We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Washington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 552: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I would fully recommend the Washington. The staff we're brilliant, the breakfast enjoyable and I've come away having no issues during my stay. The hotel itself is tired and the décor could probably do with a lick of paint. But saying that the slightly tired look does give it character, as opposed to the generic Travelodge look that most budget... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights. This hotel is budget and very basic. The rooms are old and tired but was clean. There is a car park at the rear of the hotel and you will need a pass code to get in. They charge £6 per night. Location was convenient. Breakfast was included in the price and was nothing to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sn0wy111

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Firstly, I'd like to thank the attentive and hardworking staff. Sadly, the hotel is not up too standard. The carpets are old and tired and the room I stayed in had not been decorated for decades. The curtains did not even fit the windows. I appreciate the building is grade two listed but that does not warrant windows that do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marvalite
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend my sons graduation ceremony at the cathedral. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The car park was very handy and good value at £6 per night. The hotel was very convenient for the city centre and Clifton. I booked it through a travel site it was very good value it also included... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel may represent a budget option for short periods. The building is definitely quircky and in need of renovation, but the rooms are clean and the staff (the key strenght!) is friendly and hepful.

Helpful?
2 Thank GermanoF
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear GermanoF, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us; it's fantastic to see that you thought our team has provided you with friendly and helpful service. We work very hard to ensure our guest get comfortable and relaxing stay, our team goes above and beyond to ensure... More 

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night in a single room. Staff were welcoming and polite and efficient but the building is just awful. The decor in the room tired, dated and shabby. Bathroom suite awful, lime scaled taps. Bed was dreadful, old and uncomfortable. Bed sheets clean but not the blanket on top of the sheet nor he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzieheller007
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Suzie, I'm very saddened to see that you didn’t have a pleasant stay with us especially as it is very unusual for us to have feedback like this. The room that you have stayed in has a brand new bedbase and new mattress which we feel are of excellent quality. They are from an excellent hotel bed supplier that... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was not expecting much after reading some reviews, the room we had was small stayed for two nights but it was clean and tidy. The carpets do need replacing along with the general decorations, burn in the net curtain,carpets thread bear in places. Bed was really comfortable though. On arrival the receptionist was very polite giving us all the information... More 

Helpful?
Thank DawnLouise31
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear DawnLouise31 Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I’m very glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has provided you with excellent customer service. We are under ongoing refurbishment project and this month we are awaiting for new carpets to 11 rooms and the room that you... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very agreeably surprised, because I got this room at a real budget online last minute rate, and also because I'd had a bad experience a few years back at a sister hotel in the same street (that was seriously grotty, but perhaps it's since been renovated). The friendly helpful and efficient 24 hour staff bent over backwards to give every... More 

Helpful?
Thank crispyonthemove
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear crispyonthemove Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I’m very happy to see that we have been able to provide you with better experience than you had few years back in our sister hotel ( just to mention , many things in our sister hotel have changed, they have been under big refurbishment in the past... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wasn't expecting much for the price . Got welcomed by reception staff after arriving really late . Was really surprised to have fruit tea coffee chocolate and a biscuit in the room .room was adequate for a single room bed was comfortable. Had an amazing fry up included in the price . Will defo return soon

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dawnwilliams99
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear dawnwilliams99 Thank you so much for your kind review, I do agree with you that The Washington is a little gem! The location, staff and the breakfast make it a very attractive! As you have mentioned we offer free hospitality tray which includes fresh fruits, loose leaf tea, coffee, hot chocolate and also selection of fruit teas, in addiction... More 

Taunton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night. Overall the cleanliness of the hotel is good, great breakfast but the hotel could benefit from a revamp as it is looking very tired. It is in a great location for exploring the super area of Clifton and I'm sure it could be very good if 'tidied up'

Helpful?
Thank PollyTaunton
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear PollyTaunton, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this really encouraging review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. You will be pleased to know that we are gradually updating our rooms, currently we are focusing on freshening up our bathrooms. We really do take on board all of our guest... More 

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#34 of 36 in Bristol
577 reviews
0.5 km away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#28 of 36 in Bristol
484 reviews
0.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#25 of 36 in Bristol
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#27 of 36 in Bristol
382 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
0.0 km away
The Regency Bristol Hotel
The Regency Bristol Hotel
#30 of 53 in Bristol
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: RM232 - RM536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Washington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Bideford, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Staff will take your case upstairs so don't worry about the lack of elevator”
 of 5 bubbles crispyonthemove, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor if you have mobility problems- lots of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Warwickgirl06, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My room looked onto hotel-entrance and street; ground floor, with easy access to reception and breakfast area. Suited me perfectly.”
 of 5 bubbles fredro2014, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Personally felt hotel poor and basic this reflected in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles vickymorris2801, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the number 2 is very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Zefiro53, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay