We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Cambridge

Booking.comUS$43*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Cambridge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Cambridge
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently went here for a stag do, and no, not one of those stag dos! Yes, there was dressing up and drinking to excess but we were all in our mid thirties and a touch more civilised...as much as we tried! Hence, we fully appreciated the clean and spacious rooms, the close to town location and very nice bar/cafe,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBOxon
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi DBOxon, Thank you for the excellent review! I'm pleased to hear that you and your group had a great stag do at YHA Cambridge and liked our on site facilities. We hope to welcome you again in future, best of luck for the future wedding. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

Greater London, United Kingdom
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Lovely modern clean city hostel. Everywhere was spotless. Really friendly welcome. Comfy big sofas to sit on having a beer in the evening. Great large cooked breakfast - really good value. Really close to the train station car park.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey W
About Property's Favourite Review
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Joey, Thank you for your 5* review! Im glad you enjoyed our facilities and loved our breakfast. Our team work super hard to deliver a great experience for our guests and i will pass your compliments to our entire team. We hope to have you stay with us again in future. Kind Regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA...

Leeds
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the YHA in a family room on a Saturday night as we wanted to do something different to the usual hotel. The room was comfortable, reasonable amount of space and a compact but well sized en suite with shower. There is a plug by each of the bunks for charging phones and a light - our 10...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon O
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Thank you for your excellent review! I'm delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us, your daughter liked our charging points next to each of the beds and found the facilities and cleanliness to be of a high standard. Thank you for your breakfast feedback. I apologise for any issues you had with noise during your...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Don't ever want come to this hostel,just wasting your time and money,a lots better choice hostel in Cambridge ,YHA Is rubbish!!they don't want handle your complaint,write email if you want complaints something,just don't come to this YHA especially for traveler from outside city make sure your hotel is comfortable for your traveling

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irwan Setiawan S
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Irwan, I am particularly disappointed to read this one star review as I feel that this is an unfair score of YHA Cambridge as you did not actually stay with us or experience the hostel facilities. I understand this inconvenienced you, however it is the guests responsibility to read your booking confirmation regarding our admissions policy. Your complaint was...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We spent three nights here and the last morning we were shocked by the fire alarming in the room, which was found to be a false alarm. It was quite annoying. We were supposed to have a late morning and left for London that day. And the mattress of the bed is quite noisy when you try to find a...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank penggao
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Penggao, I'm sorry if the fire alarm disturbed your sleep, however you must appreciate that from a health and safety perspective for all, the fire alarm is vital. Staff investigate all fire alarms thoroughly and treat all of them with the highest seriousness. We always treat a fire alarm as real until proven otherwise. We are fortunate that it...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 7 April 2017

I stayed one night in this hostel but it was really great and warming. The location is near from the station but a little far from the centre around 15 minutes.The staff was friendly and really kind. The cleaning was spotless. I will recommend this hostel for a great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khanh-hang B
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Khanh-hang, Thank you for the excellent review! Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and staff were to a high standard. I will pass on your excellent feedback to the team. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Happy Travels! Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice place to stay not far from the train station and National Express services!! Nice outdoors... Breakfast not included! Nice dorms and social areas! Good service overall! Just a 15' walk from the centre! Recommended if on a budget!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyBernardo
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Tony, Thank you so much for the 5 star review!! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, found us to be good value for money, close to the local transport links and of a high standard. We hope to welcome you again in future. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Thanks for the friendly team, quiet and clean accomodation and the centricity to the city centre. Would enjoy to return to the Cambridge youth hostel anytime (hopefully as soon as possible to discover more of this amazing location).

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandermJ5611ZP
YHA_Cambridge, Public Relations Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Alexander, Thank you for your excellent review and positive feedback! Im pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, found the facilities to be of a high standard and met our friendly team. We hope to have you stay again in future. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

Edinburgh
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I was very happy with my stay here. The weather was exceptionally cold and it was great to have a nice social space where I could have a coffee, catch up with email, meet friends etc. The rooms and social spaces are clean and well-kept. The only exception is the self-catering kitchen. I'd have liked that to be larger and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette54
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Bernadette, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our social space and on site Scholars café for drinks, work and socialising. Cambridge is a bicycle loving city and we are no exception! We love being able to provide good facilities to cyclists staying with us. I'm disappointed to hear you felt our self catering kitchen was not...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

A simple wee cafe with a great cup of tea. The carrot cake had been on the shelf a bit longer than necessary but still a better bet than the eating by numbers chains round the corner in Station Square. Support local!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UlsterFryNo1
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi UlsterFryNo1, Thank you for your review. Im pleased to hear you enjoyed our tea. I will pass on your feedback regarding the carrot cake, however I can assure you that all our products are date labelled and checked regularly to ensure products remain fresh for our guests. If you have any issues with our food please make the team...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.6 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,682 reviews
0.8 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at the newly refurbished Cambridge Youth Hostel and spend time in the heart of this lively, historic university town on a cheap city break. Just around the corner from the railway station and a 15 minute walk from the city centre, accommodation at this backpackers' hostel gives you easy access to the colleges, museums and art galleries that have helped make Cambridge famous. Hire a punt, explore the ancient streets and enjoy the city's cycle-friendly routes. YHA Cambridge makes an excellent base for exploring everything that the city is famous for. We offer dormitory accomodation as well as private rooms. As YHA is a Childrens' Charity, if families book directly with us, they get special, lower, family room rates. The brand new Scholars bar and restaurant has a relaxed, vintage feel with its distressed wooden tables and leather chairs - a perfect place to catch up with friends over drinks and nibbles. Delicious meals and bar snacks are available at this licensed hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Cambridge

Address: 97 Tenison Road, Cambridge CB1 2DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: RM120 - RM590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Youth Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Cambridge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I wont tell because I'll never be able to get a dorm bed otherwise! book well in advance!”
J1200RWannem, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room will do there all great”
502hannahv, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“only free wifi down stairs and not in rooms !”
michKent, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room if you're travelling as a family.”
Holly043Liverpool, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The lesser people are in the room, the more comfortably you sleep.”
21filipa, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$43* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$56
Expedia.comUS$47
Hostelworld.comUS$53
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates