We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rowton Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rowton Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

962 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 960: English reviews
Start your review of Rowton Hall Hotel
 Click to rate
Chester
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Before I begin, I would give this 4 and a half but no half option on Trip advisor... We came here, Mothers day for their 'set' lunch. Overall, food was fabulous. We had a set menu for 3 courses, which is usually my worse nightmare as I am quite particular, but choices were great. There was a £28 tag but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lllllchester
Burton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited Rowton Hall this weekend, I have nothing negative to say (apart from the room needing a new kettle). The room had a beautiful view, the bed was comfortable, everything was clean. The staff were friendly and extremely courteous. The food was delicious. If you want a relaxing break away from it all visit rowton hall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

had a lovely stay, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. rooms very comfortable and well equipped, including bath robes and slippers. Food was very tasty and good choice,especially at breakfast,Julie very friendly. Spa treatment was relaxing and really good. Receptionist was always very polite whenever I had a query - would certainly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Wow what a wonderful 5 star review and thank you so much for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

From start to finish our two day visit was totally relaxed, helped by the excellent service provided by the staff in the restaurant, spa and reception where we met the lovely Charlotte. Rooms were clean and well equipped. The spa and pool were great to unwind in and the restaurant gave us top quality food with top quality service. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tadeusz T
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for your wonderful comments, we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful location just outside chester and had a fabulous day here at a friends wedding love,y grounds good food and service, bar prices a little high and evening food buffet service was slow with staff not looking happy probably after a busy day. All in all a happy day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Menorca100
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review and we are glad that you enjoyed your friends wedding reception. Can I please note that our bar prices are very competitive within our local area and I am sorry to read you comment regarding our service and staff as all of our wedding couples have all commented on how fantastic their wedding...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed one night with my husband on a Groupon deal which included access to the spa. However, the steam room was not working and had an obnoxious odour.In addition to this, we were told that any form of massage was not included in the deal, it cost £60 each for a full body message. We had asked for speak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessyag
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to read your review and that you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately our steam room had to have some routine maintenance to keep the facilities up to our high standards that we set for ourselves, we do try to ensure that this does not affect our guests stay and we do offer the use of the...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very relaxing one night stay with dinner at the Rowton Hall hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice with the the unusual addition of a television in the bathroom. The hotel is structurally quite old and has a musty smell about it but for us this added to the charm. The evening dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope other viewers find this review useful and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

arrived early , 12 noon there was a function , not a problem all in residents bar , had some food 16 pounds for a tiny portion of sandwiches and small bowl of chips , all while there was interviews going on in bar area . We went to pub down road which was cracking (Cheshire Cat ) cane back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neilly6767
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to read your review. Prior to your stay our reservation team contacted all of the guests that were not associated with the function taking place to advise that there was an event taking place, I can only apologise that you did not receive this email. We did allocate all of the guests accommodation away from the function...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights and on arrival were upgraded to a beautiful Downstairs Apartment which was a lovely surprise. Lounge, Bathroom, Bedroom and Dressing room all large with lovely furniture well fitted and stylsh. The food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent as was the service. The bar area very light and airy and again lovely comfortable sofa's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RegGiovanna
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to the hotel last week for the Avon Presidents Club dinner. The food was excellent, service was second to none and the function room we were given was lovely. I didn't stay at the hotel so can't comment on the rooms, but if you're looking for somewhere to hold a business party, I would definitely recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the AVON function, hopefully next time you visit the hotel you maybe able stay to overnight too. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

755 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (243)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (475)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Double Room (37)
Viewed
Double Room with Bladachin (32)
Viewed
Fairfax Suite (41)
Viewed
Henrietta Maria Master Suite (56)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite Grey (44)
Viewed
Lichfield Suite (40)
Viewed
Other (42)
Viewed
Marmaduke Suite (41)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
614 reviews
11.1 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,100 reviews
4.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM719 - RM878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rowton Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rowton Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Are apartment was across a small patio area and very very quiet,”
 of 5 bubbles RegGiovanna, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Shop around and see just how good this place is.”
 of 5 bubbles Patian2014, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms and suites are excellent, quite and well maintained with options for ground floor if you have problems with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Alan898, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“worth asking for a suite”
 of 5 bubbles garethandcaroljones, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 40 which was very quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles grace152, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5