We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Washington

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Washington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 608: English reviews
Denham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Excellent breakfast has become a good start of having travel here. The room is clean and staff are very nice as well. The location is also very nice as the university is just next to the hotel and bus stops to the city and station are very close to the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 844ethan
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi 844ethan I’m so happy to see that you have enjoyed the breakfast, our chefs will be very pleased to hear that, we have plenty of different choices like gluten free and vegetarian options and the sausages that come with Full English breakfast are just amazing!. Our location is just perfect for University of Bristol, shopping and restaurants; we are...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2015

This was one of the grimmest hotel experiences that I've had for a while. The bedcover was dirty, the room was really shabby and smelt very damp, the carpet was totally filthy and you could hear absolutely everything that went on in all the other rooms. I stayed in room 45, which turned out to have no bathroom or toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eleadbeater
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear eleadbeater, I must start by just explaining that we never give non-ensuite rooms to anyone that hasn’t booked one. We have a limited number in the hotel and they are very popular with those wanting a budget stay. The majority of our rooms are however ensuite. For our non-ensuite rooms we have 3 shared bathrooms. One of which has...

Oaksey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean although a little dated. Great breakfast and welcoming, efficient staff. Would stay again. Location was great for works Christmas party and shopping the next day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariewarner17
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi mariewarner17 Thank you for your amazing review, we are always so happy to see positive feedback. Our staff always goes the extra mile for our guests to make their stay pleasant. Our location is very convenient as it is in heart of Clifton and within walking distance to city center. Thank you for taking the time to write the...

Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2015

This hotel us brilliant to stay in. Excellent value for money. Our radiator and towel rail fid not work but we were given a heater. We were worried about drying our towels but were given fresh ones. Staff very nice and food good too. I would recommend this hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y8652UGkim
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi Y8652UGkim Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, It’s fantastic to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our staff will be very happy to hear that you liked the service that they have provided. We have addressed the issue with our maintenance team and I can confirm that it has been...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Just returned from 1 night stay at this hotel. Woke up at 1.00am scratching, several bites on my back! Checked bed & found around 8 bed bugs and several small red 'mites' !!! Unbelievable! When checking for further bugs, found mattress and mattress & topper badly stained, no excuse for this even in a so called budget hotel, does budget...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay G
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Kay G, As discussed whilst you were here we do have our hotel checked for bed bugs on a regular basis. We have a contract with an external company that ensures this is the case and are frequently given the all clear by them. Since your visit I have had a different company visit and carry out a preventative...

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Stayed here on Friday night, and was tempted by some of the pictures and touches described on the website (such as free fruit and loose leaf tea). On turning up, we were very disappointed to find such and old and tired building and decor to match. It was so drab and dreary that after our meal out, the last thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D L
WashingtonManager, Receptionist at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi D L Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate the feedback as a small business and we always try to focus on the areas our guests feel we could improve on. We are really sorry that you did not find your stay with us as comfortable as you had hoped. At the moment...

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 5 December 2015

This hotel is very nice and well situated in the Clifton area of Bristol. The associated restaurant is excellent and has wonderful food and a hotel-related discount. I highly recommend staying here and eating at Racks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMUS11
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi JMUS11 Thank you for writing this review, we really appreciate all the feedback! Location of our hotel is very convenient for work and sightseeing, especially if you prefer to walk everywhere. Racks is just 2 minutes walk from us, they offer fantastic food and beautiful venue for private parties or dinner. Kind Regards Marlena

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

I needed a place to stay for an exam, and The Washington was within walking distance and within budget. In order to do The Washington justice, we must separate the building from the Hotel to an extent. The Hotel has good facilities, great and welcoming staff who make every effort to ensure you have a comfortable stay. The receptionists were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi Jamie A Thank you so much for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff works very hard to go above and beyond for all of our guests, to ensure they receive the very best customer service, and we are very happy you got to experience that. Our housekeeping team cleans all...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Stayed here on Saturday night. They 'upgraded' us from a twin room to two single rooms, a perk we thought.Room itself was small, but had everything I needed. it was clean, bed was really comfy, everything worked. Nice touches included fresh fruit and plenty of tea/fresh coffee and cafetiere, hot chocolate and biscuit. Plenty of towels and small tv. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LottieTomS
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi LottieTomS Thank you kindly for taking the time to write this review, we do check our beds and update rooms with new ones if needed, to ensure that our guests have good night of sleep. The flat screen TV’s are very convenient in the rooms as they don’t take too much space but you can easily watch many channels....

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Comfortable room with clean and well equipped en-suite. A good variety and decent hot food at breakfast, and served at times to suit business and leisure traveller. Very professional staff, happy to help and savings can be made booking direct with chain. Lots of stairs!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hm12523
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi Hm12523 Thank you for your fantastic feedback, we really appreciate it. Our housekeeping team does their best to ensure that all the rooms are well prepared for our guests. We have many different choices of breakfast including gluten free and vegan options, we also have two chefs working everyday to ensure the breakfast is served efficiently and that the...

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
627 reviews
0.8 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
410 reviews
0.5 km away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
494 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
0.1 km away
The Regency Bristol Hotel
The Regency Bristol Hotel
#36 of 52 in Bristol
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: RM260 - RM528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Washington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
10 months ago
California Desert, California

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a lower floor room if stairs are a problem, no lifts unfortunately.”
Q9993JUmatthewc, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“quiet floor”
SusieGAviemore, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a double room, even if you are travelling alone.”
helenbowstead, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 49 has an interesting street view which I Enjoyed”
1961JeanG, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you know if your room is ensuite as not all of them are.”
adrianh147, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5