We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pheasant Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pheasant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 544: English reviews
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Inn last weekend as we had a wedding at Peckforton Castle. Arrived on the Saturday afternoon, all members of staff gave excellent service and nothing was too much trouble for them! The views and surrounding area is beautiful! We stayed in the double room called Beaston.. Very quaint room.. Clean and comfy.. Only down side was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosieHigh
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Rosie, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us at The Pheasant Inn, whilst attending a wedding at Peckforton Castle, which is just a short drive from us. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see that everything met your expectations, and that you enjoyed your stay and food with us. We are due to...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Stayed here over the weekend for my birthday. Got the last available room which though a little small was more than adequate, clean warm and comfortable. Dined in the most wonderful bar both nights, food exceptionally good, oak beams and floors, log fires, real ale. We were able to take our dog everywhere and she was welcomed and fussed over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

John, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Pheasant Inn, to celebrate your birthday. It was good to read your review, and to see that all of your party (including your dog) enjoyed your time with us, and that it all met your expectations. As you have mentioned, we are indeed a very...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Enjoyed a great meal in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The menu is pretty extensive and I would suggest you book like we did as it does get busy! It was already dark when we got there so unfortunately we could not enjoy the stunning view this time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Tina, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you enjoyed and wide and varied menu. We do get very busy, as you have mentioned, and we do always advise pre-booking a table to guarantee one. I do...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

This place is a real gem with outstanding Cheshire views and plenty of different areas to sit. It caters fir everyone: couples, families and parties. I advise you book as it gets very busy. The food is fabulous and the service was great. I was celebrating my birthday and it's one of the best places I've eaten in a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Jenny, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. Firstly, many happy returns on your birthday, and it was nice to read about experience and to see that it was one of the best places that you have eaten at for a long time, and hopefully it will remain in your memory...

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Excellent appropriately attentive and pleasant service and very good lunch time food. The four of us all enjoyed our filling one courses.Welcoming open fires and warm ambience throughout. it was also good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauline h
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Pauline, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your meal with us, and that it met your expectations. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon, and once again many thanks for your review. Kind Regards, David

uk
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

This has to be one of the best meals we have had, everything was cooked to perfection and wonderfully seasoned and the desserts are amazing. I mentioned on arrival to the waitress, I think her name was Maddie, on how cold it was outside and she immediately took us to a table in front of the fire, she was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank InspireAndExplore
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your meal with us, and that it was one of the best meals you have ever had is also very nice to read. I will also ensure that you kind comments about Maddie are passed onto...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We were walking the sandstone trail over 2 days and so booked in at the pheasant inn because of its location and great reputation for food. E were not disappointed with the food which was exceptional and well priced. Unfortunately the room we stayed in was overpriced and disappointing considering the inn's 5 star rating. We would most certainly eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welliphant
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay and meal with us. It was pleasing to read your review and to see that you enjoyed your meal with us. I am sorry that you felt that the accommodation was overpriced, however we do operate a flexible rate policy, similar to most other hotels, and the rate fluctuates depending on...

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We went here today with family after a trip out, A little stop for some food, Some were just peckish and other's were in need of feeding (these being the children ). The pub was so lovely and the views were outstanding. We sat outside at the front of the pub and didn't spend to much talking to each other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michele h
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Michelle, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to read your review, and see how much you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and that you all found the food from our wide and varied menu to have met your liking, and that everyone enjoyed it....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Passed this pub so many times and finally got to go for lunch with my husband recently. Lovely setting, scenery etc. Staff took a while to take our order so I went to the bar thinking maybe we were meant to order there and was politely told after some confusion someone would come to our table. We both had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11Alicat
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, and I will certainly ensure that your comments regarding the BLT sandwich are passed to the kitchen team, as we do get a lot of positive feedback about this dish. I do however hope we can...

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

My wife and i met up with our two friends for lunch and what a great place,the staff are friendly and welcoming as is the pub with fantastic views thrown in.The food was extremly good and we were all equally impressed. A must to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Dennis, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent lunch with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and that the staff, food and views all met your expectations. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon, and once again many thanks for your kind review. Kind...

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
15.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
15.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,471 reviews
15.1 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
294 reviews
14.7 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
15.1 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM565 - RM661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
The Pheasant Inn Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Detached bedroom block for views.”
 of 5 bubbles RobbieBStockport, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Narrow country lanes caution needed when driving”
 of 5 bubbles EddieHowarth, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms outside are excellent if travelling with your dog. Have both ground and first floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles PamMM226, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the Carden Room”
 of 5 bubbles skiingbuffy78, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay downstairs if you like a quiet nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Orbine, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay