We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

837 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 825: English reviews
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel with real character and charm. Bit tired in some areas but our room was spotless and a decent size. The staff really welcoming and the only downside is that we arrived early to make the most of shopping to be told we could not book in although they had our details until after 3pm although they offered to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeSt18
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Noisy, old, old, old room. Non-existent, unhelpful, bordering-on-rude customer service at front desk. An "upgrade" to an executive room. Still a rubbish room. Did I mention OLD rooms? Not convinced? Then please waste your money here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesB66
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear JulesB66 Thank you for your review. We understand your stay at the Westminster did not meet with the highest of standards we would hope for and we do apologise for this. We aim to provide the best service possible to our guests and we continue to improve this through guest feedback. Your comments provided have been brought to the...

england
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed 1 night 26th November with 3 friends for the christmas markets, had read the reviews and was a little worrie. Checking in was done very quickly and the staff were really nice, I was in a single room 217. I was given the wrong key but it was sorted out straight away, I thought the room was ok for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gunieapig
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear gunieapig Thank you for your review on the Westminster Hotel. We are always very grateful for any reviews and are extremely pleased we have met with your expectations on your visit to Chester. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the future. Kind Regards

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Recently had a second visit to this hotel. First year all good. Second year sorry to say hotel needs a fast refurbishment. We had two rooms booked one for 2 nights the second for 1. First impression at reception all looks fine however when you get to your room. So it's a different story... One room had no heating for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
Reading
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was probably a lovely place to stay 60 - 100 years ago. Now it's run-down, needs refurbishment and is generally very tired. The room was fairly comfortable, but the paint was peeling, the water-pipes made a lot of noise, the shower had now power etc... I should also mention that the breakfast was vaguely palatable, but certainly not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonSpeed
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear JonSpeed Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Westminster Hotel. We always strive to try and exceed our customer’s expectations throughout the duration of a stay and upon this occasion have failed to do so. I'm sorry to hear about your problems raised...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do not book here.... The three star average Trip Advisor score is WRONG. Way, way over rated. I stay in hotels weekly and this is one of the worst for years. Disgusting bathroom, flaking paint, dirty windows, damaged walls and wallpaper... You name it.... It's here. We changed room. The first room was even worse and extremely tiny. I complained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DannyTheBlade
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear dannytheblade Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay with us. I have noted the relevant people about resolving these problems you felt during your stay. I'm pleased to hear you were able to move rooms. Kind Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the hotel having booked Groupon deal for £59 for night inc breakfast. Although in need of a little tlc i cannot fault it. Staff very pleasant, breakfast very good. Room clean n tidy and big enough. I would stay again in the future. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear Ian H Firstly I would like to thank you for your time. Feedback here at the Westminster is extremely important to us. I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay, your comments have been highly motivating and rewarding for my team involved. We look forward to seeing you on a returning trip in the near future. Kind Regards

London, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel really needs work in most areas. First impression is a nice historical building and a pleasant lobby. It's main plus point is the location, which is very central to Chester and all the amenties and a short walk from the station. I travelled on a coach trip with 6 friends. Our rooms varied widely although none were particularly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnakeLondon
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear SnakeLondon Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Westminster Hotel. It saddens me to hear that you and your party did not enjoy your break away. I can however confirm that all of the matters previously reported in the letter sent directly to the hotel are being investigated and rectified by our maintenance...

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Seen an offer on Groupon to stay for the night for £59 which included a full cooked brekkie.... absolute bargain.... very clean, very polite staff, room was huge with a mahoosive bed!! Bonus!!!... would definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie026562
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear jackie026562 I'd like to thank you for your positive feedback regards to your stay with us. I'm honored to hear your thoughts and I have made my team fully aware of your enjoyable stay, this is very rewarding for us. We love to hear from past guests and ways to improve. We hope to see you in the near...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second stay in this hotel and will most definitely be our last. The room was freezing, and even after a call to reception nothing was done about this. The beds are old, worn and uncomfortable. The bathroom was mouldy and in desperate need of an upgrade, in fact the whole room/hotel needs a complete overhaul. Do not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danielle G
General M, Manager at Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster, responded to this review

Dear Danielle G Thank you for your time to write your review on your stay with us. I can only apologise for your negative thoughts about your stay, however i have spoken to the relevant people about these issues and can assure you improvements have been made. Kind Regards

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 km away
BW Premier Hallmark Chester The Queen
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
536 reviews
0.0 km away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 45 in Chester
163 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM330 - RM689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
6 days ago
PONTYCLUN
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles SnakeLondon, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles dmbakker, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go !!”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewS239, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“make sure your not in a room or on a floor with squeaking floors”
 of 5 bubbles vitara07, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We saw many rooms and none were good”
 of 5 bubbles sadiestock, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay