We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Chester Grosvenor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,910 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,886: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Loved our stay, as always we were treated so well and the staff really care about making your time special. Thank you. From start to finish it was perfect and is a place we will come back to again and again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
Notts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had 2 nights here and for once, irrespective of hotel location or star rating, everything went well. The staff were professional and attentive, food excellent, and room large and well appointed. The only downside and not the fault of the hotel is in the excellent location; at night revellers can be heard from the hotel front bedrooms. So if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cran4
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Chester Grosvenor just before Christmas as we held a conference in the hotel. The first plus point is the location, right in the middle of Chester by the Eastgate Clock. If you're driving it's very handy as the Grosvenor Car Park is right behind the hotel and you can enter the hotel via the second floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in August for our third two night break. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the centre of Chester by the city walls and within walking distance of the station. It is a beautiful looking hotel with good sized bedrooms, although none that we have stayed in have had a very good outlook. We stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisandpat2016
TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this review

Dear chrisandpat2016 It was good to read how much you enjoy your visits to Chester and especially to The Chester Grosvenor which, as you say, is so well positioned in the heart of this historic city! I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your room allocation during your last stay in August, if you would care to contact me directly...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night . Hotel , spa and bar were fantastic only let down was the food in the restaurant or maybe we had just ordered the wrong thing. But all in all great location , fantastic hotel and rooms. Staff were helpful and the spa/ massage were good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laugar76
TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this review

Dear laugar76 Thank you on behalf of all the team at The Chester Grosvenor for such a very kind review! I'm only sorry that you were disappointed with regard to the food, I would be keen to understand the reasons for this and to know which of our restaurants you visited. If you have a moment to contact me at...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm a little late with this review, but felt compelled to write it while reviewing another hotel. I had always wanted to stay at the hotel, but had no real need to as I live nearby. I decided to treat my friend (and me) to a stay here and some drinks in beautiful Chester for her birthday. We parked in...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank christina_waters1
TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this review

Dear christina_waters1 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and whilst pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and dinner in La Brasserie, I was extremely sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in other aspects of your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies that any member of my team should be less...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for 1 night mid week. We struggled to get to the front of the hotel in the car due to no entry and one way streets however if you head to Grovesnor shopping centre car park and go to level 2 you can access the hotel that way. The receptionist was extremely helpful and our room was upgraded which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kittyfish76
TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this review

Dear kittyfish76 Many thanks for your review and especially for your warm recommendation! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and was pleased to read your feedback with regard to your room, the spa and the service given by our super team. May I just confirm that the fresh milk placed within the minibar for refrigeration purposes is indeed complimentary,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff were lovely and amazing, could not fault them in anyway. But for the price paid £730.00 for the spa for my mother and myself, it is not worth value for money. Unfortunately there was not a double massage room or any pool facilities or sauna, also the steam room was not available to use. I would recommend going...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Priya R
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a two night stay in July as a room had been booked as a gift from a family member. The room was large, clean and modern with a large bathroom. The staff were very helpful and the hotel in general was incredible. Unfortunately, we didn't dine at the hotel but the menus looked lovely. The hotel is situated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ggooderson30
TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this review

Dear ggooderson30 We're delighted that your family chose The Chester Grosvenor for your gift, and that you enjoyed your stay so much! Thank you from us all for your lovely recommendation and very kind words, and I hope that on the next occasion you will find the opportunity to experience one of our restaurants, the Parisian style La Brasserie and...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely stay for our 10th wedding anniversary. Parking wax simple and the location of the hotel is by far the best in chester. Everything was perfect. The staff, the room, the food. 10/10. Even a welcome cake in the room as we arrived. Lovely touch x

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tappydog
TheChesterGrosvenor, Harry Shepherd, Resident Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this review

Dear Tappydog I'm delighted that you chose The Chester Grosvenor to celebrate your special anniversary, and that you both enjoyed such a happy time with us. To be described as perfect is a lovely tribute to our outstanding team, we appreciate this very much indeed. As you say, the hotel really couldn't be better placed in the heart of the...

771 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (180)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (285)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (29)
Viewed
Executive Room (31)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.3 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
587 reviews
0.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
La Brasserie
La Brasserie
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM790 - RM1,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chester Grosvenor staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Chester Grosvenor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for street views - my view was the car park!”
 of 5 bubbles carolinej512, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“spend that bit extra and go for a suite”
 of 5 bubbles AnneOnym0us, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“best to pre book disabled access rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Johnh111003, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I think just trust the Grosvenor.”
 of 5 bubbles davefromwales2016, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not direct onto Eastgate where the public pass close by.”
 of 5 bubbles BOBW120, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay