We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
View Map

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pheasant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 554: English reviews
Stockport
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed for one night recently with friends and were each allocated a room in the detached accommodation building. On checking in the emergency procedures and contact numbers were explained - a very good safety feature. The rooms overlooked the Cheshire Plain and enjoyed lovely views. Lots of complimentary high class toiletries, towels with a multi-channel TV, drinks and biscuits....

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Robbie, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to read your review, and to see that you had such an enjoyable time with us, and that it all met your expectations. It was also good to see that you had a good nights sleep as well. It was...

Manchester
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Fantastic pub. We went with our three children & their grandparents. The staff were very welcoming. The atmosphere was warm & comfortable with a pleasant hub-bub. The food was great. The view across the Cheshire plain was lovely in the winter sunshine.

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Elizabeth, many thanks for your 5* review following your recent Sunday lunch with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that the whole family enjoyed your time with us, and that it all met your expectations, and that the food was to your liking. We are indeed blessed with some amazing views across the Cheshire plains, which...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Had a lovely meal for lunch today first time that I've ever been served with too much meat excellent value and extremely tasteful all the rooms in the pub where festively decorated staff very helpful and friendly lovely scenic views will be coming back in spring and summer time

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Eddie, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to read your review, and to see that you enjoyed your meal with us, and that you found the festive decorations to your liking. It was good to see that you found all the staff to be helpful and friendly,...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

This is the second time we have stayed here and I cannot recommend it highly enough. 16 of us stayed and had dinner for my husband's birthday. Chris and his team were excellent, could not do enough for us to make the evening special. the staff here are so friendly, helpful and professional. We had the Superior room which is...

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Pam, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Pheasant Inn. It is always nice to welcome back returning guests, and it was good to see that Chris and the team all looked after you, and made it a birthday to remember for your husband. We do have a varied range of rooms, and...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

After a couple of nights in Chester, we visited friends who brought us to the Pheasant Inn for lunch. Sadly the views weren't quite as spectacular as they could have been because of the drizzle but still very picturesque. The service and food from the varied menu was excellent; couldn't fault it. Great atmosphere with a good mix of walkers,...

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Nicola, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent lunch with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and that everything met your expectations I do hope we can welcome you back in the future, hopefully when it is a slightly better day and then you can also take...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Had a two-night stay here with friends in October. The restaurant was very busy both nights and the food was good. Two of our party had very noisy neighbours in the room above (2.00-3.00am) which spoilt it slightly for them. The lunches and evening meals were difficult to fault but both breakfasts were disappointing. The standard of the cooked food...

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to read about your experience with us, and I am sorry to hear that you did have a slight issue with some noisy neighbours, and I do hope that you can appreciate that it can be difficult to control other guests, who...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I loved this restaurant. Food was excellent but service was slow but it was busy. We had booked a table and got seated on bar stools which wasn't ideal so asked to be moved. We got moved to a table for six that was reserved although there was only two of us. The restaurant was empty when we arrived so...

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Wendy, many thanks for your review following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that the food met your expectations, and I am sorry that on this occasion the service did not match it.....sometimes as the food is freshly prepared to order, then occasionally it can lead to a slight delay, however as...

UK
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We went here a couple of weeks ago for a family day out and this place is brilliant. We had a lovely table by the log burner where our little dog pop could also sit. The menu choices were brilliant, but we opted for a roast after seeing some being served and it was delicious. The puddings were also tasty...

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was nice to read your review, and to see that the whole family, including pop, enjoyed all that we have to offer at The Pheasant Inn. As you have mentioned we do have a fantastic menu, with something for everyone, and will certainly...

Neston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at The Pheasant last night.We arrived at around midday and decided to have lunch which was absolutely delicious,portion sizes were really generous.Our waitress was really friendly,she checked us in,took my fiancé over to our room and took our order. The bedroom was lovely.The bed was comfortable,bath a good size and it had a lovely view...

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was really pleasing to read your review, and to see that you enjoyed your stay and that everything met your expectations. It was also good to see that you enjoyed the views, and that the local fireworks also added to your experience with...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This was our 4th visit to the Pheasant, this time after a 5 mile walk in the area and once again it lived up to expectations. Having had a 2 course meal on our first visit, curried parsnip soup on our second (they emailed me the recipe), we decided upon our version of a Cheshire tapas as a light lunchtime...

David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Mike, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent visit to The Pheasant Inn. It is always nice to welcome back returning diners, and it was pleasing to see that once again we met your expectations. It is nice to see that you have tried various dishes off our wide and varied menu, which really does have something for...

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
15.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,910 reviews
7.1 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,504 reviews
14.8 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
586 reviews
11.6 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: RM567 - RM826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
The Pheasant Inn Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms in the annexe were very nice large and comfortable,ideal for dog owners as the appear to be the biggest rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hawksmore, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book well in advance,the hotel is very popular”
 of 5 bubbles 15nevilles, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“As for room with a view when booking”
 of 5 bubbles littlechops2016, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Detached bedroom block for views.”
 of 5 bubbles RobbieBStockport, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Narrow country lanes caution needed when driving”
 of 5 bubbles EddieHowarth, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay