We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Cambridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Cambridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Attractive building with good facilities including free cycle storage. It had a really cosmopolitan feel (as does Cambridge!) and the ground floor café/ breakfast area was an attractive place I could meet my sons who were staying locally. I was unlucky in rooming with a guy whose astonishingly loud all-night snoring I just couldn't cope with. My trusty silicon ear... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank andy77white
Skomer Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic hostel except room was REALLY damp and everything smelt damp and felt cold/damp. This was shame as rest of hostel is awesome, good breakfast, nice staff, clean rooms, well organised, etc. but room 204 needs sorting out/ closing. In reflection I should have asked to move but it was late, but now I really wish I had.

Helpful?
Thank Chris_Skomer
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first time I visited YHA Cambridge, it was in a sorry state. In desperate need of some TLC. The showers didnt work, at best they smelled, the old kitchen was falling to bits, the dorm rooms were cold...it was depressing, and at the time, I vowed Id never stay again, and as a life member, I let YHA HQ... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Anne, Thank you for your great review! I really enjoyed reading it I am so pleased that you love our refurbished look. Unfortunately we are not able to have an extension to our premises at this time and our 122 beds do get booked very quickly so we always recommend booking as far in advance as possible to guarantee... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good service, friendly & helpful staff, very nice meals. Unfortunately rooms were crowded & v noisy & sick fellow travellers. V small toilet/shower facilities & toilet broke. Ideal location for my requirements.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank jdtribble
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate all guest feedback. Your stay was in a 6 bed male dormitory. This is our maximum room size. It is unfortunate that you had noisy room mates, we are happy to provide ear plugs to help if you have problems sleeping. With regards to the unwell travellers, unfortunately that cannot be... More 

Chiddingfold, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hostel, really helpful staff ...coffee and bar area very warm and welcoming. Closeness to bus stops rail and to centre of town very good. Staff went that extra mile to find out info for us.Second visit and this time had much smaller room but that was because it was all that was available. Like the courtyard outside where you... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank jeannettegwalker
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Jeannette, Thank you so much for your review! We strive to provide the best possible experience for all our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure I pass on your positive feedback to our staff. We hope to have you stay with us again in future. Kind Regards Holly Deputy Hostel Manager... More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely accommodating staff who will bend over backwards to suit your needs, especially Holly. Rooms functional but immaculately kept with a lovely warm heater for cold nights. All in all a lovely stay and couldn't be more impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Chloë S
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Chloë, Thank you so much for the 5 star review. It was an absolute pleasure having your group stay with us and I'm glad you enjoyed our facilities. As for the lovely accommodating staff, I will be sure to pass on the message to the team. And personally, Thank you. The team and I try our absolute best to... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Foam mattress isn't comfortable for me. I prefer springs. General cleaning service very good, but the bed frames were dusty and the vermop in the shower room smelled very bad. Very good location and price. Very high quality of reception service and food. Friendly and helpfuul staff. Highly recommended this place.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank vichta
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello vichta, Thank you for your review. The mattresses on the beds are brand new- we've only just replaced them and the feedback has been generally positive. Mattresses are difficult to get right as every person has their individual preferences. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed both the level of service offered by the team as... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

It helps that the hostel is very centrally located, but also the atmosphere there was excellent. The staff were relaxed and helpful [identifying parking, things to do etc] and the accommodation was spotless and very adequate in terms of kitchen facilities, lounge etc.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thank you very much for your glowing review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your very kind comments to my team. We hope you had a great time exploring the city and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, James Cuthbertson Hostel Manager More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Excellent stay - clean, friendly, welcoming. The breakfast was delicious, reasonably priced and good portions. Showers were hot and good strength. There was a great swap shop charity day which was really fun.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank helelelelelelelele
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the pop up shop and indeed had a great stay with us. I hope you had a great time in Cambridge. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, James Cuthbertson Hostel Manager More 

Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I paid for two nights in female dorm (3 bunks), but left after one sleepless night without getting a refund. It was the worst night I've ever experienced, and I've travelled for decades staying in hostel dorms. This was due to the air quality. You have to go through many (4+) closed doors until you came to the narrow hallway... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trondheim1977
YHA_Cambridge, General Manager at YHA Cambridge, responded to this review

Hello Trondheim1977, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I'm really sorry that you found the bedroom warm and therefore had trouble sleeping. You stayed in Cambridge during a period of hot weather. As you rightly pointed out, we provide fans in every guest bedroom which most guests find helpful. Unfortunately, the weather is not something we... More 

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.6 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 35 in Cambridge
1,510 reviews
0.8 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cambridge
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,052 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at the newly refurbished Cambridge Youth Hostel and spend time in the heart of this lively, historic university town on a cheap city break. Just around the corner from the railway station and a 15 minute walk from the city centre, accommodation at this backpackers' hostel gives you easy access to the colleges, museums and art galleries that have helped make Cambridge famous. Hire a punt, explore the ancient streets and enjoy the city's cycle-friendly routes. YHA Cambridge makes an excellent base for exploring everything that the city is famous for. We offer dormitory accomodation as well as private rooms. As YHA is a Childrens' Charity, if families book directly with us, they get special, lower, family room rates. The brand new Scholars bar and restaurant has a relaxed, vintage feel with its distressed wooden tables and leather chairs - a perfect place to catch up with friends over drinks and nibbles. Delicious meals and bar snacks are available at this licensed hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Cambridge

Address: 97 Tenison Rd, Cambridge CB1 2DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: RM94 - RM397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Youth Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Cambridge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I wont tell because I'll never be able to get a dorm bed otherwise! book well in advance!”
 of 5 bubbles J1200RWannem, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room will do there all great”
 of 5 bubbles 502hannahv, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“only free wifi down stairs and not in rooms !”
 of 5 bubbles michKent, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room if you're travelling as a family.”
 of 5 bubbles Holly043Liverpool, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The lesser people are in the room, the more comfortably you sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 21filipa, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay