We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Commercial Bar & Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$74*
View Deal
#25 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$74*
US$74*
US$74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Commercial Bar & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 365: English reviews
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Recently returned from a nights stay for Chester races. From arriving to leaving couldn't have asked for better service. Lucy made us feel extremely welcomed when we arrived. During the stay both Rebecca and John went out of their ways to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. Due to us arriving early the bar supervisor even offered us a complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacym1707
John L, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stacy & Chris, Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's really heart warming to hear you enjoyed your stay with us once again. I will pass all your comments onto the relevent staff members mentioned and look forward to welcoming you once more to The Commercial. Best wishes Rebecca

Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I enjoyed superb service as this hotel really supported me to get stuff I needed for work the next day. Thank you so much! No qualms for me when looking for a Hotel in Chester when I’m back. But then hopefully as a tourist. ;-) Hans Dresden Germany

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TripTrap46
John L, Front Office Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Guten Tag Hans, Thank you for writing a review about our hotel and your stay. II am so glad we were able to assist you with your work needs and it was lovely to host you and your colleague during your stay. We look forward to receiving you once again for a holiday not work. Best wishes Rebecca

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I think you should go I'm not one for eating out but this place makes you feel welcome the food is 5* so nice mea d the other half go every other Sunday it is a nice run pub and you really couldn't ask for anything more hats off to the chef his food is just so good.....so we will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
John L, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I will certainly be passing your message onto the staff and particularly our Chef. We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon. Best wishes Rebecca

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We visited the commercial hotel /pub today for Sunday lunch, we always have Sunday lunch out,this was a first time at this pub,but it definitely won't be the last, the food was excellent, the staff are very friendly. The price was £10 each for Sunday roast and that includes a glass of wine or pint of beer. A real bargain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevediamond
John L, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve, thank you for taking time to write a review about our Sunday lunch. The £10 deal has certainly been well received and not just for the price, the foods good too and we are very proud of our offering! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best wishes Rebecca

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Attended the commercial for our friends birthday. It is a great bar with excellent facilities. Full of helpful, polite staff members and one in-particular called Leigh Mac. Would definitely recommend to other friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemma c
John L, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma. Thank you for writing about your experience at The Commercial bar. We do have a great space for all our guests to party until the early hours. I will pass your comments onto Leigh - it's not often the doormen get praised but we have a great team here so thank you for recognising their professionalism. Kind regards...

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

hard to find but well worth looking for. this is a freindly hotel in the centre of a busy historic city. Food is great and the bedrooms are huge. Easy access to into Chester(just walk through onto the 'Rows'), Couldn't be closer to all the sights , clubs and pubs (and shops ladies!).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
John L, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you so much for taking time to write about The Commercial Hotel. We are very lucky to have such a central location. All our rooms were designed with the "Chester" guest in mind and as you say people visit for walking around the historic sites, shopping and long days at Chester Zoo. At the end of a...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Came across this place after being handed a leaflet for it and speaking to a member of the staff who made it sound too good to be true. Stopped for lunch and a quick drink. Watched food coming out to other people in the place and it looked good. Had fish along with my husband; his a large portion and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona H
John L, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you for writing a review about your Commercial lunchtime experience. We pride ourselves on wholesome, locally sourced, home cooked meals (hence the wait) but I'm so glad to hear it was worth it. As you know we are set back off the main street so thank you for taking a chance on the staff and venturing up...

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The room was A+, large, modern and very clean. We were told that there was a lot of noise in the evening sometimes as they have a dj in the courtyard just below our room,we were attending our friends 60th party at this hotel so the noise was not a big issue to us, we went to bed around midnight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
John L, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol, Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. It's refreshing to read that you slept through the DJ's music when I usually get complaints regarding the noise. I'm so glad you enjoyed the party, your room and found us to offer great value for money. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind reagrds Rebecca

Yorkshire
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I have to agree completely with the review below that says this is more like a club than a hotel! We stayed here over a year ago in April 2014 and clearly nothing has changed. Like them we had a call to say that there would be music playing but weren't too bothered by this as we thought it likely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PH2013_13
John L, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking time to write lengthy review regarding your stay. I must admit I am suprised at some of your comments after reading that you have stayed with us before and knew what to expect. I am the General Manager and License and have been here since we opened in December 2009. We have always marketed...

Reviewed 2 September 2015

Ended up in Chester on the Sunday before the Bank Holiday Monday (and our anniversary). We had our dog Kiwi with us so finding a hotel is sometimes difficult at late notice. Phoned up the Commercial and they only had the Byron Suite available - oh well, it's only money ;) Kiwi loved having three rooms to run around it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delamarter
John L, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kiwi and owners, Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your impromptu stay with us. It sounds like Kiwi enjoyed the Suite especially and you and your husband enjoyed your stay, the entertainment and the royal box view! We have always accepted dogs and can recommend "Dogs Invited" which is a website showing all dog friendly...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
669 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,087 reviews
0.5 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
2,027 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM373 - RM758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar & Hotel Chester, Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Commercial Bar & Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 month ago
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Commercial Bar & Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else!”
29candle, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Unable to comment as only popped in for lunch”
SSPinder, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay away at weekends”
leew218, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms great loud music can be herd every room so don't like this don't stay”
tobydog, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay in rooms only went to dine”
archiealleni2016, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$74* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$74
PricelineUS$74
Agoda.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates