We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grouse and Claret

Save
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (2)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good28%
  • Average20%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“caravan park”(9 reviews)
“scampi”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Grouse and Claret
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
157
145
105
73
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
157
145
105
73
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrotisserie chickencaravan parkscampimixed grillpeak districtnice lunchchain pubfamily roomstayed for one nightbiscuitsnight staylovely locationevening mealchatsworth housecooked to perfectionhaddon hallmarstons
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018

On our first visit (a Friday night) I came across a piece of hard plastic in my food! I mentioned this to our waitress and the Manager explained that the particular dish I had chosen was a 'microwavable' one and apologised profusely. He took the...More

Thank Ann D
Response from Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and ClaretResponded 4 March 2018

Hi Ann Thanks for your review am sorry about the slow service I wish you would have said something when I gave you your bill, However I am pleased you enjoyed your visit on the Sunday Night. We hope to see you again soon Regards...More

Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend 23-25 Feb. Campsite very overpriced at £25 night for toilets that were blocked all weekend and no hot water to wash your hands. The ladies shower door is totally unacceptable unless you don't care about your modesty. A wooden door with...More

1  Thank Beetlecab
Response from Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and ClaretResponded 4 March 2018

Hi Thanks for your review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us on the campsite we know the shower facilities need updating and we are in the process of getting quotes to get this done, as soon as we realised...More

Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

A great place to eat. Passed it many times but had opportunity to go in . Very nicely appointed. Food and drink selection was very good Helpful staff and great service. Will definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending it . Will investigate staying...More

Thank richard c
Response from Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and ClaretResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Richard, Thanks for the great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon Regards Paul, Tina and The Grouse and Claret Team

Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Served an overpriced not even average meal by scruffy unkempt staff. Some of the waiting staff were biting their fingernails and touching their hair which can't be hygienic. A male member of staff had a large split in his trousers. Meals were brought to table...More

Thank caroldr2016
Response from Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and ClaretResponded 17 February 2018

Hi thank you for the comments, a full meeting was done today to address these issues you've brought up on hygiene. A member of staff did rip his trousers that day. An embarrassing situation for him but it cant be helped unfortunately. Our Towels can...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Had a pleasant 3 night stay here. Breakfast was decent and reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and helpful when needed. Room contained everything we needed - good price, good location. Many Thanks.

Thank Leanne d
Response from Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and ClaretResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for the kind review. Ill pass the feedback onto the staff :-) Hope to see you again next time Kind Regards Adam

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
karl_fletcher1
30 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Paul and Tina D | Property representative |
Hi Check in is 2pm in the Hotel and 12pm on the Caravan Site Regards Paul D
0
Votes
Paul B
25 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from majorerka | Reviewed this property |
As far as I can remember no TV. But we are are big Owls fans too so I would phone the manager and check.
0
Votes
David F
24 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Paul and Tina D | Property representative |
Yes, dogs are welcome on our caravan site just not inside of restaurant or bar.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Did not stay in Hotel........just had lunch"
Read review
"We only had the chicken"
Read review
"Mac with pulled chicken"
Read review
"Order the chicken with sauce - delicious."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing