We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rodney Hotel

Expedia.comUS$71*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$85*
US$71*
US$85*
US$71*
US$74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rodney Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
Start your review of The Rodney Hotel
 Click to rate
Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a room for the night, The Rodney ticks many of the right boxes in that it is well located, clean, comfortable and functional. The room we had was a little on the small side, but overlooked the garden so it was quiet. Not exactly modern, but perfectly modern enough. We didn't use the bar so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Greatly Relaxed .lovely lighting , Period Hotel , Spotlessly Clean. High standard of Food . All rooms have the bonus of a refrigerator & mini Bar . Ideal location . Parking Issues with accommodation since not guaranteed a parking zone which can be quite stressful .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie100269
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Druce, I am so pleased you had a relaxing evening with us and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback on the cleanliness, my house keeping team work tirelessly to maintain high standards so it is lovely to be able to pass this on. Our location with in Clifton Village is ideal for any type of visit...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here twice in April as our sons wedding was held at No4 a part of the hotel. We cannot praise the staff enough for their attention to detail ensuring both of our stays and the wedding were both successful and memorable. Nothing was too much trouble for the extremely helpful reception staff. A special mention must go to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geb523
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geb523, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel, it was such a pleasure to have your family stay with us and for us to be able to shame in your son’s special day. David was so happy to be able to ease the stress of the build up and day in any way he...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a small Georgian House hotel in the area of Clifton Downs in Bristol which has plenty of character and charm. This is a very nice area of Bristol very close to the Clifton Suspension Bridge, also there are nice restaurants, cafes and bars. The one bedroom single room is very small but I knew this before booking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccopela
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mccopela, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and you liked the character and charm of the Rodney. We are so lucky with our proximity to the Suspension Bridge and our central location with in Clifton Village itself, it does make sight seeing very easy for our guests and the Village is lovely to...

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed for one night as visiting family in Clifton. The location is excellent, the parking facilities are a little on the poor side, but that seem to be the norm for Clifton hotels. The room was a little on the small side, but as it was only one night it was fine, i think if we were staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate the feedback. I am so pleased the location suited your needs and you were close to your family. I’m glad you were able to make the most of the parking we offer directly outside the hotel during your stay, we do appreciate parking is limited and hope that the...

Bristol
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bright single first floor room overlooking the gardens with ample drawers and storage facilities, plus fresh fruit and real tea and real coffee provided.As on previous occasions, all the staff met were ever cheerful and ever helpful. Restaurant maintains its high standards of quality and variety. The other asset The Rodney can provid is outside car parking at a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jubaBristol
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JubaBristol, Thank you for taking the time to review the Rodney, your feedback is greatly appreciated. As we are located in a Georgian property, we are extremely lucky to have beautiful large sash windows in many of our rooms, especially on the 1st floor. These, as you said, mean the rooms are all very light and airy and the...

Warwickshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect location and excellent value. But more than that, the hotel staff go to a lot of effort to give you a personal welcome and make you feel at home. Small details make a big difference so I give this a huge thumbs up. The only thing letting it down is there is no lift so lugging suitcases up the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teaza
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teaza, Thank you for such a lovely review! I am so pleased the Rodney fits your needs for your visits to Bristol. My team are a real credit to the hotel and they are all so passionate about the service they give. As a small hotel, it is easy for us to get to know our more regular guests...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner recently stayed at the hotel for her 30th Birthday! The hotel was perfectly placed for all the small boutique type shops and there were numerous little bars for the breaks inbetween shopping! The hotel was lovely and looked great from the outside, staff were lovely on arrival and I managed to get a parking space directly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and happy belated birthday to your partner. I am so pleased you enjoyed Clifton and all it has to offer, it is a lovely area of Bristol to explore and especially if you are after a relaxed weekend, with an abundance of pretty boutiques and coffee shops....

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

What a find a reasonably priced hotel right in the middle of Clifton village. Rooms can be little small but you still get good value for your money. Our room was excellent no 26 very light and airy. Breakfast was very good with a great selection. Evening meals where very highly standard and again excellent choice. The staff where so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian_c2013735
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian_ c2013735, Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we suited your needs. Clifton Village is such a beautiful area and we are very lucky to be located with in its heart. Room 26 is a lovely room on the...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Really pleased we stayed in Clifton on our Bristol trip, and for this the Rodney Hotel was perfect, right by the bus stop for catching the 8/9 from Templemeads, and you are right in the heart of Clifton amongst lovely cafes and restaurants. Clifton suspension bridge is only 5 minutes away, and multiple walks along the river. We also walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
RodneyManager, Manager at The Rodney Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate P, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and enjoyed all the Clifton has to offer. Our location is such a central one, that it makes exploring not only the village but also the city center and surround areas really easy. As a lot of our past reviews have stated, parking can be a little tricky in...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.9 km away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
545 reviews
0.3 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
509 reviews
0.8 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 37 in Bristol
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
905 reviews
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#34 of 37 in Bristol
648 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rodney Hotel is located in the idyllic Clifton Village in Bristol. An elegant and charming hotel with stylish and comfortable room and excellent service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rodney Hotel

Address: 4 Rodney Place | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: RM300 - RM667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rodney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Rodney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodney Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rodney Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Rodney Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms are quite small”
mccopela, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“downstairs single rooms can be a bit noisy”
jubaBristol, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues ask for a room on the ground floor.”
Teaza, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor can be a bit noisy.”
peghead79, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room at the back if you can.”
Modern_13, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$71* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$71
Booking.comUS$74
CancelonUS$85
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates