We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Chester Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Chester Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 454: English reviews
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

Great location, great view from front rooms, clean and tidy, but poorly furnished room(s) and an old saggy mattress. room furniture, with the exception of a small table for the tea equipment was non existent , no drawer space or luggage rack, mirror poorly sited, should have one over the dressing table with drawers etc. Television very small and in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In a great location for all shops and nightlife very friendly, welcoming staff and excellent value for money. Accommodation was very easy to locate and access in and out of the city was good. The only disappointment was that there was no on site parking which made things a bit more expensive and inconvenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T4631KSpeters
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

To be upfront, this is actually an OK hotel (good location, inexpensive, comfortable bed etc). However, the shower tray is absolutely lethal. It's so slippery that we both struggled to stay upright. We asked at the front desk for an anti-slip mat, but were fobbed off. This is clearly not a new problem as there was a warning sign in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr-S-White
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our...

Flint, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was nice and clean when I walked in on arrival. The recption open is 24 hours because it was handy for people like myself I was finishing work at 2am in the morning I would recommend this Travelodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMFB16
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have used this hotel several times, due to it's excellent location. Lots of great places to eat, within a few minutes walk. Always clean and beds are very good. Although on a busy road, the noise can not be heard in rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M6934EGsusano
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing about this hotel is the location within easy reach of the city centre and about 15 minutes walk from the train station. Staying for just one night, we were greeted by friendly reception staff. The room was very basic, even for a budget hotel - we can live with that, but on checking the bed we found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Northernlass481
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We understand your stay did not strike you with the highest of standards we hope for and we do apologise for this. We aim to provide the best service possible to our guests and we will continue to do so by making the most of customer feedback such as yours. We hope you will decide...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you read reviews its a case of are they or are they not? First impressions always count -Andrew on Reception welcoming and friendly, corridors all clean and clear. Room big and spacious and clean bathroom. IF LIKE SOOOO MANY OTHERS ON HERE want to complain about the small things id say the bath was too small, wifi wasn't great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the service you received and the location of our hotel, although we would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may be...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was very pleased with our stay at Chester, both the bed and room was tidy and clean. Had enough space for everyone and didn't have an issue checking in, hopefully will be able to visit again and will defiantly book again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessWri25
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel as it is our aim to provide all our guests with positive stays such as yours. We will ensure that your comments are passed to the hotel manager so we can ensure...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good clean room, very comfortable bed as slept really well, good service and hotel right in the heart of Chester, great view too. Definitely recommend to stay here if you are on a budget and want to be in Chester town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashlynn H
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel as it is our aim to provide all our guests with positive stays such as yours. We will ensure that your comments are passed to the hotel manager so we can ensure...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Travelodge is pretty standard but 'central' is exactly where you need to be in chester. A perfect location for exploring this wonderful city and its history. The parking is easy to find and you will get a discount voucher when you check out. All in all it was a convient place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased to learn your stay was enhanced by the location of the hotel. It is the utmost importance to us that our guests find our hotels to be in useful locations. Thank you again and we do hope you choose to visit Travelodge again soon.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.3 km away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.7 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
536 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Central

Address: St John Street, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: RM231 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Chester Central 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Chester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Central Hotel Chester
Chester Travelodge
Chester Travel Lodge
Travelodge Chester Central Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Chester Central staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
MERSEYSIDE
over a year ago
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Tatenhill, United Kingdom
Rushden, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Sydney, Australia
8 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Chester Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Courtyard facing rooms are quiet, but view is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles Northernlass481, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room not overlooking the main road for a quieter nights sleep - i imagine you might get car noise”
 of 5 bubbles ianl233, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not 123 stale smell”
 of 5 bubbles _d_clarke940, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms quieter”
 of 5 bubbles scottimackem44, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“back of the hotel, very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles sejalr2013, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay