We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Cambridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Cambridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Cambridge
 Click to rate
Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very happy with my stay here. The weather was exceptionally cold and it was great to have a nice social space where I could have a coffee, catch up with email, meet friends etc. The rooms and social spaces are clean and well-kept. The only exception is the self-catering kitchen. I'd have liked that to be larger and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette54
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Bernadette, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our social space and on site Scholars café for drinks, work and socialising. Cambridge is a bicycle loving city and we are no exception! We love being able to provide good facilities to cyclists staying with us. I'm disappointed to hear you felt our self catering kitchen was not...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A simple wee cafe with a great cup of tea. The carrot cake had been on the shelf a bit longer than necessary but still a better bet than the eating by numbers chains round the corner in Station Square. Support local!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UlsterFryNo1
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi UlsterFryNo1, Thank you for your review. Im pleased to hear you enjoyed our tea. I will pass on your feedback regarding the carrot cake, however I can assure you that all our products are date labelled and checked regularly to ensure products remain fresh for our guests. If you have any issues with our food please make the team...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms, the bathroom and the toiles were clean and tidy. The breakfast was really tasty and the stuff was very polite. Altough during the night, a room uptairs was making to noise and I couldn't sleep properly. Anyway, everything was fantastic. YHA see you next time!!

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank augustoguasco
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Augustoguasco, Thank you for the excellent review! Im pleased you found our facilities to be of a high standard and loved our breakfast selection. I'm sorry to hear that the room above you was noisy during your stay. If you let our reception team know, we are happy to talk to the guests and ask them to be quieter....

Eastham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in room 116, a twin room with bunk beds. The room was very clean, all the furniture and decor was new. The welcome by the staff was friendly, checked in very quickly and shown to room. Breakfast was good and all communal areas and facilities were very clean. I have never stayed in a yha in a city but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fizzy1973
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Fizzy1973, Thank you for the perfect score! I'm pleased to hear you found our cleanliness and facilities in the hostel to be of a high standard. Our teams work very hard to provide the best possible experience for our guests and I'm pleased we met your expectations. Its lovely to hear such complimentary feedback. We have over 180 YHA's...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't think much about what to expect from the youth hostel however it surprised me positively. It was cost efficient for me and generally a pleasant area to be around. The only bad thing was that I caught a rash whilst staying at the youth hostel. I think the cleaning of bed sheets could be improved, I never usually...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. Im please that you found our hostel to be good value for money and that we made a positive impression. I'm disappointed to hear you had a problem during your stay with us. With regards to the bed sheets, all of our bedding is sent to an external laundry company who wash and deep...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely place too stay if you're visiting Cambridge and you just want a place to stay the night, the rooms that are available for people who go in groups are lovely. Also the lounge and cooking area's for people staying and wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pachulski123
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Pachulski, Thank you for the excellent review score! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms and social areas to be of a high standard. We hope to welcome you (and your group) again soon. Kind regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night over February Half Term. We had a family room (2 bunk beds) with an ensuite shower and toilet. You don't need bedding, but remember your towels (if you forget them like we did, you can hire them for £2/towel). The kitchen is huge, so next time we go we will do our own breakfast, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViolaJoy
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Viola, Thank you for your excellent review! We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed the half term break with us. I will pass your great feedback on to the entire team. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and that our board games available on site provided entertainment for your kids. We hope to have you...

Stoke Goldington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall an excellent hostel. The facilities are of a high standard with very good social areas. As usual with YHA the staff were always helpful & available. Nothing was too much bother. Breakfast was very good (though a change from scrambled eggs would have been appreciated) & the evening menu rather limited. The only downside was the room- 215 was...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickanne65
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Mike and Anne, Thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and hostel to be of a high standard. Fried eggs are available on request from guests instead of our standard scrambled eggs at breakfast. We take guest feedback seriously and use this to continually look at improvements...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good Staff. Very good facilities like washing machine , dining room , kitchen , bathroom. Great crowd from students to professors. Good cleanliness inside rooms. Hygienic toilets and bathrooms. Nearby areas like Colleges , Parks , Rail , Offices and Church were very easily accessible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RiteshG1978
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Rite, Thank you for your review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities to be of a high cleanliness standard and accommodating for you needs. We hope to have you stay again in future. Kind Regards Holly Swallowe Deputy Hostel Manager YHA Cambridge

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in for 2 nights, easy to find, clean, modern, comfortable, great staff. Even for me, only a 25 minute walk into city centre, plenty of eateries an drinkeries en route. There are people who need to learn the etiquette of the dormitory, but that's not the fault of the YHA! Overall, excellent value, would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuartSelkirk
YHA_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Stuart, Thank you for the excellent review! We are glad you found our hostel to be of a high standard. Our staff work really hard to provide the best possible experiences for our guests. Sorry if you had any problems with your dorm mates, we do ask that all guests are considerate of one another and staff are happy...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.8 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
396 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,615 reviews
1.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at the newly refurbished Cambridge Youth Hostel and spend time in the heart of this lively, historic university town on a cheap city break. Just around the corner from the railway station and a 15 minute walk from the city centre, accommodation at this backpackers' hostel gives you easy access to the colleges, museums and art galleries that have helped make Cambridge famous. Hire a punt, explore the ancient streets and enjoy the city's cycle-friendly routes. YHA Cambridge makes an excellent base for exploring everything that the city is famous for. We offer dormitory accomodation as well as private rooms. As YHA is a Childrens' Charity, if families book directly with us, they get special, lower, family room rates. The brand new Scholars bar and restaurant has a relaxed, vintage feel with its distressed wooden tables and leather chairs - a perfect place to catch up with friends over drinks and nibbles. Delicious meals and bar snacks are available at this licensed hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Cambridge

Address: 97 Tenison Rd, Cambridge CB1 2DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: RM137 - RM514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your YHA Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Youth Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Cambridge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I wont tell because I'll never be able to get a dorm bed otherwise! book well in advance!”
 of 5 bubbles J1200RWannem, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room will do there all great”
 of 5 bubbles 502hannahv, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“only free wifi down stairs and not in rooms !”
 of 5 bubbles michKent, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room if you're travelling as a family.”
 of 5 bubbles Holly043Liverpool, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The lesser people are in the room, the more comfortably you sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 21filipa, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5