We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Show Prices
#15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,740: English reviews
Start your review of Doubletree by Hilton Chester
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I visited yesterday for a cup of tea and to check out the establishment with a view to maybe staying at some point. The grounds at the front with the lake and fountain is a sight to behold, absolutely stunning. The interior of the hotel was pleasingly modern and smart too as I walked through the hallways to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnTripAdviser
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we visited the hotel was going through a refurbishment on a large scale, unfortunately the Marco Pierre White restaurant was closed - which led to us eating in the other hotels restaurant. The restaurant was well decorated with large table space and openness whilst still maintaing a private feel at the table. The food choice was a little limited,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear Sean T, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay with us. Your understanding during our improvement plan are greatly appreciated, and also as our MPW Steakhouse was closed due to urgent maintenance work required in the kitchen. I am pleased that your were able to try our new Garden Room...

MANCHESTER, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is our 3rd stay at Chester Doubletree and once again the service, food and the room have been excellent.The staff were all friendly and helpful and you were always greeted with a smile We chose the hotel because it is very close to Chester City Centre and the Motorway network.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rt557
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel was in the process of having major work to improve its room count. This did not in anyway impact on our stay. We had a great check in friendly welcome with cookies. Yum. Room nice comfy bed and good amenities available in room. Bathroom shower was nice small but did the job. Bar staff friendly and obliged with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulanchris
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear paulandchris, Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us, and also for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay. Your kind words will be shared with our team, who love reading how they have been able to make a positive impression on our guests. It is also pleasing to hear...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. Great place, good room, good breakfast, good staff who were very friendly. Used the spa/fitness area. With lots of people in the evening, it seemed crowded. Fantastic facility but cleanliness could be improved. For the 2 hours I was there, I can't remember any cleaning staff doing any clean up, even a mop...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank srdm2015
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear srdm2015, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the trip advisor community, and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is satisfying to hear that your requirements were met whilst staying with us, and your constructive feedback has been noted. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity...

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice place in the Middle of getting a makeover but looking good. Spa nice and food good nice bedrooms although the bed we had a bit hard for us. I am sure it will be special when it's. lol sorted. Refurb done with out disrupting guests

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C3319ZXfionam
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear C3319ZXfionam, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with the Trip Advisor community. It is pleasing to hear that your stay was not disrupted by our improvement plan, which we have worked hard to ensure that this is the case, and that you enjoyed our club & spa facilities. We hope to welcome...

West Yorkshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel suited my needs rather than the hotel itself suiting my needs. The check in staff are lovely and very professional. Having to pay to use the pool and spa facilities doesn't settle well with me but having my daughter stay with me it was about her having some fun and I was happy to pay...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roadster40
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear Roadster40, Thank you for sharing your honest, constructive comments regarding your recent stay with us. All posts are shared with our team to enable us to improve both our service and facilities that we offer. It is pleasing for you to recognise how "lovely and very professional" our front desk team is, however it is with great disappointment to...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We came here earlier this week for a spa day using a groupon offer. The facilities are amazing compared to all of the other spas I have visited. I haven't given 5 stars because the steam room was out of use and also there was no pre warning of the renovation works being carried out. Aside from this the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine82
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear Madeleine82, Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review of your time with us using the spa. It is great to hear that your therapist and the reception team made such a good impression on you. We will be sure to ensure that they are made aware of your glowing comments. Please be assured that...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed her for the night of my Birthday - we had a suite . Was really lovely - the staff were very attentive and being greeted with warm home made cookies at check in -....... well that just made my day . Nice touch. Marco Pierre's Restaurant was wonderful and the bar area was equally as inviting - All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear Lindsey R, Thank you so much for sharing such a positive review of your time us. Our team love reading such positive comments by our guests. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our famous signature DoubleTree cookies upon your arrival, and that you had a wonderful time in our Marco-Pierre White Steakhouse. We very much look forward...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second stay and second time I've been our in a room next to the lifts so was kept awake by noisy people late each night and early each morning. Name was incorrect on the welcome tv screen, no water in the room, Notes in the room telling me to call if I need anything but no phone numbers anywhere. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry Q
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear Kerry Q, Our team love welcoming back guests based on previous experience, however it is disappointing to read that your stay this time, did not meet your expectations based on your previous stay. Please be assured that your comments have been reviewed by our senior management team to be acted upon. We are always looking at ways to improve,...

448 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (415)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (226)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
10.9 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.9 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,988 reviews
3.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.5 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,240 reviews
3.5 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM532 - RM1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doubletree by Hilton Chester staff and other travellers.
49 questions
Ask a question
stockport
Asheville, North Carolina
County Durham
9 months ago

See all questions (49)

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree by Hilton Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“wait until the refurb is done before you book - they are all poor”
 of 5 bubbles DurhamColin, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisR996, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“use the spa do not miss out”
 of 5 bubbles Audichic69, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“choose a suite”
 of 5 bubbles tommyc305, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look elsewhere”
  • Extra heater
  • Curtain coming off tracks
  • Badly connected beds
 of 5 bubbles darrens17, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5