We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gonville Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,563: English reviews
Start your review of The Gonville Hotel
 Click to rate
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed today NEW

I've stayed here many times when travelling to Cambridge for business. I've always found the staff superb and the facilities and breakfast are excellent. However the location was always this hotel's best point - right on Parker's Piece and within walking distance of the centre of Cambridge, but still with free on-site parking. But no more. They now charge £15...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
Cardiff
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

My oldest son was due to visit Cambridge University, so I booked us into the Gonville as it seemed convenient and well priced (both of which, it transpired, were true) but what a great this turned out to be. Beautifully decorated, this boutique hotel oozed style from the public areas to the well appointed rooms. The staff, though, are the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JungfrauCardiff
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fantastic stay at The Gonville hotel, perfect room, spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. Particularly liked the Cambridge scene printed on the bathroom tiles! We dined at the new Cotto restaurant and the food was outstanding. Service was spot on, attentive and friendly by staff at the restaurant and hotel. Breakfast was a delight, very impressed by selection of fresh fruits...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alice W, Thank you so much for your recent review of the Gonville hotel, we are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed one of our newly refurbished superior rooms. I am pleased to say that following guest feedback we are upgrading these rooms to make them more special. We were also very pleased to...

Northampton
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

What a fantastic hotel! Beautifully appointed, friendly and courteous staff and a VERY comfy bed. Walking distance to The Corn Exchange with some good pubs and Butch Annies burger bar on the way. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandadmick
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear grandadmick Wow thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us and found the team to be friendly and courteous. Please know that I will be passing on your comments to them, this will certainly motivate and encourage them to continue to go the extra mile for...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I took my mother to the Gonville for Mother's Day weekend and we had a lovely time. The staff were really friendly and there were lots of little touches which made things special. They even served homemade cookies at reception! I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again. Lovely breakfast too...try the eggs benedict! About a 10min walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff were helpful from the very first moment, through to the friendly and knowledgeable bar staff. The waiter in the evening was friendly and ensured we were provided with our meal at exactly the right time, there was no rush to serve or for us to finish.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mchopping
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very well placed for all of the sightsales of Cambridge. Our room overlooked Parker's Piece and, despite the traffic, was quiet at night. Room was a good size with a super king bed, breakfast was particularly good. A five minute walk takes you into the centre of the city with all of the Colleges and sights for which Cambridge is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wren104
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Poor management. Booked 9 weeks ahead but in room next to reconstruction with drilling all day. First day 1 towel for 2 people. Second day room not cleaned til I called reception at 4 pm. Bath plug broken - concierge replied " We know." Bath gel empty. Long walk to town centre. Complacent management. Do not recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emery622
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear emery622 Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I am so sorry that your recent experience was not the true Gonville experience and that you had some issues during your stay. We are in the process of upgrading some of our superior bedrooms following guest feedback and have been very careful to ensure that valued guests...

Wellingborough
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a hotel in a great location and for us was great value for money, with parking (albeit costing £15 but only to be expected in Cambridge). The communal areas were beautifully decorated and the bar was a lovely place to relax. We were a little less impressed with the room. It was perfectly adequate but the bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veroushka
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I confess I only slept here for a couple of nights - didn't use the bar or restaurant - and it is in a good location but it felt dated. It could do with brightening up and re-carpeting perhaps. The bathrooms have a small, odd sink arrangement. My main issue was sound. Room to room sound was very noticeable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W

363 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Classic Double 116 (24)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Superior Garden View 232 (20)
Viewed
Superior Park View 114 (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,189 reviews
0.2 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
396 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,101 reviews
0.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: RM665 - RM1,285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gonville Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Hailey, Idaho
11 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Gonville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking Parkers Piece, unless you would find road noise a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Wren104, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Demand a room no where near wing being renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles emery622, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back will be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Veroushka, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 were well fitted out but had now view.”
 of 5 bubbles 62Heron, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view over Parkers Piece”
 of 5 bubbles 232jeane, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5