We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Cambridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 476: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great location for visiting all the sights of Cambridge. The room was fine, a little mismatched but spacious and the bed linen was very clean. The feature wall was Aubergine and when you lay in bed and looked up towards the ceiling the amount of dust on the wall was vast. Ok I don't expect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1JNH
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1JNH Thank you for the post and a mixed review. Yes being December we do have Christmas parties taking place at the hotel, I would imagine this to be similar at most venues, I am sorry if this disturbed your sleep. The reception team have maps ready showing alternative parking which they tell guests every day of the year...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nicely place hotel about a 10 minute walk from the city centre. Had a great time drinking. eating. sight seeing and Christmas shopping, this hotel is a good base, with small comfortable rooms which were quiet even though the hotel was busy with parties. We ate one night, a very nice meal and we sat a drank in the comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martyn S Thank you very much for the post and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2017. Merry Christmas

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice stay. The reception desk remembered me from a month ago and made me welcome. Pleasant room. Good night's sleep, comfortable bed and so nice to have a room with a bath! Will come again! Small point - Decaff tea was available in the room but not in the breakfast drinks selection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U2716OZmike
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear U2716OZmike Thank you for the post and I am pleased you enjoyed a return stay with us. Noted on the tea request. We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2017 Merry Christmas

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Loved my five days stay at Royal Cambridge Hotel. All staff members were polite and courteous. Breakfast had a range of variety. Didnt have the chance to try other meals. Must acknowledge and appreciate excellent help by Mr Chazz, the maintenance engineer of the hotel for a ride to train station in his personal four wheel Pajero. Chazz said he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anjum A
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anjum A Thank you for the post and I am delighted Mr Chazz was able to step into the breach following the local hackney carriage issues that day. Chazz says you are very welcome and he is outside polishing his pride and joy now. Sincerely

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Breakfast is the best here: everything anyone could wish for from cereals, pastries to a fry-up with my favourite black pudding. The rooms are ok with all anyone could want: nice cotton sheets, fluffy towels, big bath. And there's a lift.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 946JJ19
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 946JJ19 Thank you for the post and the terrific comments regarding our breakfast, good to read. Sincerely

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We visited Cambridge for 2 nights to meet up with our Granddaughter. Unfortunately we did not consider this hotel to be value for money. The decor is tired, the staff were very friendly but the service was not up to standard: we arrived early and were told to go away and come back at 1400 hrs. Parking is a free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George J
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George J Thank you for the review, albeit a bit mixed. Our check in time as per you reservation details is from 2pm. For early visitors we do offer to store luggage and will contact housekeeping to see if we can get a room ready earlier but we cannot guarantee this, we do have a bar available serving hot...

Ouistreham Riva Bella
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Very attractive looking hotel, plenty of parking space. I was looking forward to my two night stay but knowing that I had work to do in the evenings I needed some peace and quiet. Unfortunately it was a weekend and there was what I can only assume was a wedding reception taking place on the Saturday. By 11pm I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia N
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia N Thank you for the post and I am delighted our location, parking and food was suited to your needs. We did indeed have a wedding taking place and I am sorry the music disturbed you. I will follow up with reception on your comments and please accept my apologies for the way you felt it was handled....

UK
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We were booked in a twin room for a night and found the hotel to be clean, warm, comfortable with old fashioned charm. I cannot comment on the food as we did not eat in the restaurant which was empty. The staff were helpful, except missing often when we wanted to order drinks. Overall a good location and I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kh21again
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kh21again Thanks for the review and comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed there on business, comfortable room and bed. Good breakfast and a nice fish and chips supper. Most of the staff is helpful, some of them could try to smile a little more, it would make their life more pleasant as well as the customers'.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DelightedLeicester
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DelightedLeicester Thank you for the review and I am delighted overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again. Sincerely

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I was staying at this hotel as part of a work contract and must say that the whole experience was a rather disappointing one to say the least. The room itself faced out onto the main road which was also quite noisy throughout the night. The room was also tired and in need of a total overhaul to be brought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren A
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darren A Thank you for the review and it is a shame you chose to endure the hotel room during your stay without asking at reception if there was an alternative we could move you to. We don't serve T Bone steak however again if you were unhappy with the product give us an opportunity to put it right...

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double 211 (23)
Viewed
Kingsize Suite 203 (21)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Single 109 (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin 210 (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
384 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,555 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,113 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: RM474 - RM856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Royal Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hertford, United Kingdom
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was over the main road but with windows closed was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeScottHerbalife, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They have some ground floor apartments which are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles CLR90, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Kings Room is nice. Room 305 is awful.”
  • Where the door has been painted without being opened!
  • Horrible, dirty windows
  • broken shower
  • two singles pushed together :(
 of 5 bubbles Michelle2660, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“best rooms facing back of hotel although i have stayed in room at front and was ok to sleeping and comfy”
 of 5 bubbles lee739, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles MartynS792, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay