We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Road Lodge Airport Cape Town

Hotels.comUS$41*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$42*
US$41*
US$42*
US$42*
US$41*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Maseru, Lesotho
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Great place , grest price. The rooms though small were clean and air conditioned. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was buffet, limited choices but well prepared. It's conveniently located at the airport so ideal for those looking to catch early flights or arriving late. The wifi was free and had quite decent speeds.they have ano independent shuttle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lsn-rhm
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Isn-rhm, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Stayed at this hotel when we arrived late and didn't want to travel the N2. So convenient have booked again for September. Rooms a bit small but the convenience of the location makes up for it especially at the price (cheap). Good breakfast at a a very reasonable cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane316
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Diane316, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Stayed one night before departing Cape Town. No frills hotel -- hard mattress, small shower, very poor internet, limited food delivery options (no Mr. Delivery, only pizza as an option), doors shut very noisily, no shuttle service to the airport (35 RND for taxi one-way). Stay here if you need a place for a short night or a few hours....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carter H
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We hope to see you again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We flew into Cape Town very late (11pm arrival) and were leaving the next morning to drive to Hermanus (08h00 departure). This is a perfect overnight stay for a short trip like we did. Unfortunately you cannot walk from the airport to the hotel as they close the gate at 10pm, but we were lucky enough to find a gentleman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee-anne G
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review Lee-anne. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 16 June 2016

The advantage of this site is the proximity to the Airport. The rooms are clean and small. The bathroom is adequate with a single basin and small shower. Nothing other than the room is included in the price, expect to pay extra for breakfast. There are no cups, tea or coffee in the room as one would expect. Asking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eugeneduplessis
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your constructive review. While we believe that this hotel easily meets the standards of budget one-star accommodation, this does mean that some services and facilities available in higher grade establishments are not available at the one-star level. We will certainly consider the points you have raised as part of our ongoing evaluation...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 10 June 2016

If you need to stay near the airport, this is your spot! Clean, comfortable, friendly, affordable, and close! It's nothing fancy, but who needs fancy in an airport hotel? We had an excellent experience staying at the Road Lodge Airport hotel for one night. We flew into Cape Town from London and were leaving early the next morning to fly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review Melissa. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Had an early morning flight to the JHB in the morning going to USA so decided to fly in a day before and stay over well good choice as its nice and close actually walking distance to airport but being safe I booked a shuttle the next morning well saying that it was late and lucky I made my flight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Armand G
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Armand and we are so glad that you had a great time with us! We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel. We do apologise for the shuttle fetching you late - this is not our usual standard of excellence. We appreciate you making us aware of this so that we...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Very, very handy to Cape Town airport, with a BP next door. Reasonable fare, can get breakfast there or a more value for $$ one after plane checkin, but the bed we had was so hard and uncomfortable. We had a rental car and it was very easy and close to drop this after morning check out at Road Lodge,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diesel218795
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great time with us! We are happy that you found our location convenient and we apologise for the uncomfy beds that you stayed in - this is not our level of excellence and so we have taken this comment to heart to improve on this...

Bourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

This is cheap, but it is very basic, rooms are looking a bit dated and the hotel lacks amenities, however there is good wifi and is very close to the airport, albeit not in a particularly safe area. Staff were friendly and helpful, but would stay somewhere else next time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Aimee and we are glad that we were able to meet your needs! We apologise that you found the hotel lacking facilities and the area unsafe. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Swellendam, South Africa
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We arrived back on a late flight from Australia recently. we still had to drive another 230 kms to our home. as we were tired, we opted to stay over at Road Lodge. It was a good decision. The Lodge has secure parking & the reception is open 24 hours 7 days a week. The rooms are clean & the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seajay44
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great time with us! We are happy that you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel, and that you found our staff helpful - key components that we pride ourselves in. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goodwood
9.3 km away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
0.4 km away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
6.9 km away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The New National - Lodge & Conference
9.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
10.3 km away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated within the airport precinct, the 90-room Road Lodge Cape Town International Airport provides convenient budget accommodation for travellers arriving in and departing from the “Mother City”. Cape Town’s CBD is just minutes away via the nearby N2 motorway and the Western Cape’s winelands and other hinterland attractions are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Road Lodge Airport Cape Town

Address: Adjoining BP service and Filling Station. At Cape Town International Airport, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Goodwood
Price Range: RM188 - RM210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Airport Cape Town 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Road Lodge Airport Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Road Hotel Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Road Lodge Airport Cape Town staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
over a year ago
Cambridge, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Road Lodge Airport Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for 1st floor away from lifts”
42david42, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“don't choose room 3, would guess the higher up and further away from reception or the staircase is the best bet.”
tobes727, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I don't think it will make any difference what room you choose, this is a Budget hotel and they all look the same”
diantours, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Noisy because of the airport near by”
, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from main reception area as this may get noisy (we were at far outer rooms of hotel and it was quiet).”
FAR2002, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$41* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$42
TripAdvisorUS$41
Orbitz.comUS$41
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates