, thank you very much for sharing your feedback and your wonderful pictures. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. Awaiting the pleasure to be your hosts again, Best Regards,

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Super nice! Stayed 3 nights in July and absolutely loved it. Great staff with very helpful and friendly approach to our queries. We had booked ahead via agent and voucher check in went without a glitch. Traveling as a family of 5 we got two adjoining rooms. Very spacious and quiet on the back side, sob unfortunately no view from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andersen-71
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Andersen-71, thank you so much for your lovely comments; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort. Surrounded by the Wild Pacific Trail and the rugged rocky coast of West Vancouver Island, Ucluelet is the ideal destination for beginner and expert hikers. We hope to have the pleasure to be your hosts again soon, Regards,

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I made a decision to host our West Coast wedding at the Black Rock after we had a poor experience with other properties in the area and we couldn't have been more pleased. From the initial point of contact right up to the final call at the reception, all of our needs were well taken care of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystin S
Catherine A, Director of Operations at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Krystin S, thank you for selecting Black Rock Oceanfront Resort for your wedding destination! We are delighted your special event was a success. The breathtaking natural beauty and chic luxury of Black Rock Oceanfront Resort creates an extraordinary destination for your dream wedding on Vancouver Island’s breathtaking West Coast. We have passed along your lovely comments to Jenna, Sales...

894 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (889)
Viewed
Bathroom (80)
Viewed
View from Room (135)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (196)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (271)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
32.5 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
33.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
29.8 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
29.7 km away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
1.1 km away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Fetch Restaurant
Fetch Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Price Range: RM683 - RM1,386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Rock Oceanfront Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Black Rock Oceanfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor and trail rooms offer a great ocean view”
niccibee, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We got a great room, I have no idea how.”
abarford, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“anything oceanfront if you can get it”
mikcro77, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the upper floor as noisy clients can be heard above. Trust me!”
919lenm, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a pet free room.”
202nella, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$204* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$204
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates