We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Prince of Wales Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

816 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Prince of Wales Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 795: English reviews
Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 August 2015

I loved staying here. It's an old historic hotel and I loved exploring all the areas, which is not something I would have done if we hadn't stayed over night. The hotel is a little tired and in need of more upkeep. I enjoy the historic aspect so much that I completely overlooked it's flaws. My traveling companions however did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julie h
Paris
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Almost no need to get out visit the Park (I said almost...) : in this hotel, you are part of the landscape and the history... magnificent spot, amazing views. you just feel like entering history...with some very little inconvenients : floors a bit cracking and long wait for the elevator...but if it's the price for a memorable stay....ask for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yanaparis
Lake Barrington
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We stayed for 2 nights on the 5th floor overlooking the gorgeous view! Our room was VERY small but it's the experience one looks for in this type of hotel. The bar was fun with wonderful service/cocktails and yummy food! The view throughout the first floor lobby and bar was beyond compare!! We would not stay overnight again due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peaker_11
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

We paid over 300$ per night for the worst room I have ever stayed in. Everything was tired and in need of replacement. You can just stop by and see the sights, but don't waste your money on staying here

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cwalter155
Glacier Park I, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi cwalter155, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Prince of Wales Hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed the sights of the Hotel, but sorry you were not happy with your room. It’s hard to get a clear picture of the specifics of your dissatisfaction. On behalf of the entire, we apologize for any shortcomings...

Wichita KS
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Go to this hotel for a drink and check out the amazing views but do not check into a room unless spending $270 a night for old mattresses, leaky ceilings in the bathrooms., no dresser or closet to put your clothes and an uncaring front desk staff is what you are looking for. We knew this was an old hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank luv2travelwichita18
Glacier Park I, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi luv2travelwichita18, thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay at Prince of Wales Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed the gorgeous views from the Hotel, although we are disappointed to hear the rest of your stay wasn’t as remarkable. We’re sorry you were dissatisfied with the maintenance of the room you stayed...

Seaside, Oregon
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

View was fantastic! Would have been nice to have a place to sit on the patio. Had a drink and some pulled pork poutine which were both delicious. Gift shop was the best priced of anywhere else in Waterton. Building needs some updating, especially in the lounge where we sat. Olivia, our server, was friendly and efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Niamh D
Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2015

You will feel as if you've stepped back a half a century when entering the lobby. This is a beautiful hotel in stunning surroundings. Older rooms with services fitting their day. There's not a lot of technology or modern conveniences, just plenty of old world charm. Try the restaurant, or if it's too busy, the bar/lounge for dinner (it's the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Talisker55
Minneapolis MN
Reviewed 15 August 2015

As others have written, this is an old national parks hotel so you need to set your expectations for that sort of experience. Meaning.....no TV, limited wifi/cell service, no AC, etc. It is an old historic relic full of charm from the early 1900's with an excellent staff. If you're into all of that, you'll love this place. Pros: outstanding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geomap
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of the month. The room was extremely small. Sink was in the room and was very shallow. Food in the main dining room was reasonably priced and cheaper than the price in town. View was nice. Front desk was not very welcoming maybe she had a bad day. Anyway not a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Everestgrp
uk
Reviewed 13 August 2015

This must be one of the most stunning locations for a hotel anywhere in the world and worth staying just for that, however don't expect any fancy mod-cons, no TV, internet poor and no lift beyond the 4th floor. The food was reasonable in the restaurant and bar and the breakfast was excellent. Built during the prohibition with little chance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shuttersstudio

553 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (549)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (182)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.8 km away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
339 reviews
0.7 km away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
451 reviews
0.9 km away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
205 reviews
1.3 km away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
168 reviews
1.0 km away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: RM745 - RM1,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Prince of Wales Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Calgary, Canada
3 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Prince of Wales Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best views, access to most beautiful hikes ever...and a setting for honeymooners..”
 of 5 bubbles vajeeda, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“6 floors- elevator only services first four floors”
 of 5 bubbles davida23, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors on front side have better views, but are also noisy when its windy.”
 of 5 bubbles A164FAmarkc, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The 5th and 6th floors require walking up stairs, elevator only goes to the 4th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Geminiwiners, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“DON'T STAY IN ROOM 609 or in any of the " value" rooms.”
  • Old iron bedstead. Squashed up against wall. No room for any bedside tables. Dark and dingy room
  • Room 609 There was only one electric point under bed. No room for any bedside table
  • Low tub with shower and yellowed faded curtains
  • Dingy dark and old fashioned bathroom
 of 5 bubbles kootenaylass, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay