We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thornton Motel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Thornton Motel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Thornton Motel
 Click to rate
No where
Reviewed 1 week ago

No heat in our room. Belligerent customer service if booked online. Great location and very clean but also the suites are in the "old" building and therefore minimal. Comfy beds.... no toilet paper holder and $210/night after being quoted $374 on booking.com And do your own dishes while you freeze... and don't expect your complaints to be heeded. The breaker...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahtP3492MH
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We stumbled across this by chance and were very positively surprised. It was clean, newly renovated, plain, but comfortable and quiet. If you are looking for an economic option to spend the night, this is perfect. Bed was very comfortable and we liked the kitchenette including decent size fridge, microwave, cutlery, plates etc. Generous bathroom with nice tub. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tine M
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

2 adults and 2 kids. We were extremely happy with the room we stayed in. Large bed for wife and I. And a great pull out couch for the kids. Fridge was a nice touch but wasn't all that cold. But helped. We will definitely be staying again. Very friendly staff as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry K
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 March 2017

You will not be disappointed by staying at the Thornton. Absolutely no issues with regard to cleanliness, location, price, comfort, etc. The staff are terrific with special thanks to Jenna. The room also comes with a small fridge, coffee maker, toaster and microwave which is very convenient for making a cup of coffee or storage of breakfast or lunch foods....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul b
Management response:

Thank you for your positive feed back ! We appreciate all of our guests insight , and we're glad to here you've enjoyed your stay with us for your Ucluelet visit ! Warm regards, - Jenna

Lantzville, Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we needed dog friendly rooms. We were pleasantly surprised to find the rooms had been newly and completely refurbished! At the time of booking this was not obvious from the website so we were delighted. We had a room with a queen and a sofa bed. Additionally, there was a kitchenette with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This is a nice motel with great potential. The room I stayed in was very clean and spacious. The entire room was well laid out and newly renovated. It had a microwave, kettle, bar fridge and a couple cups. The one fault was no dresser as I really would have liked to unpack. I has potential to be much better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyGatt
Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Our room was clean and quiet. Just there for one night. Michael was a good host and was helpful for local knowledge. Again, only one day there so can't give a comprehensive review, but we were impressed with his eagerness to help. I'd stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 23 May 2016

With a BCAA discount one night in high season came to just over $111 for a well-appointed queen plus sofa-bed room with kitchenette in the new block of rentals of this First Nation owned business. The new central block offers slightly upscale appliances and fixtures, such as a larger capacity thermal coffee pot and individual room thermostats. Overall the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BroadenYrHorizons
Leduc, Canada
Reviewed 6 January 2016

As a family with 2 children we chose to stay in one of the "two bedroom suites" so we would have a kitchen. The suites are definitely older, sparsely furnished, but clean and functional. Unfortunately we had zero service, housekeeping did not come once in our 4 day stay. Ran out of coffee on day 2 and needed a change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
Monterossa
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This motel appears to be quite new, even has the new smell in the rooms which are very large though rather sparsely furnished for their size. Everything was very clean, very comfortable bed, fluffy towels and nice toiletries. There is a fridge, sink, microwave and a really good coffee machine with insulated pot which keeps coffee nice and hot. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenmac48

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
32.8 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 km away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.2 km away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#10 of 11 in Ucluelet
244 reviews
0.3 km away
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
#9 of 11 in Ucluelet
33 reviews
0.4 km away
Pacific Rim Motel
Pacific Rim Motel
#18 of 30 in Ucluelet
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
First Nations owned and operated, We are centrally located at the heart of Ucluelet! Just 20 minute drive from the beautiful endless sandy beaches of the Pacific Rim National Park. There is so much to explore here on the west coast of Vancouver Island and our Pet friendly rooms allow you and your four legged friend to optimize the experience. Our Premier new building features studio rooms and Economy friendly pricing! We have so much to offer! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thornton Motel

Address: 1861 Peninsula Rd | PO Box 490, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Price Range: RM297 - RM590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thornton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thornton Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose something else or be ready to ask alot of staff”
sarahtP3492MH, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the new section.”
S5714VOjohnh, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the central block of rooms and make sure you insist on the top floor for a harbour view.”
BroadenYrHorizons, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Offers free WiFi, but connection was non-existent in our building.”
KellyW459, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“ask to see (and smell) the room at the check-in”
dorinser, 3 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates